Kilkenny GAA thread

All true, but he was never great in the air for such a big lad. He’d frustrate you at times but as @flattythehurdler said he emptied the tank every time and had a lot of good days. A great innings all told

The brother used the Big Wally test on the auld boy when he was gravely ill.
Dad would have watched every hurling game on the telly regardless of how bad he was. The brother when he’d visit would ask him how he thought the Cats went, he’d listen out to his analysis and if Dad said something like “ah Big Walter did his best when he came on” then we knew he was close to a turn or there was something seriously wrong with his health. If he said “that useless bollix…” and hurl 5 minutes of abuse at him then that meant Dad was feeling okay in himself.

Yes if he had a bit of grass in front of him he could be devastating but his height and awkward grip went against him In tight situations or against smaller skilful lads. Was all at sea against clare this year when he came on.
Plenty great days too and brought the first all Ireland senior medal to his club. Had new arrival lately so I’m sure that was a factor in his decision if it’s true.

Wow! Didn’t realise that. I know Slieverue were strong back in the early 1900’s but would have thought that Tullogher Rosbercon were a good team way back when. But then when you see that Thomastown hadn’t won a senior since the 40’s and say the 'Lockes have ever only won one in 1957 it makes some sense. Must look to see how strong the South were before Ballyhale came along.

Tullogher was all football until the 1940s I believe. They won about 7 or 8 senior finals. Some great battles with glenmore and the rower the father tells me.
Slieverue were a strong hurling team in the 50s. Dick rockett and paddy buggy won all irelands.

Dick Rockett is a great name.

Slieverue were pulling in fellas from all over the county. They were the reason the parish rule was brought in. Mooncoin were a strong outfit in the early seventies and Glenmore were consistently strong for a time after they came up from Junior. Tullogher on the other hand wouldn’t have hurled spuds to ducks.

Edit. I might be mixing Slieverue up with Carrickshock here.

Oldest living Kilkenny man to have won a senior All Ireland medal.

Afraid you are. Men from eight different Kilkenny parishes, including Slieverue, started on the 1951 Carrickshock team, the last one to win a Senior title.

There’s no might about it.

:cry:

That’s a good piece. How long before Kev has it up in a tweet-quote?

I didn’t read that yet but I assume if he didn’t have to commute from Dublin, that would of taken the strain off a little bit and gave him more time to be a pro as such.

Another TFK Exclusive

Nobody, absolutely nobody, has the depth of GAA contacts you do. From gaelic football in the Mourne Mountains to hurling in the Golden Vale (does that make sense?), @peddlerscross has it covered. Honoured to have you on TFK.

From the Mountains of Mourne to Dunmore by the sea.

:eyes:

Gerry drennan sticking the boot into Sean Purcell on crkc over his distribution in the u21. maybe cracks appearing in this uneasy marriage?:stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Gerry sticking the boot in Larkin the ref as well

Thomastown struggling in westmeath