The position is a poisoned chalice. He deserves kudos for taking it on
They need ogie to get in there and work some magic. As you say balls of steel needed as you are setting yourself up for derision.
Weâve never replaced Damien Howe really.
Not much tbh. We were absolutely cruising and he tried to play it out when he should have flaked it into the stand or into orbit. We were guilty of overplaying it a bit on occasion elsewhere too, but he stood up, stopped some great ones, and had enough about him to catch a poorly hit penalty. Played well. Doesnât put the fear of God into you under a high ball unlike most Galway keepers. I think heâs solid out.
Iâd agree with that. Itâs widely accepted in life that you learn by making mistakes. Sport is no different. The kid is just out of short pants, and I reckon heâs an excellent prospect. Cat-like reflexes and a bit of bad mind mixed in. Thatâll do nicely.
It certainly will. His mistakes were after he had the ball in his hand, which is an easy fix.
Iâd agree with persevering with him. They need to agree and work on a clear puck out strategy. Itâs been easily pressured and fucked up and that canât help confidence
Theyâre only back at it. A young lad standing up to shots as he does is ingrained (edit so I can safely go east of the river should I ever actually want to) talent. You canât teach that. You can work on puc outs and clearing the lines very easily.
That game wasnât a normal game.
Harsh on Larkins
The puck outs fucked them in 2018, granted it was o neills first year but itâs a huge problem
Didnât see the game today so was worried about the howler, I think he could be our guy longterm, the puckouts arenât his fault and he has a lot of traits you want in a keeper
Agreed sorting out the puck outs needs to be first thing on SONs to do list this year
It wasnât a massive howler it was just a slip he wasnât soloing past the 45 or anything.
This is the best time of the season to make these mistakes too. Iâve seen enough good from Murphy so far too back him as first choice.
They probably needlessly racked up 2-15 that they could have used more beneficially later on in the year.
It must have been the most error ridden radio commentary of all time. Some Kelly lassie was supplying the wisdom, she gave up correcting the naming errors after half-time.
Darren Frehill could be considered a wise old sage in comparison to todayâs gimp (Martin?)
Just watched it now, encouraging but Westmeath were shocking. Ja Mannion adds badly needed pace to the forward line, also good to see Conor Cooney regaining his confidence. Not just one but two mental mistakes from Murphy, canât have that later in the year so hopefully can be sorted as he is good otherwise. Defense doesnât look convincing, 3 and 6 still a worry but Daithi and P Mannion should resolve that.
Galway football panel for the league named there on GBFM. No sign of Michael Daly. Had heard a rumour that he might have made himself unavailable. Some of the U-20âs called up.
Bernard Power
Conor Gleeson
Ronan OâBeolain
Jack Glynn
Sean ĂâMaolchiarain
Liam Silke
Gary OâDonnell
Dylan McHugh
Johnny Heaney
Johnny Duane
Cathal Sweeney
Sean Kelly
Kieran Molloy
Ciaran Potter
James Foley
Sean Andy OâCeallaigh
Peter Cooke
Paul Conroy
Matthias BairĂŠad
Ronan Steede
Cein DâArcy
Matthew Tierney
Paul Kelly
Eamonn Brannigan
Shane Walsh (C)
Damien Comer
Dessie Conneely
Robert Finnerty
Finnian OâLaoi
Rory Cunningham
Tomo Culhane
Padraig Costello
Liam Costello
Darragh Silke
Jack Keady
John Daly
Tom Flynn
Conor Campbell
Feeder Squad
Oran Burke
Cormac McWalter
Cian Monaghan
Evan Murphy
Patrick Kelly
Liam Boyle
Sean Fitzgerald
Colin Ryan
Antaine OâLaoi
Mike Farragher
He wasnât picked. Was dropped last year as far as I can remember⌠I could be weong
Who, Mike Daly? He was definitely on the panel last year anyway. I donât know if he was dropped or he made himself unavailable this year though.
Have ye a goalie in there lads?
It is my understanding that Michael Daly has opted out for the year. His brother is on the panel but GBFM are reporting that he is unavailable for the game against the yerras on Saturday.
A fit Michael Daly is definitely pushing for a starting spot, so heâll be a loss.