In reality, Kerry, Donegal, Dublin & Mayo will take fair overtaking IMO. In the so called second tier you have Kildare, Armagh, Monaghan, Cork & Tyrone who are beatable but not easily. If Walsh was to lead Galway to a provincial win & an AI Semi within 2 years he would be doing a very good job.
Galway are as good if not better the 2nd tier teams you named there. Mayo’s goose is cooked and Dublin are overrated, have a suspicion kerry are over achieving too, there will be plenty of change at the top next year imo
A miracle. If they beat all in Connacht, and are competitive with mayo, most would be happy enough. He will be given a year to settle I would think before the knives come out, though the Galway football “elite” do have a track record of taking the blade to successful managers.
I’d be very satisfied to see AC given two more years. A single year is silly.
I love the Galway lads and their notions
Whatever about hurling, in football Galway have the ability to rise up quicker than most, even moreso given the underage talent currently at their disposal. They were abysmal the last two times Laois met them in the league, embarassing even but with a proper manager which they now appear to have I would have a very sneaking feeling for them in the next 1-2 years. The talent they have up front has the ability to be as good as any around and their two midfielders look the real deal now they’ve had a few years to find their feet at senior Intercounty.
Pot kettle black
Savage robbery carried out by Portumna this evening. 3 points down with time almost up and won it by a pint.
Canning pointing a free from 95 yards to win it after a ronan o meara goal where loughrea goalie made a howler.
Semi Line up.
Craughwell v Portumna
Gort v Ardrahan/Turlough
Hopefully Ardrahan can put Turlough away and we’ll get a South Galway belter.
What stage are ye at KP? Are they into the final now?
Relegation semi final V Mellows.
Pearses V Kiltormer on other side.
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 1024165, member: 686”]Relegation semi final V Mellows.
Pearses V Kiltormer on other side.[/QUOTE]
I mean at the business end, whose left?
read back about 3 posts there… think you missed it
Corofin hammered the absolute shite out of miltown holding them to 1 point in each half…
Are Thomas’s safe ?
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 1024154, member: 686”]Semi Line up.
Craughwell v Portumna
Gort v Ardrahan/Turlough
Hopefully Ardrahan can put Turlough away and we’ll get a South Galway belter.[/QUOTE]
I’m a bit distant from it KP, but in your opinion will this up and coming Ardrahan team, assuming they get past those Turloughs, scrape narrowly past Gort, who must be a bit over the hill at this stage.
Ardrahan for the Cup surely, 40 years on from the great breakthrough.
[QUOTE=“labane1917, post: 1024346, member: 1521”]I’m a bit distant from it KP, but in your opinion will this up and coming Ardrahan team, assuming they get past those Turloughs, scrape narrowly past Gort, who must be a bit over the hill at this stage.
Ardrahan for the Cup surely, 40 years on from the great breakthrough.[/QUOTE]
Anything is possible Labane… they have a good a chance as anyone but to beat Portumna you need everything going your way. Loughrea didnt deserve to lose yesterday…
I never saw a team to fuck away a game like Loughrea did yesterday. The two goals they conceded were abominable. The first was straight from a Joe sideline from his own half and the second was gift wrapped right at the death after they had dominated the second half. Wtf was Johnny O Loughlin doing in goal in the first place? I don’t know if he gave McLearn a shout but even so if he had just stood on his line like he should have Loughrea would be in the semi final now. Portumna were well rattled and even brought on a crocked Andy Smith. Joe(unreal for the most part yet again) had missed two handy frees but won it with one then from 70 yards out just to really rub it into them. Maher had a similar opportunity with the last puck and put it a mile wide, he was otherwise superb yesterday. It’s almost like a psychological block for them at this stage, like Loughrea don’t believe they deserve to beat Portumna anymore. They reverted to type too little too late by starting an almighty scrap after the final whistle was blown.
The game was played on a different level to the Gort/KD match before it. Gort never had to get out of 3rd gear, hard to gauge where their at exactly but whoever comes out of that side could be a threat to Portumna(who will beat Craughwell handy) based on yesterday.
Were Killererin relegated over the weekend? I presume Joyce has long since hung them up or was be dragged out in an effort to save them?
Do they not play Menlough in a deciding game now? Along with Ballina barely surviving in Mayo over the weekend, and Harps having been in relegation bother up our way, a few strong teams of the noughties are going through bleak times.