Kurt Cobain - The Voice of a Generation

The likes of @glasagusban would snare at you if you suggested Annie Lennox was a great interpreter of songs or that Roy Orbison had the voice of an angel… there’s no hipness to be got from such admissions. I feel sorry for his generation, they’re fucking soulless.

@mickee321 - you’re wasting your breath here pal, these hipsters wouldn’t know anything about the euphoria of a beat as the mdma courses through your veins- these mugs are too safe. They’d want a calorie breakdown of the chemicals that went into the pill and they’d spend another hour discussing the diameters of the perfect pill and taking 50 photos of the thing before dropping it… fucking mugs would be talking diddy for the night then about love how to solve world poverty:D

I’d have about 5 of em down me with my top off roaring and shouting yurt on the floor and half a good eye on a pair of tits for the comedown.

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 1107680, member: 24”]I can’t agree there at all. Rape me is along the lines of Cobain’s lyrics on that album. He seems to be very uneasy with his body, constant references to sickness, and then of course his subsequent suicide.

It’s a wonderful pile of noise and angst, epitomised by Cobain’s grind on the guitar leading into the third chorus and, of course, handled expertly by Albini on production.[/QUOTE]
I agree his music was good, I loved nirvana, but lyrics on tracks like rape me are fucking brutal and unlistenable to me now. I guess they were new at the time, but fuck that self pitying shit now. I’m not for a second saying nirvana aren’t good, just that they’re overrated. I can’t remember the last time I listened to them. I still love the Pixies and I’d much prefer Alice in Chains to Nirvana now, I could still listen to them. Rape me is a dirge.

I’m so happy cause today i’ve found my friends…they’re in my head.

Yeah - ‘self pitying shit’ never makes good songs.

You don’t like Pearl Jam, Farmer?

Pearl Jam is music for cocks, no surprise he likes them.

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1107733, member: 367”]@TheUlteriorMotive is bang on here, that nirvana unplugged album is mindnumbingly depressing, a 2am house party killer, fellas sat around with serious old heads on them… That and Play by Moby are 2 house party albums that i remember from my days but the parties i attended with the Moby soundtrack always ended better or had more craic
some or most of their stuff was just an awful racket, when i was 16-18 everyone was listening to it but i remember buying something by Josh Wink when everyone was wearing nirvana t shirts, In Utero, yeah i remember that, just loud trashy old noise as Iggy Pop would say…

shockingly overated in my opinion, that whole seattle grunge thing was a blimp in music history, Pearl Jam, saw then in Millstreet in 96 before they released No Code… Spin The Black Circle on Vitalogy, awful shit, Black, Jeremy great songs allright.
Im happy that i progessed to dance music pretty quick, think “everything is wrong” by Moby when he played Feile 95 in the park was my moment… The track Feeling so real blew me away, it still gives me a massive rush actually, Orbital playing Halycon on the same night… fucking hell, i was 16 , i couldnt believe fellas wore long coats and listended to Nirvana… I loved Blur allright in my Britpop flirtation but then my my early 20’s Faithess came along and that was that… possibly the most amazing thing i have ever seen live, when Come One is played live you see joy flow over a crowd, even sober… Same with fellas raving about david gray, he had that white ladder shit in 2000, awful old bollux… ud be in a club in amsterdam with Armin Van Buuren… and the place going bananas

fuck it[/QUOTE]

:clap: I wouldnt agree with all of it but its an honest assessment.

Unplugged was muck, absolute shite. However Nevermind, In Utero and Bleach were great albums. They werent fun albums by any means but the euphoria when Nirvana was played and you hit the floor and hopped yourself off anything that moved was unreal. Lads in Suicidal Tendancies t-shirts with nothing to lose firing themselves at you as you went low with the shoulder and buried the self loathing fuckers hard as you could, maybe get a sneaky elbow into the odd tracker knacker who was brave enough to enter the arena. If you didnt get a shift there was always smells like teen spirit to recue you and you could take out the frustration, hammering the floor with your docs.

But things changed… If you listened to this stuff non stop you’d blow a hole your head eventually. Coincidentially, I bought the Josh Wink - Higher state single around the summer of 1995, I did a few Saturday nights in Dublin that summer with the Klare lads who were big Hyrdo fans and we ended up in a place called Columbia Mills one night… Wow, never seen anything like it. I was 17 and a roaster of epic proportions but I was learning fast. A 6 week stint in Edinburgh the following year firmed things up. Went to see Bedrock there one night in some warehourse type spot, jesus…

David Gray :smiley:

My point proven.

:clap::clap::clap::clap:

And now @horseshit[/USER] has resorted to [USER=273]@angryweirdcorkman tactics. Pathetic.

I thought you don’t get rattled by ratings?

:DWhat’s going on with Kev’s name there?

I don’t, I just wanted you to argue your point. You rolled eyes and used a dumb rating. Neither in anyway explain why Pearl Jam isn’t music for soft cocks. Apart from the fact that a its a soft cock response.

Argue my point like you did above? By calling me a cock? Explain why they are a band for soft cocks there rather than calling me a cock and I will respond in kind.

Actually don’t. Let’s just leave it at that.

I never got the whole Pearl Jam thing. Jeremy is a good song, but Vedder had a terribly boring voice to be listening to for an hour or more.

Cobain had a whisp & anger to his voice which was beautifully matched to Nirvana’s raw guitar sounds. Nirvana will be remembered when Pearl Jam are long forgotten & that is a FACT.

I never called you a cock you dumb shit. I said it was music for cocks. Read my fucking posts in future. Now you’ve gone and made me call you a dumb shit, why would you do that, why?

FAO: @Horsebox[/USER] and [USER=180]@myboyblue Would ye like to step aside before ye get levelled with a flying elbow?