Itâs the perennial issue in Laois. The club rivalry is so cut-throat that you have lads on the county panel who genuinely donât like each other.
Camross, Castletown, Clonalslee/Rosenallis and, to a lesser extent, The Town seem to be the common denominators always.
A similar situation existed in Galway for years. In fact, you could argue that MicheĂĄl Donoghueâs best achievement hasnât been winning an All-Ireland - itâs been getting those players to sing off the same hymn-sheet.
This should be the priority for Laois. Donoghue did it as an inside man, Laois have tried both locals and outsiders and Cheddar seemed to be the only one to get a tune out of them. Thereâs talent there with some fine hurlers playing at Fitzgibbon level.
The hurling clubs knifed Cheddar. They knifed Zoom as well. Theyâll knife the next messiah to pop his head up too. Youâd want your head examined to go near Laois hurling. Iâm not sure if Brennan had a future as an IC hurling manager, but heâs made a cunt of himself with this move.
Do they want their own clubmen in charge? Do they not like Brennan or any of the previous outside managers? Are they totally inward-looking and donât give a shite about inter-county, or is it arguing for arguingâs sake - common enough at county board level in many counties, in fairness.
I just think itâs an awful waste of talent in a county with a base of tradition. Iâve always had a soft spot for Laois hurling.
They only care for the Clubs. Youâll constantly get the shite of âShur why would you go in with that lot to have the shite bate out of you by the likes of Galway, etcâ. Theyâre happy being big fish in a small pond.
that Dublin team wasnât too bad on paper MBB. Anyways with Laois in state of rancour, Offaly losing a few players, Kerry must be in a with a good chance in the Joe McD