Every party has tax cuts. Even the Social Democrats who you claim don’t. It would be very strange if a party wanted to leave the revenue base exactly as it is.
All parties have tax increases too. For the AAA, SF and Social Democrats those revenue increases more or less offset the cuts. It’s hard to be precise because they use slightly different figures and the Social Democrats don’t really use figures at all, disappointingly. But basically those parties are net neutral on revenue. The other 3 parties are not. They are spending about 2-3 billion on tax cuts.
I think you’re so stubborn on this you’re not even reading Locke’s post properly. He asked a couple of questions about how spending was funded. I answered those questions. It’s nothing to do with attaching to Donnelly’s performance.
When you can’t poke holes in the numbers you’re trying to create a nonsense debate about what my real intention was.
I’ll make it clear one more time. Locke asked a question about how you could pay for Garda stations and post offices. The answer is fairly clear. Don’t spend 2b on tax cuts and you have more money for public services. Even a nouveau Labour supporter must be familiar with that strategy because it’s what the party used to campaign for.
yeah, good point in fairness
lads on here saying yer man BB “won” the debate, FFS it matters not, he was only there for a bit of comic value, he reminds me of a fella campaigning to be entertainment officer for the local students union, he gives a timely break from the turgid nature of the proceedings, id imagine my father would be saying “oh here’s this litlle fella again look” when he pops up, he shouldnt even be brought into serious conversation.
ah at this stage Enda is comfortable id say and FF will follow them home, Gerry lets SF down a lot, he got in an awful tizzy when Claire had him by the balls like his brother would a school boy over his economic policies, it was car crash, he does then come out well tho in terms of local issues like policing,
The problem i have with him tho is he alienates himself from ordinary old joes like us on here with wife, kids a few mortgages , etc, this whole campaigning for the slums vote and a tax the rich ( anyone with a third level degree and a job) to pay the poor is a bit juvenile a this stage… He comes across as an utter basketcase of a man at times, i do think tho that he is needed in opposition as we need a string vocal left leaning opposition to keep the lads in power in check.
Michael Martin is admirably trying to plod on completely forgetting what legacy his party left before him…
I honestly dunno how you could not vote FG back in, there’s jobs been announced every day in the country, they are trying to cut away at that USC, Varadkar is doing his best with the health system also…
what do people fucking want? a “fairer” ireland? this is utter bollux, i think you’ll find this is a very fair country, it rewards people who work and their taxes are by and large used to help those less fortunate
i too would pay more taxes for a strong republican government and i would also be an enthusiastic informer on people who i believed were cheating the tax system, i know of a local family who used some legislation giving certain tax breaks to families who spoke Irish within the home to their advantage, despite the fact that not all of the family complied with the requirements of this legislation. my lips are sealed during the current coalition government but should SF get elected to government i will sing like a canary.
i will also rat this family out to the revenue as an act of revenge should SF not be elected.
I think Lucinda’s car crash performance was the most significant last night. Renua have a decent enough guy running down here who I was considering voting for but I wouldn’t dream of it now after her almost fascist outpourings last night.
That leaves a choice between FF, FG and SF as Labour and Social Democrats don’t have candidates. I won’t vote for a party with Gerry Adams as leader and Martin Ferris still involved. Fine Gael are too willing to look after the rich for me. This, depressingly, leaves me in a situation where I am considering voting for Fianna Fáil.
Ferris is a horrible cunt in my opinion buddy. I’ve a bit more respect for Adams after the peace process, etc. but I still think he is a shady fucker and wouldn’t like to see him as Taoiseach. You’ll disagree but I reckon if they had Pearse or Mary Lou at the helm I’d say they’d increase their vote even more significantly.
Most of us don’t give a shit about the North bud and are happy to let the Brits have it for now. This opinion was supported by a majority of the whole island in referendums in 1998.
Nobody in the Republic gives a fiddlers fuck about the place. If Gerry Adams and Martin McGuinness are happy to leave that cesspit under British rule then so am i.
Adams and McGuiness were bought out by the british and gave up the fight for their fantasy 32 in return for a front row seat at the British trough and few extra shillings courtesy of The Queen.
I appreciate the good debate coming out of my question from last night. My beef (if you like) was with RBB. A lot of reports that he won the debate. He certainly showed what the govt/FF/state institutions have not being doing in the past 10 years, he had very, very little about what he was going to do about it.
Imo I think RBB doesn’t give a flying fuck what happens outside the Pale and was piss weak when asked about rural Garda stations and post offices closed in the last few years. “If the people want them open they should be opened”. My question is that if the people in the lower harbour area in Cork want a tunnel over to Cobh do we get it?? Being in Govt imo means you have to make hard decisions and not make decisions on what people want
You could argue that it would be making it easier for people to get away from Cobh.
We need to learn the lessons of the Syrian refugee crisis and not have another situation where people are forced to take their life in their hands and put themselves and their families on rafts that are falling apart in order to escape a hellhole.