RockoAh lovely3h Locke
Well you missed the economic policies at the start where Adams, Donnelly and RBB pointed out the folly of the government over promising on tax cuts when spending is required.
It’s interesting that there is a fairly clear division in fiscal policies and it’s also embarrassing for Labour that they’re stuck over on the right wing side of that debate.
Really? Cos it reads like you’re telling him what he missed and are trying to align Adams and RBB with Donnelly because he was the star performer on finance. Particularly the line that starts with 'well you missed… ’ It suits you fine that you’ve changed your emphasis now but there it is.
Wrong. I’ve outlined in the above post why it’s obvious what you were replying to. You are now trying to frame this debate as a different one, something to do with Labour, which has nothing to do with the original post. You chastise me for supposedly not seeing the difference between 3B and 1B but you refused to recognise a cut of 3/4B as a tax cut? Strange.
The only reason she is getting this reaction is that finally people are seeing a bit of backbone from presenters like Byrne and getting the politicians to stop their bullshit instead of letting the rabbit on talking shite as other presenters do.
Every party has tax cuts. Even the Social Democrats who you claim don’t. It would be very strange if a party wanted to leave the revenue base exactly as it is.
All parties have tax increases too. For the AAA, SF and Social Democrats those revenue increases more or less offset the cuts. It’s hard to be precise because they use slightly different figures and the Social Democrats don’t really use figures at all, disappointingly. But basically those parties are net neutral on revenue. The other 3 parties are not. They are spending about 2-3 billion on tax cuts.
I think you’re so stubborn on this you’re not even reading Locke’s post properly. He asked a couple of questions about how spending was funded. I answered those questions. It’s nothing to do with attaching to Donnelly’s performance.
When you can’t poke holes in the numbers you’re trying to create a nonsense debate about what my real intention was.
I’ll make it clear one more time. Locke asked a question about how you could pay for Garda stations and post offices. The answer is fairly clear. Don’t spend 2b on tax cuts and you have more money for public services. Even a nouveau Labour supporter must be familiar with that strategy because it’s what the party used to campaign for.
yeah, good point in fairness
lads on here saying yer man BB “won” the debate, FFS it matters not, he was only there for a bit of comic value, he reminds me of a fella campaigning to be entertainment officer for the local students union, he gives a timely break from the turgid nature of the proceedings, id imagine my father would be saying “oh here’s this litlle fella again look” when he pops up, he shouldnt even be brought into serious conversation.
ah at this stage Enda is comfortable id say and FF will follow them home, Gerry lets SF down a lot, he got in an awful tizzy when Claire had him by the balls like his brother would a school boy over his economic policies, it was car crash, he does then come out well tho in terms of local issues like policing,
The problem i have with him tho is he alienates himself from ordinary old joes like us on here with wife, kids a few mortgages , etc, this whole campaigning for the slums vote and a tax the rich ( anyone with a third level degree and a job) to pay the poor is a bit juvenile a this stage… He comes across as an utter basketcase of a man at times, i do think tho that he is needed in opposition as we need a string vocal left leaning opposition to keep the lads in power in check.
Michael Martin is admirably trying to plod on completely forgetting what legacy his party left before him…
I honestly dunno how you could not vote FG back in, there’s jobs been announced every day in the country, they are trying to cut away at that USC, Varadkar is doing his best with the health system also…
what do people fucking want? a “fairer” ireland? this is utter bollux, i think you’ll find this is a very fair country, it rewards people who work and their taxes are by and large used to help those less fortunate