Leaders' Debate Round 2 RTÉ

I pitched a small tent when she clamped RBB. :hushed:

Yes, yes, yes.

@Locke, he’s very ill, sadly

Shite, that sucks

That Social Democrat lad in the studio now is an idiot.

The Social Democrats spokesman was so, so bad there on the spin show

Holy shit lads, the social democrat lad in the follow on programme just pulled a Terence Flanagan.

Gerry Adams and Boyd Barrett the winners there tonight.

Adams must have been very strong for the first 40 mins or so as I thought he did damn all good for the 2nd half.

RBB told us what the govt haven’t done well. Thanks for that but how do you fix it? We’ll give those rural people their Garda stations/Post offices back if they want them! Ffs, how do you quantify that and how do you pay for that??

Easy, only saved 500k closing the stations in the first place

The Spin Room was daycent.

Well this govt have given €65m to the Syrian crisis so there’s money there alright…

Well you missed the economic policies at the start where Adams, Donnelly and RBB pointed out the folly of the government over promising on tax cuts when spending is required.

It’s interesting that there is a fairly clear division in fiscal policies and it’s also embarrassing for Labour that they’re stuck over on the right wing side of that debate.

Fairly one eyed here rocko. Adams was poor and RBB was asleep for the first 45 mins.
Nice attempt to hitch the sf and pbp camps to Donnelly’s early success.
Btw you talk of the folly of cutting taxes. both SF and PbP are proposing cutting property and water taxes. SF will abolish the USC for those lower earners. The Social Democrats stand alone in proposing no cut to the usc.

I caught the last hour of it and was impressed with Donnelly,

I thought Creighton was like a tribute act to Nazism, some of the stuff she was was coming out with was insane.

Burton was an embarrassment. The Labour candidates that are fighting for the last seat in their constituency must have felt their chances melting away last night.

Martin, Kenny and Adams were strong on some points which they had well rehearsed but fell away completely on other.

RBB was gas though, he reminded me of a candidate in a Students’ Union election. Start you point low and vaguely answer the question without tripping yourself up. Slowly raise your voice until you bring it to shouting level when you castigate the incumbents and blame them for the ills of the last term in office, have your minions in the audience break out in rapturous applause. Also like Mr Burns ‘Let’s send a message TO THOSE BUREAUCRATS DOWN IN STATE CAPITAL!’.

At this point I’d vote for the Social Democrats if they had a candidate in my constituency. That or Claire Byrne, but she’s not in my constituency either.

Social Democrats are not cutting tax. AAA/PBP and Sinn Fein both are. Somewhat surprisingly (or not) their prudent plan is to remove/reduce taxation from their voter base but replace it with tax from their non-voter base.

And just how money does the water tax and its quango bring in to the public coffers?

Adams was easily the best of the four bigger party leaders, mate… And far better than Loocindy. Cop yourself on.