League of Ireland 2009

How/why are Limerick the main rivals there?

We needed to develop a rivalry and they happily got the gig after taking a hissy fit last season and refusing to fulfil a fixture against us. Their manager ordered the players back onto the bus and they drove home after coming all the way down for a midweek night fixture. He was annoyed that Wexford have a designated warm up pitch and nobody, including Wexford themselves, warm up on the main playing surface. The league naturally awarded Wexford the points for the game but yer man was whining about it in the papers for a while afterwards.

There is plenty of guys who would do a wonderful job, but they wouldn’t touch it with a barge pole. My last boss was very close to becoming one of the Investors after the last incident. The group he was with would have been brilliant, businessmen involved in business for 25 years plus, one a former Cork City player and captain, and people who would know Cork sport and the people. Well once Tom Coughlan came in with stupid promises from the banks the crowd i know pulled. Even though they would have had way more money than Coughlan they were prepared to put in stupid money just to compete with him. At the time my boss gave me the low down on him, and said it will end in disaster. Looks like he was right, unfortunately.

I remember that incident alright, but it hardly equates to a rivalry. Surely Waterford would be the obvious one. Go up there and take the Yellow House for the next away game against them, bash a few locals and smash a few seats in the RSC. Rob an off-licence on the way home.

Is that place still open?

It’s unfortunate alright - the company is now in all liklihood insolvent, and lads won’t want to risk their professional reputations by getting involved with it. Whoever is waiting in the wings is probably waiting until the current club hits rock bottom and goes out of existence, before coming in with money and getting involved with a brand new club. How many times must the cycle repeat itself though?

How many clubs have there been anyway? Cork Celtic, Cork Hibernians, Cork City? Is it just the 3 or have there been more?

Yeah I’m fairly sure it is. It was whenever they were last in the Prem anyway, 2007? Absolute sewer of a boozer but fairly welcoming all the same. The locals all smoke in the jacks, which is further away from the bar than the carpark :rolleyes:

There’s also the other incident of grand larceny certain members of this forum were involved in against a Limerick District League team but we won’t go through that again! :rolleyes:

They were always rebels in that town alright;)
You’d nearly want to wipe your feet after walking out of that place.

We also robbed some players from Limerick before the start of the season, which didn’t go down too well. Waterford would logically be the main rivalry but Wexford Youth’s are pretty much still at the stage of being welcomed to the league by everyone - ‘good to see a new team in the league from a county that’s never been represented before’ type stuff - and Limerick were the first team to really cause a bit of aggro.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]It’s unfortunate alright - the company is now in all liklihood insolvent, and lads won’t want to risk their professional reputations by getting involved with it. Whoever is waiting in the wings is probably waiting until the current club hits rock bottom and goes out of existence, before coming in with money and getting involved with a brand new club. How many times must the cycle repeat itself though?

How many clubs have there been anyway? Cork Celtic, Cork Hibernians, Cork City? Is it just the 3 or have there been more?[/quote]
Cork Alberts as well at some stage.
Cork FC will be the next one. One major problem is the rent for Turners Cross. City raised alot of money towards fixing up that stadium which is now the ideal LOI stadium, yet they don’t own a seat in it. Not very good thinking there. If your raising money to improve the stadium owned by landlords then surely you’d ask for some sort of ownership or shares or something. I mean how many of us if we owned a business and rented a few offices somewhere would do the offices up to the nines, just for the sake of it.
At the end of the day soccer is down the list in Cork. GAA has always been huge, and now rugby as well. There simply isn’t the will there i don’t believe for people to fund or support it. Had City had their act together they could have benefitted from the GAA mess at present in Cork, now they are worse off than ever. They compete with rugby too much as well. Often City and Munster play on the same Friday nights, only 1/4 a mile away from each other. Who’s going to win the support of the middle of the road people, a Dan Murray captained Cork City or the inspirational Paul O’ Connell. Only one winner there.
It is a pity.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Cork Alberts as well at some stage.
Cork FC will be the next one. One major problem is the rent for Turners Cross. City raised alot of money towards fixing up that stadium which is now the ideal LOI stadium, yet they don’t own a seat in it. Not very good thinking there. If your raising money to improve the stadium owned by landlords then surely you’d ask for some sort of ownership or shares or something. I mean how many of us if we owned a business and rented a few offices somewhere would do the offices up to the nines, just for the sake of it.
At the end of the day soccer is down the list in Cork. GAA has always been huge, and now rugby as well. There simply isn’t the will there i don’t believe for people to fund or support it. Had City had their act together they could have benefitted from the GAA mess at present in Cork, now they are worse off than ever. They compete with rugby too much as well. Often City and Munster play on the same Friday nights, only 1/4 a mile away from each other. Who’s going to win the support of the middle of the road people, a Dan Murray captained Cork City or the inspirational Paul O’ Connell. Only one winner there.
It is a pity.[/quote]

they add nothing to the league & are badly run

good riddance to them

[quote=“north county corncrake”]they add nothing to the league & are badly run

good riddance to them[/quote]

More brilliant analysis from NCC.:rolleyes:
The pictures in your house must be tiny.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/new-bhoy-carey-an-instant-hit-at-bohs-1708389.html

THEY raided the League of Ireland twice last year to take two of the brightest wing wizards away so it’s only fair that Glasgow Celtic gave something back and Bohemians have been the beneficiaries.

Last Saturday, the star of the show for the Gypsies in a derby stroll against St Patrick’s Athletic was 19-year-old Graham Carey from Blanchardstown, on loan at Dalymount from Parkhead until July. His purposeful display was capped by a fine second-half goal.

The left-sided youth, who is already in the Irish U-21 international picture, has suffered bad luck in his bid to make the breakthrough he so desperately desires with his parent club. A serious knee injury resulted in a long spell on the sidelines at a crucial stage of his development.

Considering the recruitment process at Celtic is ongoing, such setbacks can prove costly. Never mind the first team, getting a game in the reserves is a challenge for a wide player with ex-Derry City men Paddy McCourt and Niall McGinn settling into life in Scotland at that level, waiting for opportunities behind established figures like Aiden McGeady, Shunsuke Nakamura, and also Shaun Maloney and newcomer Willo Flood.

In that context, taking the opportunity to return to Ireland and play some matches after missing out on so much was a necessary step in his development even if it was a wrench to accept that things with the Bhoys weren’t just working out.

“It’s been nice to get home, I’m just from down the road at Blanchardstown and I’ve enjoyed it a lot – I’m with the family as well which is nice,” he says.

"But I’d rather be over there, vying for my place in the reserves and the first team but I know this is going to make me a better player and if the worst comes to worst (at Celtic) then hopefully I’ll have gained a lot of experience from coming here.

“John McLaughlan, my old youth team coach at Celtic, has been coming over to watch all the home games so hopefully I can impress and get a new contract there,” he adds.

However, Bohemians manager Pat Fenlon indicated at the weekend that he would be looking to extend Carey’s stay in Phibsborough beyond July and has spoken to Celtic about that.

“He’s got a great attitude and he’s only a kid,” said Fenlon. “The injury was a bad one but he’s come back from it and the two games last week (Galway and St Pat’s) were the first he’d started in nearly a year.”

The player himself is relieved to have proved he can make an impact when selected from the outset as opposed to a super-sub role.

“I’ve been surprised by my fitness,” admits Carey. “When you start it’s a lot easier to get to know the league. I think I’ve got the gist of it.”

As he gets into the groove, helpless full-backs can expect to suffer the consequences.

• Daniel McDonnell

[quote=“north county corncrake”]they add nothing to the league & are badly run

good riddance to them[/quote]

wouldnt agree with that.
turners cross looks to be the best ground in the country at the moment and the fans turn up for the big games(Rovers, bohs derry).
they should have not gone near that fuckin charlatan coughlan but i would hope they’ve learned their lesson.
only way to run a club in modern day LOI is a fans-owned, community based club with a progressive outlook and A1 marketing skills.
seems fairly obvious to me…

[quote=“josepi73”]wouldnt agree with that.
turners cross looks to be the best ground in the country at the moment and the fans turn up for the big games(Rovers, bohs derry).
they should have not gone near that fuckin charlatan coughlan but i would hope they’ve learned their lesson.
only way to run a club in modern day LOI is a fans-owned, community based club with a progressive outlook and A1 marketing skills.
seems fairly obvious to me…[/quote]

Spot on.

Spot on except you declined to mention getting the taxpayer to bail out the community club.

or the FAI to bail out the british club by buying their stadium which they then went & sold twice:eek:

I own as much of Tallaght as any Rovers fan.

of course you do- we are a club for the people of the people