Leaving Cert Results

Out today so plenty of drinking will be going on tonight. But what did you do the day you got your results. Long time ago for me but as I recall we went down to the Smithwicks brewery with free tickets from the tourist office. Did a tour then into the bar. There was strong ale on offer there and we had our fill of it. Bus out home for the dinner and to show my face. Talked shite to a (then) famous kk camogie player that I went to school with, had the scran and thumbed back into town drinking a naggin of vodka before hitting the hootch again. Bunch of us stayed the night in a mates house who’s parents were off in Spain, can’t remember much else. Not into pills ever, no smokin either; only cigarettes. Tame enough really.

Your memories of the day…

Drank alot of Budweiser and Bulmers in Bulgaden Castle.

Big night on the town tonight then…

I think Matthew McConnaughey put it best about this night in Dazed and Confused

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vo4kDrWBa6c

[quote=“myboyblue”]Big night on the town tonight then…

I think Matthew McConnaughey put it best about this night in Dazed and Confused

YouTube - the same age[/quote]

Genius film that, must have seen it about 40 times.

I was only 17 when I got the results. I actually got fairly rat arsed the night before the results as far as I remember, myself and Ball necking cans like mofos.

And I should point out the best night is Junior Cert night. Ask Jugs…

Drank my way through the cocktail menu in the Beacon - wasn’t happy with the results so drank my way out of the depression. Some of those cocktails had some weird shite in them.

Drank it up in Newcastle West. I can’t recall a single detail about the night so I’m assuming it was good.

Went to Mooney’s in Wexford town and then onto the now defunct and long closed down Redz nightclub further down along the quayfront. Cunts like Appendage, Jugs and cesc4 would have been there and quite incredibly and indeed rather sadly, I 'm still hanging around with them 9 years later. We would have danced to Blue (da ba dee da ba da), 2 Times and Flying Without Wings. Westlife are great.

Havent heard that fuckin song in years

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mL2UsAbI1hg

Used to have it as a ringtone on some dodgy old ericsson phone I used to have. Only problem was that I had to enter each note myself from a script off the net to compose my own ringing. How times have changed!

Got the results, went to a funeral, got a bit of soakage in with the free after mass grub, had a few pints o cider on a pub crawl in the afternoon, home for the dinner, played a minor championship game against the Harriers in the evening (scored 1-1 and beat the townie coonts), then headed into Mooneys followed by Redz and more cider until i puked at which stage i was unable to score or beat any more townie coonts. Alice Deejay - Better off Alone was my favourite anthem of the night and indeed era.

Didn’t you try to dry hump Michael Bell’s fat sister?

Is there any nightclub in Wexford town any more lads?

I believe it was some other night in Redz when i shared a loving, tender embrace with his thin sister.

I’ve a tendency to remember quite odd things and I’m pretty sure i recall her wearing a denim shirt buttoned up to the neck and baggy jeans. We discussed this on another thread (possibly the Leaving Cert results thread from last year or the year before) about the difference between what 17 - 18 year old birds wore when we were that age and what they wear now. Fooking world’s apart. We got screwed big time (and not in a good way)

Chocolate - full of skanks.

Stores - late bar, 3 floors, it’s decent enough. You’ll see fools wearing Wexford polo shirts trying to impress stupid young girls by boasting about being on the Wexford panel. Lads like Willie Doran.

Music Factory - part of White’s Hotel, relatively new, haven’t been there but heard decent reports.

All these places close at 2am. Best bet these days is to go to one of the casinos on the quayfront and play some blackjack and continue getting pissed.

[quote=“Bandage”]Chocolate - full of skanks.

Stores - late bar, 3 floors, it’s decent enough. You’ll see fools wearing Wexford polo shirts trying to impress stupid young girls by boasting about being on the Wexford panel. Lads like Willie Doran.

Music Factory - part of White’s Hotel, relatively new, haven’t been there but heard decent reports.

All these places close at 2am. Best bet these days is to go to one of the casinos on the quayfront and play some blackjack and continue getting pissed.[/quote]

Is there casinos on the quay now? Thought the only one was in the Newbay (which apparently doubles up as a brothel??)

Only ever had 1 night out in Wexford town. The queue was too big for the stores so ended up in that Chocolate place (hun) - seemed alright but that was about 2 and a half years ago at this stage. In fairness though, a load of the Enniscorthy knackers were out down there so that shows how good the place is.

Whats the Springsteens place or is that still there?

Apparently The Music Factory VIP area (yes there’s a VIP area in a nite club in Wexford. Although its more of a private room that any self important retard can book for parties) has beds in it. There was outrage in the local paper before the place opened with frumpy auld ones bitching about how this was encouraging youngsters to “do the bould thing”. Personally i think it’s a shit idea as if copious amounts of alcohol don’t encourage them, nothing will.

[quote=“Mac”]Is there casinos on the quay now? Thought the only one was in the Newbay (which apparently doubles up as a brothel??)

Only ever had 1 night out in Wexford town. The queue was too big for the stores so ended up in that Chocolate place (hun) - seemed alright but that was about 2 and a half years ago at this stage. In fairness though, a load of the Enniscorthy knackers were out down there so that shows how good the place is.

Whats the Springsteens place or is that still there?[/quote]

Springsteen’s is the old Mooney’s premises. I’ve never been in there. Think it’s a late bar type deal too. Not sure though but it’s still there. There’s 2 or 3 casinos on the quay now. I’ve heard the Newbay rumours too but don’t know if they’re true.

The brother was in there playing poker one night and the lads playing on the same table as him were up and down the stairs like yo-yos accompanied by some fairly tasty looking women. It was usually the lads who had won some money and were willing to part with it.

Tis common enough for this sort of thing in some places but thats for private rooms where they keep the big gamblers together - dont think this was what was in the Newbay.

Best of luck to @gaamad1996 and all other forum members receiving their results tomorrow

Cheers, pal.