Leaving Cert Results

I found third level an absolute breeze. I was a lazy second level student who winged a lot of it and didnā€™t study all that much. About three pages into an English or history essay I would just pretty much give up out of boredom/lack of interest. I would say I finished every exam during the leaving with an hour to spare if not more. I got a solid if unspectacular leaving cert.

When I went to third level and was allowed to put my own thoughts down on paper and make an argument and back it up as opposed to just rote learning I would end up filling up multiple booklets in exams and needing every minute of the allotted time to get my ideas down on paper and never found it too much of a chore.

Third level is straight forward if you pick a course you have an interest or natural aptitude for and show up to two thirds of the lectures and making a passing attempt at assignments. You would be almost guaranteed a 2:1

Iā€™d agree. Exams like the FE1s are also a lot harder. Even with the difference in pass grades between undergraduate (40%) and professional exams (50%), are you going to tell me an undergrad with a 60 in two Constitutional Law exams knows more than a graduate with years of study begins then?

Iā€™d actually revise my earlier post. A B in the LC is harder than a college B. You could not go to lectures or tutorials but read a couple of articles before a college exam and if you had a bit about you, no problem with getting a B. LC courses are quite big.

Iā€™ve interviewed a fair few people over years and seen exam results from LC and college.

In my experience college exams usually expose the kids, from mainly private schools, who overachieved in leaving cert as a result of grinds/private school pulling them up/revision courses.

If somebody comes to me and I compare results from a private school Iā€™d expect a stronger leaving cert than from a public school Based on all the advantages they have.

College exams and results have had massive inflation over years too.

I couldnā€™t give a flying fuck about exam results whether it be in college or school when interviewing. Grand. You can read and write. This isnā€™t academia. Tell me about projects youā€™ve done. How you completed them.

When I left college I got a rude awakening when it came to sitting Professional exams. What should have taken 3 years to accomplish took 5. And even at that I got through by the skin of my teeth.

A former boss of mine used to say the only Leaving Cert subjects that mattered in the workplace were English and Maths.

Iā€™d expect a certain minimum from a person in terms of exams. That being said a lot of great exam results have not translated to great hires.

On this point, certifications are also bullshit without experience. Specifically relating to technology. All they are is basically a happy path/half advertisement for the technology/methodology that cost a fortune to keep the wheel turning.

A lot to be said for that.

Iā€™ve never quoted Wordsworth or used Pythagorasā€™ theorem

QED.

Obviously depends on the job but I would say a good mark in English would be a good indicator of people who can use good grammar and spell correctly. Maths is probably a decent indicator of intelligence also. Most of the Leaving Cert is rote learning but you need a bit about you to do well in maths

use grammar well.

Well used grammar

No, but Iā€™d imagine youā€™ve written a report or done up some budgets/costings etc

Essentially he used it as a raw literacy/numeracy benchmark.

Quaid to 6.
Hannon to 11.

Job is oxo.

2 lads on 6:01 News here who are fluent German speakers from their parents, one of them speaking German before he was speaking English, neither of them got H1s because they were marked down. An absolute fucking disgrace, Irelandā€™s brightest and best maliciously fucked over to win votes for FF and no-one cares because itā€™s the culchies who are winning out of it.

God Iā€™m raging, so angry, I need to calm down, fuck FF anyway I need to breathe