If you look at the second goal again, when the ball is poked across the middle by P Mannion (I think) it’s a definite 50/50 but Cody drives onto the ball with all he’s got & Gavin Lee puts on the brakes. There were lots of other examples of Galway lads pulling out of tackles, avoiding collisions. If there’s anything in them then they’ll rebound strongly next week & you usually get a response in GAA circles when your own people are ridiculing you. Wexford had that last season against Galway after collapsing in Antrim. But I think it’s Kilkenny out in front in Leinster & they’ll deliver a consistent level of performance/workrate but you don’t really know what you’ll get from the others from week to week.
Exactly my sense of things. Early doors you could see Cathal Mannion was the only one trying for Galway.
I also noticed that.
Wexford to win Leinster.
Chin is some yoke.
Not sure what McManus is on about. TJ hasnt caught a ball of note in years
1st half he was ridiculous, 2nd half was a far more team effort.
It’s wrong McManus doing punditry on this while also on a mgmt team. Basically a media puppet for Davy. He was no doubt told to say that Dublin were no2 in Leinster.
He also referenced Dublin having a solid bench being able to bring on Sutcliffe. Sutcliffe started and went off inj after 20 mins. He is by far and away the worst hurling pundit on TSG in years.
Agree. He is an awful bag of wind
I don’t mind McManus generally but agree that he does not belong there if he’s part of a management team who are still in the Championship.
And agreed on the Sutcliffe comment also, thought that was odd.
There are some pretty poor pundits still on the Sunday Game so I’m not going to declare him the worst.
Cody should never have won that ball, the door should’ve been closed
McManus has made a show of himself
Diversity innit?
On the evidence so far the only certanties in Leinster are Kilkenny will finish first and Antrim will finish last in the round robin …
After that who knows but ive a strong feeling Galway wont be in the top 3 …even though they will probably beat Offaly next week as per @Bandage
Id have serious concerns over where Galway are at on the face of it.
Their workrate stats must be at very low levels? That first goal aswell was jokeshop shit. Conditions wouldnt help but KK had 3 bites of the cherry to score it.
Their spine bar Cathal Mannion looks weak.
They may come good but they are vulnerable now. Perhaps the eye was on this week and Wexford / Antrim at home to get through
The 2nd goal wasn’t any better. No way would Cody have scored there against any serious outfit. They are getting shit canned all week so if there is no reaction against Offaly then it’s a very bad sign.
It was a pathetic effort.
Kilkenny fans were laughing at Fintan Burke’s tortoise pace and they were right to. Why bother committing to long winter nights training if you’re not arsed to rise your game against the team that humiliate ya 99% of the time. I’ve no issue with Galway teams being battered by better teams (Kilkenny are still streets ahead) if they leave it all out there but plenty of lads weren’t bothered on Saturday.
They were fairly pitiful last year against Dublin. They collapsed after they had a player sent off.
Was listening to the Wexford GAA podcast review of Wexford-Antrim on my commute earlier & JJ Doyle referenced LOI TV streaming all premier & first division games & how it’s completely daft all senior GAA championship games aren’t available to watch online, if not selected for TV coverage. Hi JJ.
I simply won’t stop campaigning about this (via TFK only). Laois & Kildare in U20 hurling is available to watch tonight but there is no facility to watch Offaly-Galway or Antrim-Kilkenny in the senior championship at the weekend. It’s absolutely non-sensical.