Yeah 2009-12 was definitely the hurling low point for Wexford.
Andrew Shore and Liam Og McGovern both had a year with the football, Chin went football in 2012 and dual in 2013, think he was the last Wexford Senior to line out with both in the same year.
Iâm not sure the supporting cast on the KK team is any better.
Would be a mildly interesting exercise to find the last man in each county to play both codes in the same year.
Lucey the last for Limerick I would imagine, and we will likely never see another.
Himself, Riordan and Begley all did it around the start of the 00s, but all gave it up.
Lucey went back again in 09 when the hurlers went on strike, and togged for both codes in 2011, hurlers first and togged for footballers when the hurlers were knocked out early.
Not that long ago Limerick footballers were going deeper into the championship than our hurlers.
Cork Iâd guess Aidan Walsh in 2014.
Probably a fair summary, I would take confidence from the showing v Dublin in the league when they were pretty much at full strength and we were down a few. Iâd imagine Newbridge would have brought Jacko on a tonne and think Simon Roche can prosper more on a bigger pitch and 1 thatâs not full of sand. Shane Reck and Eoin Cody could be a brilliant battle
Iâve finally bothered to watch the 6-minute RTĂ highlight package from last weekend. Weâre really caught for height in defence & the Kildare goal exploited that as many teams have done before. Carley, Foley, Reck x2, Lawlor, OâLeary, WickhamâŚwould any of them be taller than 6 foot?
Yeah thatâs a fair point but ironically Curtin who set up the Kildare goal isnât a big man at all. Dublin will definitely go route 1 with Hedgo and KK might do with TJ.
Fanning was to blame for that one. Big Stephen Banville put out the hand to shake his but Fanning refused the handshake. The lads went at it with both players removing each others helmet, fairly sure Fanning had to get stitches.
Jaysus i had forgotten about Banville strike. To be fair he should have got red. Did Fannibg play the next game? Tipp gave us a fairly solid beating that day, dark days for Wexford hurling.
Pulling each otherâs helmets off.
![]()
Did Eoghan OâDonnell tog for both in Dublin in a recent season?
When the hurlers got knocked out, he trained with the footballers? Or did I imagine that?
Lucey definitely the last to play both in the same season for us; Hego the last to play both, I think. He last played senior football in 2015 and was with the hurlers in 2016.
O Donnell did. 2023 i think. Got a few mins in a Leinster final i think. He is a very agricultural footballer.
James Skehill the last one for Galway.
Aaron Fitz would have played championship in both codes this decade for Clare.
Think Podge was probably the last to do both in the one year back in 2014 before doing the cruciate.
Cahir Healy played Championship hurling for Laois in 2018 and Football in 2019.
Yeah, but thats only Laois mate.
Good one mate.
Yeah, but thats only Laois mate.
Who did you meant to log on as?