[ATTACH=full]1185[/ATTACH]
Mark Beirne could do with some dietary advice from some of the experts here.http://www.thefreekick.com/board/index.php?attachments/beirne-jpg.1184/&temp_hash=e674c6c294758df4f269589ea7c31b00
Conor and Mark Beirne added to senior squad along with Mohillâs U-21s Shane Quinn and Alan McLoughlin and Aughnasheelinâs McWeeney.
Mark Beirne could do with shedding a few stone as per last sighting. Perhaps @farmerinthecity has the inside line here.
[ATTACH=full]1186[/ATTACH]
All here Massey. Youâre right, 1 from Manor, just about the correct mixâŚ
http://www.leitrimobserver.ie/sport/gaelic-games/miracle-comeback-shocks-galway-1-6006684
[QUOTE=âBoxtyeater, post: 933049, member: 246â]Conor and Mark Beirne added to senior squad along with Mohillâs U-21s Shane Quinn and Alan McLoughlin and Aughnasheelinâs McWeeney.
Mark Beirne could do with shedding a few stone as per last sighting. Perhaps @farmerinthecity has the inside line here.
[ATTACH=full]1186[/ATTACH][/QUOTE]
McLoughlin looked the best of the 21s vs Roscommon. Looks very one footed though.
Ah FFS sake Boxty - thatâs Chesty.
Best I could doâŚ
[QUOTE=âBoxtyeater, post: 933057, member: 246â]All here Massey. Youâre right, 1 from Manor, just about the correct mixâŚ
http://www.leitrimobserver.ie/sport/gaelic-games/miracle-comeback-shocks-galway-1-6006684[/QUOTE]
Thought youâd like that :), nicely spread out among a fair few clubs thatâs as good a minor team as ive seen
Sympathies expressed to Leitrim players Mossy, Mark and Conor Beirne, their brothers Chesty and Daniel on the death of their grandfather Tom Cusack. Sympathies of course also to Tomâs four daughters, sisters, sons-in-law, other grand children, relatives and friends.
I was fortunate to know Tom very well and if he liked you then he was a gentleman. If he didnât, well he didnât.
A Cavan man originally, Tom arrived in Mohill 43 years ago with his wife Beryl, who pre deceased him over 25 years ago. He opened up the The Green Rooster pub on Main Street (known locally simply as âCusacksâ) and it is a credit to him that it remains open to this day in an era of rural pubs closing all over the place.
RIP Tom.
Beautiful sentiments @farmerinthecity and ones I fully concur with. Tom Cusack was indeed a gentleman, one of the old stock. An hostelry I visited on rare occasions, he was never less that courteous to refugees from adjoining parishes and made it a point to always enquire about aged neighbours of ours whom he may not have seen in years. Kudos on the wording of your middle paragraph as wellâŚ
RIP Tom.
[QUOTE=âBoxtyeater, post: 936187, member: 246â]Beautiful sentiments @farmerinthecity and ones I fully concur with. Tom Cusack was indeed a gentleman, one of the old stock. An hostelry I visited on rare occasions, he was never less that courteous to refugees from adjoining parishes and made it a point to always enquire about aged neighbours of ours whom he may not have seen in years. Kudos on the wording of your middle paragraph as wellâŚ
RIP Tom.[/QUOTE]
Only last September I called in to Cusacks on a balmy Wednesday evening. I was surprised to find Tom there serving as he seemed very breathless but he still pulled a pint of stout like no other. The two of us chatted for about an hour mainly with regard to how he ended up in Mohll having spent years in England working as a prison guard in Broadmoor. There was a genuinety to him which you donât find with many.
He also spent some time lamenting the passing of Farmer Senior 18 months previously and how he missed him hugely. He mentioned a few more of âthat vintageâ who had recently passed on such as Thomas Doherty, Benny Conboy and Vincent McNabola and how there are not men like them around today.
He frequently mentioned his wife who had passed on at a young age and I got the impression he still missed her hugely.
A good man and someone I am going to miss.
Great turn-out Farmer, as respectful and ecunimic as could be expected. Had a nice lock of pints with some of what you might call "die-hardsâŚ
MTR, whom I havenât seen in months, is not the man he was, IMO. Clearly, retirement isnât for all of us. Joe Co seems to be a blufferâŚ
[QUOTE=âBoxtyeater, post: 936619, member: 246â]Great turn-out Farmer, as respectful and ecunimic as could be expected. Had a nice lock of pints with some of what you might call "die-hardsâŚ
MTR, whom I havenât seen in months, is not the man he was, IMO. Clearly, retirement isnât for all of us. Joe Co seems to be a blufferâŚ:([/QUOTE]
Great turn out alright.
My local councillor was there of course. Right beside the hearse as Tom was being carried out. Stood out on the road then to stop the traffic.
Christ but he is an awful gobshite.
So thoughts on May 18?
Roscommon won all matches in Division 3 except for a defeat away to a good Cavan side. They then went on to beat Cavan last weekend in the Division 3 final. Their U21s are in the All Ireland Final this weekend, having given us a beating in the Connacht final.
We were trounced by Tipperary in the league and also lost to Waterford. We did have some good victories but we are carrying a lot of injuries.
Itâs hard not to predict a bad beating for us here.
Our biggest problem will be to match their physicality in the middle third. Our backs are reasonable enough but as ever we lack scoring forwards.
Iâm for moving Wayne Mac up front and bringing in Shane Moran, but you knew that. Iâll fire up a selection here in a minute and we can offer opinions on it later. Iâm going to exclude the Manor Glancy and Ray Cox who is injured in any event.
Cathal McCrann.
Alan Wynne.
Donal Wrynn.
Paddy Maguire.
Paul Brennan.
Gary Reynolds.
Barry Prior.
Darren Sweeney.
Shane Moran.
Kevin Conlan.
Wayne McKeon.
Fergal Clancy.
Shane Quinn.
Robbie Lowe/Conor Beirne.
Emlyn Mulligan.
Iâd be worried about our backs considering we shipped 5 goals to the might of Tipperary (not that theyâre a bad side but they arenât Division 1 standard). I like Darren Sweeney in midfield but I havenât seen much of young Moran to conclude if he is able for it. McKeon is our best player after Mulligan so I would like to see him in a more influential position than at 7.
Injured list:
Mossy
Manor Glancy
Ray Cox
Anymore?
Is Cathal McCrann back?
Both McCrann and Fergal Clancy are back training and should be fit. Itâs a pity McCrann got the knock he did, because if fully fit heâd have been a strong option at 11/12 and stick Philip Farrelly in goal but I donât think Hagan would be that adventurous anyway. Barry Prior may be under pressure in the backline but has played all the year so far and the option of Shane Foleyâs abrasive style may be a step too far for Hagan. Mossyâs power a big loss.
What do you make of Conor Beirne only coming on to the panel now, when almost all others would have been putting in the work since Christmas and before?
Do you think that is fair?
Iâd be a bit more optimistic than Farmer. While it would take a massive leap of faith to say weâll win the game, I do think we can be competitive.
As mentioned already above, the downfall for us vs Ros in recent years has been around the middle. Finneran and Mannion have dominated there in the last few games against Leitrim (helped enormously by Leitrimâs insistence on constantly kicking the ball into the middle).
I think we have the forwards to put up a reasonable score but with the likes of the 2 Smiths, Cregg, Shine, Kilbride, Murtagh etc, Ros have an abundance of talent up front.
It could well be a shoot out.
Bring it on
[QUOTE=âfarmerinthecity, post: 938814, member: 24â]What do you make of Conor Beirne only coming on to the panel now, when almost all others would have been putting in the work since Christmas and before?
Do you think that is fair?[/QUOTE]
I have no problem with him coming in, none at all. Heâs strong and accurate when in possession and will knock over the frees from his strong side. We were giving out fuck last year about lack of depth etc., and here we have the best replacement for Mossy making himself available. Heâs not expected to fulfil a Brian Dooher role or anything like that so for Conor. TDB is fairly close with his summary on the Rossies but what have we to lose. We can still make it to the Bank Holiday weekend in AugustâŚ
Sean Hagan clearly lurking here, as he deploys Wayne Mac to the half-forward line in challenge V Sligo Tuesday evening. He kicked 3 from play, set up 5-6 more, many converted by Conor Beirne (0-05) and added vim and vigour as normal. Comfortable enough winners without setting the place on fire.