Leitrim GAA 2020

Yeah he passed away a couple of years ago Boxty

He had a brother Jack who was a super under-age prospect. To make a long story short Jack made himself available to assist a neighbouring modestly resourced club defeat the dreaded Manor in an absorbing county final in the mid-60ā€™s.
In fairness, many of the Manor lads were bearded chaps on maneavours in Finner camp with the FCA or the army. He may not have been the only ringer on the day eitherā€¦

Tommy Conlon had a big spread earlier on in the year in the Sunday independent if you subscribe to it.I donā€™t think thereā€™s any books about it afaik.If O Mahoney has a book thereā€™s surely a part in it dedicated to his time in Leitrim.We fucked up badly in 95 by losing to Galway at home by a point in a game we should have won,Galway went on to win Connacht.Whst ever about not winning in 93 not winning in 95 is still a sore point.

Youā€™ve an awful set agin Manor.

2 up with 5 to go. Should have seen it out. Galway went on to win Connacht that year

I remember listening to it on the radio,padraig McLaughlin had a great chance of a goal near the end to win it but blazed it over the bar

Wouldnā€™t you if your 1st.title in 67 years (again) was robbed from you by a scuttery goal at the deathā€¦ Grrrrrā€¦On a day when an immigrant to the parish through marriage, a renowned dead ball expert, missed more handy ones from < 30 yes than I can recall.

Are you still there @farmerinthecityā€¦Iā€™ve forgiven him since.

My late father captained the last winning senior team in 1932 fwiw. There was a boardroom issue in the aftermath, but as the man says, I have the medal.

That was a well worked goal lad,from the goalie all the way up the field,if Kerry or Dublin done it youā€™d never hear the end of it :grinning:

Youā€™re a gas man for recalling quare moments. Padraig was a great lad, plenty of talent, could manufacture staggering scores, but had some f*cking streak of madness in him that mitigated against him.
I always thought he was nervy/jumpy when put through, heā€™d double hop or lose the frigging ball altogether in the pursuit of a killer goal. Fintan McBrien offered more than him over their tenure from the same club - they have nothing coming through either which is a pity, they had some hardy hoors.

Who knows what would have happened if he scored that goal.I think we definitely would have won Connacht again and give Tyrone a rattle.We were well used to playing them at that stage league wise.O Mahoney would have stayed on too.Galway may never have won in 98.The possibilities are endless.

A cousin of mine Boxty.

Dā€™ya not think Iā€™ve seen and relived that horror show a hundred times.
Iā€™ll put you on ignore if you persist rubbing salt into the wound.

We got to the final of 03 but the boat had sailed. Great warriors like the Guckians, McLoughlins and the Flynnā€™s were in their winter days, the game was up.
The Flynnā€™s, Padraig, Niall and Brendan buried their Dad, Paddy, on Monday. A club stalwart for more than 50 years, we soldiered together in lean but cheerful times.
His friends and colleagues lined the roadway from the Church to the graveyard in a fine turnout.
Thereā€™d been some porter drank, goals saved and scored and tall tales told of a Bank Holiday Monday if the job was right. RIP to Paddy Flynn, a gent.

Iā€™m aware of that a chara. A good guy, an addition to Fenagh and a few chaps with ability.

That doesnā€™t mitigate the amount of handy frees he squandered in the 99 final. His point from the 45 when we were 1 up in lost time compounds the pain of it all.

Do ye remember a fella called pat farrell lads? I played a bit with him in college he played County I think. Heā€™d be in or around 40 now

I remember Patā€™s brief flirtation with the inter-county scene. He was big, strong and able to look after himself. He looked like a lad that found it hard to knuckle down to hard training.
Mickey Moran was in charge then and favoured lads who toed the line in terms of scheduling and training. This wouldnā€™t have been Patā€™s forte.
He arrived one day sporting a pair of luminous yellow boots and this, coupled with confessing to knowing you, was the last straw. Bata agus bothair time.

:clap::sweat_smile: Thatā€™s him alright

A good player though. But too fond of the tiles.

Weā€™ve produced some great footballers over the years,just not enough at once for the county team unfortunately. I see Mckeown didnā€™t even get a mention.An awful waste because heā€™s as good a half back as weā€™ve ever had imo.Just doesnā€™t have the drive all the top players have,add in young Beirne too.

Heā€™s at centre back - I think. An absolutely cracking footballer but prone to an odd howler, like again the Rossies in 2003.

I have good memories of watching that Drumreilly team:

• Saw them back around 2000 play Carrick in Drumshanbo. A masterclass from a young Declan Maxwell in midfield in the first half saw Drumreillly surge ahead but the introduction of Benny Guckian at half time but a stop to the gallop, Drumreilly held out for victory.
  • Saw them play Gortletteragh around 2006. Seamus Quinn played full forward and McKeon was brought back to full back to mark him. It was a brilliant battle with Quinn marginally getting the better of the two. Gortletteragh won narrowly.