Leitrim Gaa 2021

Delighted to see Manor Clancy in there too.

Happy with the Manor Glancy as a selector, plenty experience at a relatively high level.
Barry McWeeney is a grand lad and has been a middling Intermediate player with a club not overly populated with potential All-Stars…However, there are plenty more dubious snouts looking greedily towards the trough. All aboard……Hi Emlyn.

We go again.

I doubt he’ll be involved, if Rooney got the gig he’d be in like Flynn for sure.If this goes well and Moran moves on in 2 years Glancy will be in prime position to take over…if it goes well.Hes done plenty of coaching in Dublin with senior teams so Leitrim wouldn’t be a huge step up tbf.Im a bit more upbeat about this setup now.

@myboyblue

Why are you so impressed with Solan?

There’s a bit of background to Glancys time in Dooblin

No need for him to drag up the 1999 final - Again. That said, he’s the man for the future all going well.

Ye’ll win one before us the way it’s goin

AIB CLUB SENIOR FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

Quarter Finals:

Sligo v London – 20th/21st November

Leitrim v Galway – 20th/21st November

Semi-Finals:

Sligo/London v Mayo – 5th Dec

Roscommon v Leitrim/Galway – 28th Nov

Final: 8/9th January or 15th /16th January

Nothing easy there

What’s the story with the Connacht championship this year,isn’t it our year for a trip to London or will we have to wait 2 years?

What happened in the 1999 county final? Presumably one that your mob left behind?

Jaysus don’t mention the war

Fox.

Can’t remember his first name.

James Kelly you mean.

Kieran Fox. Did he not score the goal?

I stand corrected.

God no,my auld buddy Kelly got that.His younger brother Dominic who was in my class at school played in that final and also won in 08/09/10/11.So 5 senior medals and lost in 12.He definitely played in another one or 2 after. Amazing to think he could have ended up with 7 or 8 senior Leitrim titles and wasn’t even the best footballer in the team but was always there training and playing.

Having waited, like the county senior team, 67 years for a senior title we conceded a dreadful scrambly goal in injury time to have victory snatched from our grasp by Glencar-Manor. In fairness to them I’d say it was their 2nd title but they’ve done the dog on it since as our quest goes on.
Ironically my late father was the captain of the 1932 team.

On your ramblings on Dominic Kelly and his medal haul the late Noel Flynn holds the record with 9 senior medals all won as a player. I wouldn’t be absolutely certain of the years but start in the early 60’s and he won 7 playing for Ballinamore before transferring back to his native Aughawillian for their first two in Senior ranks. I’d say the span could be from 62/79. Unlikely to be bettered.