Fuck it anyway. Would have loved them to get the game in HQ. Doesnāt happen too often.
After a great start, the next 20 minutes was awful stuff from Leitrim. Foward line didnāt function at all in that period. Was it 8 points in a row Sligo got ??
2 down at half time, that deficit was doubled early in the 2nd half. Felt we would need a goal at that stage as Sligo were getting their scores that bit easier. Jordan Reynolds duly obliged.
Ryan OāRourke made a huge difference when he came on. He got on some amount of ball. Also, Sean Carrabine was a huge loss to Sligo. He seems to be their Michael Murphy. He was their centre back, midfielder, centre forward and full forward at different times. No coincidence that Leitrimās recovery occured when he went off.
The āsquare ballā was obviously a huge moment. A goal in extra time is a huge score. But some days these decisions go for you. Other days they donāt. A kick in the balls nonetheless.
Thatās it for 2022. Hopefully promotion next year and a trip to HQ at least in the Tailteann. Thereās the makings of a nice team there.
A couple of things to finish. The Tailteann Cup is a great initiative. That was a very enjoyable game with a great atmosphere in PƔirc SeƔn.
And finally, Pat Spillane junior took after his mother.
Liatroim AbĆŗ
Yis were fucking screwed
Tell me about it - at least your pal Maurice was happy enough to allow it. The pair of fucking stooks made a demonstrable bollocks out of it though. A start like that at the beginning of extra time would have been like adding 2 men to the effort. I was mildly distraught yesterday evening but as Sunday became Monday I found myself ramping up the seetheometer. Nobody died all the same, dreams can be reborn.
You could see the Sligo heads drop right after that goal with us having kicked the last 4 points from play right before that and the crowd going buckape.I really think weād have run away with it from there but sure lookit well regroup and go again next year.Pearse Dolan was sensational yesterday,Beirne will get all the attention but I thought Dolan was superb he made clane shit out of Spillane in the air.Hes been our best player all year.We started like a train yesterday and should have pushed on but our forward play was brutal in the first half.It didnāt help that our half backs and midfield were running in on top of them thus crowding the space and helping Sligo get the turnovers.Ryan made a huge difference for us when he came on running from deep,he did the same against Tipp in the league to great effect.I can see him playing there a lot more next year.I really hope the coaching ticket stay for a few years as we need some continuity.Coach Moran is building a nice panel there atm,the bench have been just as important as the starting 15 this year.I feel sorry for Mulligan heās been a great servant to Leitrim Gaa and even though Iām not his biggest fan he didnāt deserve to finish his career with us by missing that penalty.
Iām in complete agreement with all of these sentiments. Dolan has been a revelation all year, odd that a Hyland rebuffed him consistently. Diffley has grown into the 3 jersey and Jordan Reynolds has performed superbly when called on. Donal Wrynn hadnāt a great outing yesterday, looked worn out while Shane Moran will benefit from the break. Your man Paddy was on fire all over the place but obviously canāt last forever - heāll reach the 100 caps all the same. Ryan was the fulcrum for our revival but we just couldnāt find a shooter in the dying seconds of normal or wpextra time.
I said here before that the Tailteann Cup would be welcomed in Ballinamore like Sam would in Killarney and this was proven yesterday. A big loud crowd who could go home content in the knowledge that the warriors in the jersey left it all on the field - what more can we ask of themā¦.
The county championship will, e hard won the year. Manorās to lose Iād assumeā¦ā¦
What more can you say about this buck,a total warrior who gives us absolutely everything year in year out who has to face into every game knowing heāll be marking the oppositionās best forward and never takes a backwards step.I thought he was brilliant yesterday.I searched him out after the game to shake hands with him and there he was signing kids shirts and taking photos with any one that wanted one.There wasnāt a bother on him so Iād say weāll definitely get another year out of him.
Am I missing something? A few bland answers but thatās par for the course of GAA lads at this stage.
True enough.Are we missing something here @Spidey ?Mick was a decent addition to the back line still only 30.Hes in Australia now is he not @anon67715551
I donāt think this is actually @Spidey work, Paddy OāBrienās attempt at humour. Nothing to see there, a decent enough lad whoās currently in Australia as was pointed out.
Johnny (OTB):Did you ever think of picking up the phone to another manager during the campaign?
Coach Moran: I was going to ring Benny the Cap but copped myself on in time.
I restrained myself from giving this a like. No offence but you mightnāt be too far away.
Heāll put himself into the frame at leastā¦ā¦heās like midges on the bog, relentless and omnipresentā¦
This fella taking his wumming to a whole new level
Iām beginning to think itās actually Benny the Cap
I see weāve taken another hammering in the league again tonight.
Tha favourites tag for the Championship doesnāt suit ye. Itās early days but a comprehensive defeat to the Willies should be a concern. We accounted for the Neddies in the field 4-14 to 1-10. The Neds are poor.
Weāve an awful gap between the auld lads and the new crop weāre waiting on.A spell in intermediate might await us.But if thatās the way to go so be it.
Yeāre a mile from Intermediate but a quick run of bad results can get you there. Tough division to get out of. SoH suffered the dreaded drop after 20 titles and 100 years senior. 2 wins in the group stages might see you safe depending on other results. Mohillās to lose in any event, weād be happy enough to retain status.