Fenagh,'s to lose
Will you stop, our forwards are setting it alight but weāre terribly weak at the back. Keith Beirne alone would put 2-14 or upwards on us. Catā¦ā¦
Sure weāre as bad.Puddy McDonald is still playing corner back for us FFS he wasnāt to far behind me at school.We have a good crop of under age coming through at 15/16/17 so weāll be good to go in about 6/7 years.Paddy Maguire will be playing in goals as a fly keeper by then.
Mohill beat Maryās by 1-14 to 0-9
Leitrim Gaels beat Manor by 3
For some unknown reason Manor weāre 4/9 with Powers earlier with LG priced up at 13/8 from memory. I thought LG had a great chance even in Boggaun.
Thereāll be reports of barely managing to field 15, injuries and travels later.
Leaking too many goals, another 3 tonight.Our back line is our weakest on the field.
Tomorrow eveningās results will give a good indication as to what lies ahead. Iām expecting a tough affair in what used to be known as McLoughlins Rock!!! Truthfully itās between the big town teams and an early win is a big boost. The Willies will be up for it, celebrating their 50th anniversary and all that. Hard to see us competing with Plunkett and Dolan in the middle for them.
Keep it away from them.Proably the best club midfield pairing in the county.Short kickouts then go long over their heads to the forwards.Stick Donal at 6.Easier said than done.
Weāre not blessed with big lads so heāll have to go at 8/9. Jack Gilheaney is rumoured to be fit and ready so heād fill the 6 slot and weāll take our chances with that. Iāve decided that Plunkettās poor form has been down to positioning - heās a central figure - 6,8,9,11 but unsuited outside of that, much in the manner of his former clubman Declan Darcy.
The firm ground and quick ball should suit us but Iām optimistic rather than bullish.
Plenty of quick quality ball into the forwards should be yer plan.Not too many easy games in the championship now.Id still be in favour of an 8 team senior championship.It would be dynamite from the off with no easy games.8 team intermediate as well.Every game should be do or die.
On another note I see the sheepstealers are goin in for Roachford which is a bad sign for us as it means Solan must be favourite in Mayo
Iām led to believe Ray Dempsey is in pole position to get the Mayo gig with Rochford going to Roscommon alright.
We ran out comfortable winners in the end 3-16 to 0-13 but bear in mind we tagged on 2-05 in the closing 10 minutes. Pearce Dolan crashed one off the crossbar when 3 behind and we worked it forward where Oisin McLoughlin finished it off. The Willies were without Fergal McTague and Noel Plunkett through suspension but Dolan, Gilheaney, Gary Plunkett and Morgan Quinn played well for them. We survived a few hairy scrambles in and around the square but when your luck is in - it is. Itās only round one but weāre up and running.
The runners up spot is wide open. Ye are in the mix
Nah! Our aim is survival first and see where it takes us but weāre very beatable on any day. Aaron McLoughlin fell awkwardly and was replaced with a wrist injury - Caillin OāRourke came on and had a stormer. We wouldnāt e equipped for a spate of injuries particularly up front. The semis will be the height of our achievements this year. Mohill justifiably the favs.
3-16 is good scoring
2-12 or thereabouts from the OāRourkes (1-9 and 1-3) or thereabouts. As I said we tacked on about 2-05 after the last water-break having survived courtesy of the crossbar. Small margins but the fine evening, firm ground and dry ball helped.