Leitrim Gaa 2026

Some lads here have embarrassed themselves as they pulled up the ladder behind them. The work that our exiles, whether in Dublin, the UK or the USA is what keeps the green and gold flying high.

And yes, I’m familiar with the character alluded to - a gentleman.

On an occasion like today/tonight it’s a pity than one of our greatest ever followers/fundraisers can be disparaged in such a demeaning manner.

Fair enough.

He grinds on me a bit with his Facebook posts. He had one particular one about a trip to Cloone which was twee in the extreme and I’ve also noted a bit of ā€˜I’m coming back to the sticks from Dalkey about him’.

But of course that’s all judgemental and over generalised. The truth is that I know very little about the man unlike you. Good luck to him and up Leitrim.

Ive bumped into him a couple of times,he seems the finest.He even paid for my stuff at the shop one day below in Dungarvan when i was getting a cup of tea for myself and the young lad.His stories are a bit twee cause hes in his 70s id say

He’s just retired I think.

I know his family and extended family, I also know his niece and her husband very well up this side of the country,

Same, no doubt he’s an alright sort, it takes dedication and a very understanding other half to get to the amount of games he does.

He’s tidy isn’t he… The goal was a result of two nice foot-passes.
There’s a clip of the goal build up from the other side of the pitch that shows the breadth of it in a better manner in the ether somewhere.

I think the Wooly lad had it yesterday.

Woolie actually forgave Poacher, which goes to show you what a stook he is

Fenton knows

Wow!

Time is flying lads

A lovely lad from a lovely family.

Tragic but he was most certainly was doing something he loved.

Speaking of lovely people ftom lovely families, we lost a gentleman last Sunday ourselves.@Boxty will remember him

The members of Glencar-Manorhamilton GAA Club were deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Sean Boylan, a man whose lifelong dedication and service to our club leaves a legacy that will endure for generations.

Sean was a stalwart of the club and proudly wore the saffron and blue as a player for many years. (Goalie jersey during this period bore an undeniable similarity to an Aston Villa one whom Sean supported) He played a central role in our Senior Championship–winning team of 1999, where his calm presence and timely interventions proved crucial on many occasions. One outstanding save from that final against Fenagh remains vividly etched in the memories of those fortunate enough to witness it. His contributions on the field were rightly recognised when he was named our Young Club Player of the Year in 1991, Club Senior Player of the Year in 1993 and 1999 and later the honour of being selected as our Millennium Team goalkeeper.

Sean’s commitment to Glencar-Manorhamilton extended far beyond his playing days. Off the field, he served as Club Secretary in 1997 and was a valued member of the club executive for many years, giving tirelessly of his time and expertise. He was heavily involved in underage development and took on the role of Senior Team Manager in 2020 and 2021, guiding players with the same dedication and passion he displayed throughout his playing career. More recently, Sean managed our Junior team, a role he had agreed to continue, and he was actively involved in team selection right up to last Saturday.
Sean was also an integral part of the club’s 50/50 fundraising efforts, where his willingness to sell tickets and conduct draws ensured vital support for the club’s ongoing development. His readiness to help whenever called upon epitomised the spirit of community and volunteerism at the heart of the GAA.

Beyond the GAA, Sean was known as a man of many talents. Whatever he turned his hand to, he did so with commitment and skill, whether it was cards, darts, golf, snooker, soccer, pool or boxing, pursuits in which he earned great respect among friends and fellow competitors. Equally important to Sean was his deep love of farming. He had a particular fondness for sheep and took immense pride in his land and stock, finding both satisfaction and peace in farm life.

To Cliodhna and CaolƔn, the club extends its deepest sympathy for the loss of a devoted father. Sean spoke often and proudly of his children, and his love and care for his family were evident to all who knew him.

We also offer our sincere condolences to Sean’s mother Agnes and his father Sonny, who can take pride in the fine man Sean was and the respect in which he was held throughout the community. To his brothers Gerry, Francie, Liam, and Paul, and his sisters Fidelma, Mary, Aggie and Dympna, we acknowledge the great loss of a beloved son, brother, and family man. Further condolences to Geraldine and wider Boylan family on Sean’s passing.

Please know that Sean’s family are firmly in the thoughts and prayers of everyone in Glencar-Manorhamilton GAA Club at this difficult time. Sean’s legacy lives not only in the successes he helped achieve, but in the friendships, he built and the kindness he showed throughout his life.

May you find comfort in the memories you shared, and in the knowledge that Sean’s contribution will never be forgotten. #beefy #glencarmanorhamiltonlegend

Ar dheis DĆ© go raibh a anam uasal.

RIP Beefy

I meant to ask what happened Beefy and between one thing and another it went out of my head. A great Manor stalwart and a huge loss to the area in general. Comhbróin ó chroí libh.

Poor auld divil wasn’t feeling well last weekend, went to the chemist who told him go to doctor/hospital.Got someone to bring him in to Sligo but stopped off to see the auld pair on the way.Only the mother was there,said good luck see ye later and off he went.Not sure what happened but he was sent up to Galway and died a few hours later.My mother heard it was a heart attack and my brother said it was an aneurism. Makes no difference now.His auld lad is beside himself that he wasnt there when he called.Removal this evening and tomorrow evening with the funeral on Friday.They are from one of the most decent families you’ll ever meet,well respected by everyone.It will be a huge funeral,the town will be at a standstill Friday.

I recall playing against him in my younger days, he would have be 40+ at that stage but still as good a keeper as you’d get and was still involved in coaching the juniors to last weekend, a stalward of Manor and Leitrim gaa. RIP

We were shocking unlucky this evening against Roscommon in the U-20. Two of their goals were of the decidedly fortunate manner, a break off the post/bar and another where we just got stuck in a concrete pour for the split second. They’re a great bunch of young lads really.

We lost a stalwart of the community earlier this week as well.

He took his own life.

I still can’t get my head around it.

He was a gentleman and would have been universally loved. Great friends with my father.