Leo Varadkar

Leo will be on the same spoofing after dinner circuit as Paul McGinley

Surely the benefit is not for Varadkar but the person he was leaking the document to.

It was a favour for a friend, plain and simple. A friend who “wanted to destroy the IMO” and believed the document “would help take the wind out of their sails”.

the sarcasm in my last post was lost on ye,

Yes, but for him to be in contrary of S7 of the 2018 act he has to benefit

7. (1) An Irish official who, either directly or indirectly, by himself or herself or with another person, does an act in relation to his or her office, employment, position or business for the purpose of corruptly **obtaining a gift, consideration or advantage for himself or herself or for any other person, shall be guilty of an offence.
(2) An Irish official who uses confidential information obtained in the course of his or her office, employment, position or business for the purpose of corruptly obtaining a gift, consideration or advantage for himself or herself or for any other person shall be guilty of an offence.

But is that not the advantage?

advantage for himself or herself or for any other person

The advantage is for the person he leaked it to.

maybe i should keep reading legislation after it gets to the point i want it to make.

completely.

My knowledge of the law is not expert guys but I am an expert debater.

And I think I can make charges stick here.

Do you think he’ll be Taoiseach again?

FF can barely tolerate their own leader as Taoiseach, hard to see them supporting Leo when the time comes.

That’s all fairly speculative - certainly not something that you’d want to be relying on as a core of your criminal case I’d imagine.

That’s probably a stronger case than @artfoley argument but I still think its touch and go whether you’d secure a conviction on it - I suspect not but even the charges being brought would inflict the real political damage.

Exactly, if he gets charged it’s game over.

Very difficult to prove, but would you thinik Maithiu would be beyond turning on Leo?

Why is it a stranger case?

It’s clear it was a favour to a friend.

There is evidence of the motivation behind his friend and how he thought the document leaked to him would help his organisation get on over on the IMO.

It’s fairly clearcut that Varadkar was doing this as a favour for a friend and it’s fairly clearcut that this friend didn’t want this document to sell the deal to its members but rather to harm one of the parties privy to the discussions.

Edit: misread as stranger first time round.

Anything is possible with an electorate like Ireland’s.

Could happen considering their only like “kinda mates” not like “bestie mates”.

yeah, youre dead right, theyre both cunts.

The real scandal here is the GP threatening to canvas patients against him. He’s a cowardly weasel who should have called them out on it, but that letter is surely unethical??

Would that amount to much? It would be a very small percentage of patients who might listen to their doctor’s political opinions surely

They’re all self-regarding weasels at the end of the day

Not quite the point.

The last tweet is very important there. Varadkar clearly wanted to cover his tracks.

Is he gone?