21.1k yesterday 21.1k today, all before my breakfast
Ram a new route as well just to keep it interesting
Easy runs both but tough slog
Done 10km yesterday, first in a while. Everything that could have went wrong, did go wrong. Left too late because of the weather and watching the AFL, at nothing doing my route after 11am as itâs too busy. Spotify stopped working and my Strava played up for a 1km. Frustrating
You forgot to say you were lapping the lazy cunts on the couch. Well done.
Had planned too but fecked up my knee last weekend on a long run. Donât think itâs too bad but enough to prevent me from running 42k.
The general consensus seems to be that running in itself isnât too bad for you, but running injured is.
42k is an awful long way. You try to convince yourself it isnât, but it just is. Youâll fly it anyhow so waiting another week or two is neither here nor there.
Few of the lads I train with did it yesterday, was hilly and a lot of trails so definitely wasnât worth the risk. Iâll probably leave it for this year now.
Great local atmosphere around this morning. Far easier to meet and cheer on runners on local roads than around the Dublin crowds too!
Sometimes you just gotta roll the dice
OUCH.
I saw some amount of scenery today as I did a lovely bit of walking.
It ainât pretty but to be honest, I wasnât sure if I was even going to do it. Only decided for sure about half an hour before I started. Just canât shake this cold
I wonât lie. At 4km/6km/8km, I thought about turning back. I actually did turn back around 6km, ran 20/30 metres down and then saw another way up so just kept going. Was having trouble breathing on the climbs. Was on a short climb around 14km and was thinking I could go back a way that would make it max 30 as I couldnât run it. But you know what, when the legs start hurting you forget about having a cold If I didnât do it this weekend, I wasnât go to. Something else would have stopped me and I had to stop thinking bout it. Really glad to get it done. Gave me a taste for an off road one. The section from about 32-37km was on road and it was rough as hell. At sea level and back up to 500 metres. Why did I leave that climb so late?? Listen my pace was more a slow jog/ walk than anything.
Fair play, thatâs a serious effort.
Thanks mate. Most elevation Iâve ever put down in a single run I think
Congratulations. Get yourself in a hot bath, have a big plate of spuds and then a good nightâs sleep.
3,400 calories
Savage stuff mate. Well done.
Unrale @caulifloweredneanderthal, brilliant achievement. The time means nothing, the elevation
Best performance of the lockdown runs
Excellent excellent effort
Sure how do you beat that? Go and run an ultra marathon or something?!
Thanks lads. I had absolutely no intention of running a marathon this year. Iâve only done one once before, 3.5 years on the road, and Iâd a poor performance.
I was actually tempted to keep going. The car was parked about 1.5km from where I stopped and I was thinking to myself that if I got to 44km, would that be an ultra? The last bit was back on road and a woman was cycling towards me and as I hopped in to keep out of the way I said thatâs that. Iâd about 100 metres done past a marathon. As soon as I stopped, my calf absolutely popped. The walk back to the car was actually a godsend. Let the legs stretch out and took a little bit of food and water. I think in full health and better fitness, I could maybe do 4.30-4.40 on that route, but I wouldnât have the speed for anything else. Start cramping a little bit earlier than I hoped (25kmish) as I havenât cramped on any of my long runs this year, but two colds in the past month has impacted how much training I could do etc.
PS I really canât ever see myself doing a road marathon again. Iâd sooner do a 50km trail race.
IIRC ultra marathons are from 50km upwards