Now is the time to take Limerick out,theyâre like a wounded animal.Time to put them out of their misery.If theyâre let out of Munster theyâll be hard bet
Reidy, Lynch and CON are all best at 11 and I donât think we have have found the right balance with the three of them playing. Obviously DOD and Casey are huge losses and limit out options. We are a far better team with Lynch at 11 but with DOD out he probably has to be midfield. English looks ready and Iâd like to see him start in place of Casey.
Absolutely no idea why you are quoting a post of mine criticising Limerick team sheet templates, ccâing fellas and everything.
Maybe you got a bit giddy, thatâs fair enough.
Heâs a misfortune, one of the thousands of Carkies on the field afterwards apoplectic taking selfies and waiting for a cup presentation, funniest part is they will probably fall to Tipp in Thurles next week.
Havenât read any of the thread yet.
Incredible match. Congratulations to Cork. Thought we should have closed it out at four points up but made a couple of unforced mistakes, and they stuck with it. Pace can get you a long way (not that it was solely that.)
Put your house on it?
If Finn had stayed on i think we close that out. FOC is game but it was a big ask⌠On two separate occasions he had the opportunity to raise ball but he couldnât - nerves - and he was turned over for scores. Had a big interception later on tho.
No getting away from Byrnes form. Hannon was ropey also but grew into it but picked up an injury at a crucial time.
Cian looks to be taking too much out of it at times this year and T Morrissey was a bit better last night but he looks way below known form.
With Peter Casey gone also thereâs a lot of questions now.
Getting DOD and M Casey back is vital now⌠I think a draw is enough for a MF? But Iâm not sure they need another grueling wrestle with Clare⌠3rd might be a better route for them tho the 5 weeks for winning Munster never looked so good.
I was on the pitch in the GG last year as well after the corresponding fixture, I wasnât on my own either,
The Limerick supporters are great to hang around on the pitch, isnât it wonderful to be able to stroll around on the grass that has just hosted a classic game in a packed stadium.
Youâd hardly blame us for being excited after a finish like that against the GOATs
There is something about Saturday night matches in Cork, in front of a large crowd with great weather. An absolutely savage game.
Should have seen it out but fair play to Cork, showed character and resolve to come back at the death. Could have been 15 points up at half time so on the balance of play they probably deserved it.
Still in Limerickâs hands - beat Waterford at home and back in a Munster final. Would gladly have taken that scenario before a ball was pucked.
Head fried with all the permutations arising from the two matches next weekend but just win in a fortnight and take out all the hassle out of it. Waterford have players who can hurt us so it should be another battle.
Byrnes and Hannon were very poor.
Problem is we have no alternatives
Game should have been over at half time. And cork gifted us two goals tk keep us on it when we were struggling
Byrnes defence for the Kingston run sums him up at the moment. Heâs looking for everyone else to do the hard defending. Harnedy roasted him
Good news is kiely says DOD and Casey are close, despite what the medics say here.
DOD is an enormous loss to this team.
Yes disappointing but a savage game to watch. Some scoring.
The weather makes it too, good atmosphere.
Marina market is class.
DOD back would really help and give us options. Lynch could be at 11 where he is best and which works best for the team, or if needs be it could give the option of WOD at 6.
We should have closed the game and we didnâtâ â John Kiely praises Cork but vents frustration at lost opportunity
Dermot Crowe
May 12 2024 07:50 AM
After a rare and dramatic defeat at the hands of Cork (3-28 to 3-26), it is hard to know where the Limerick manager should start. But his view on some key moments, including the Rebelsâ last-gasp goal, can be telling.
John Kiely said he didnât have a good view of the black card penalty call that turned the Munster Championship classic with Cork in the home teamâs favour.
âI havenât seen that, I have no comment to make,â he said of the incident which led to Patrick Horgan scoring the decisive goal.
âMy issue was more the other end of the field. We scored a point, and we got punished because the ball was pucked out literally as the ball went over the bar. The issue wasnât at the top end of the field, it was at the other end. But anyway, it is what it is. That shouldnât be the talking point of the game.
âListen we were poor in the first half. Cork were by far the better team in the first half. We struggled on breaking ball, we struggled on puck-outs. We didnât give ourselves enough passages of play where we were able to build the play and so forth. Listen, that was disappointing and Cork created a lot of scoring chances, they probably should have been a bit more up at half time in my opinion.â
He felt they were capable of getting back in the game at half time, when eight points down.
âWeâve been in that situation before and we had confidence in ourselves being able to turn it around. And I think we started the second half really well, we got a good platform together. We were really solid off their puck-out, we put a good press on them, we created some turnovers, got good scores, we were accurate in our shooting, and we took control of the game. And found energy, lots of energy, all over the pitch.
ADVERTISEMENT
âWe lost Sean (Finn), we lost Declan (Hannon), these were all set-backs obviously but to be fair to the lads who came on, I thought they fought manfully and really contributed hugely for us. We put ourselves in a position to win the game, we were four points up, we should have closed out the game and we didnât. Thatâs on us. We had plenty chances to deal with that ball over on the far side, we didnât deal with it. And we paid the price for it.â
He was asked about Limerick leaving themselves with too much to do in games.
âYou canât do this every day, can you? You can play the handicap all you want but youâre putting too much pressure on yourself. The game is 75-80 minutes long, not 35 minutes long. The first half was very, very disappointing.
"Listen weâve two weeks to regroup. Two weeks to fill ourselves up with energy and come back to the table in two weeks time and glad to be going back to the Gaelic Grounds to have that opportunity. I think we have to look at this in perspective. Itâs a four-game competition. Everything is not lost or won here tonight. Weâve two from three, thatâs not a bad place to be, and the one we lost we should have won.
âWeâve done this to teams in the past, tonight is our turn to taste the medicine. We did it to Clare below in Ennis and came late with a couple of scores to win it. Cork came late tonight with a couple of scores to win it. So I think we have to accept it. You cannot get away with trying to do this all the time. You have to be more consistent across the 75-80 minutes.â
He said that Mike Casey is back in training and expected to be available in two weeksâ time. Sean Finnâs injury is âmore likely a hamstringâ and his prospects unclear.
On the spaces afforded to Cork in the first half, he gave credit to Cork.
ADVERTISEMENT
âWe try to do that to teams as well, so you have to give credit to Cork for that they were able to do there .We should have dealt with it better.â
And he was critical of the difficult in getting messages to players during play.
âIn the modern game you are not allowed get
messages on to the pitch. Itâs a difficulty. What sport in the world doesnât allow communication with the players, itâs pure bonkers. Pat Ryan Iâm sure is paralysed on the line at times as well. You canât get a message on to the pitch. You canât hear from six feet away, here we are destroying our vocal chords. Theyâll have to have a fine pot of money put away for the big claims that will be put in for damage to our vocal chords. They might want to have a rethink about what theyâre actually doing. Itâs madness, bonkers.
âRugby, soccer, any of these games you can easily get a message into the players. I think every GAA manager and coach is frustrated beyond belief that we canât get even just three messages a half.
" Anyway itâs no sour grapes on my part tonight, fair play to Cork, they came back and got two great scores to win it.â
He said thoughts now were on staying in the race, not chasing a record sixth consecutive Munster final win.
âThere is nobody looking at a Munster final, I can assure you that it is the furthest thing from our minds. We need to get two points on the board the next day, that is the bottom line for us. Weâre back in that mindset now where we need to get two points,â he said looking ahead to the Waterford match.
I wouldnât be critical of FOC, some cauldron to be thrown into and it will stand to him.
I think we probably tired a little bit mentally after the effort to regain the lead. Nash made a sprint up the sideline for a puckout when we were four up, it wasnât really on and it was two v one by the time Nickie pucked it, we ended up conceding. Kyle had no need to make that tackle in that way, I imagine he probably just forgot about the black card rule in the moment as a lot of people in the stadium seemed to.
Iâm confident we will beat Waterford but the biggest loss is not being able to forget about that match and getting four weeks for some players to recover - if Casey is ready it will be just about, Hannon clearly isnât 100%, WOD effectively playing injured and all of them will need to play in two weeks.
That sprint from Nash was in front of me⌠It wasnât on at all⌠Needed the Limerick forward to pull away to make more space for him. Fine margins⌠And i was in no way being critical of FOC⌠Just felt Finn would have been cooler but shur, ifs and buts
Easy to blame our backs but it was the work rate in the forwards that caught us out imo. Our backs were always defending as a unit and ensured there was no space but now thereâs space. Need the half forwards to help byrnes. Also need to keep him closer to the full back line.
O Neill isnât blessed with pace either and while heâs a big lad and can be aggressive is natural game isnât chasing runners.
Why did o daillaigh slip down the pecking order? A few odd subs as well.
Harsh on FOC, if anything he was an improvement on Finn as he played from the front.
Byrnes form from a defensive pov probably is a worry.
Hannon had cramp according to Kiely.
FOC was fine. A baptism of fire⌠Look at his first bit of action tho⌠Gets to the ball , has time to raise it and instead fumbles and is pounced on and Cork score. A couple of plays later something similar happenedâŚ
Great experience overall for him and heâll get the start next day instead of coming in to a cauldron.