Limerick GAA 2023-2024.... 5 in a row is not here

I had in my head if it was a different foul he couldn’t play another advantage. I could be wrong though.

He brought it back to where hegarty was initially fouled too didn’t he?

Yeah I actually think he blew just as Hegarty had broken free of Ryan, Hego didn’t hear the whistle.

Gillane was out on his feet at that stage

What was the song at the end of the match after dreams yesterday lads? Main lyrics was something like ā€œso what ya gonna do?ā€.

David Fitzgerald also seemed to thunder into it around this point.

Bad boys bad boys, whatcha gonna do, whatcha gonna do when they Hego you

Hands like shovels

Probably part of the reason he’s so good in the air.

The funniest part about TK’s no free - if he hadn’t acted the fool at the end of the cork game after rubbing off TOM, then maybe he would’ve been given the free yesterday.

The boy who cried wolf

I’m very surprised it wasn’t given after the shit show off the pitch invasion.

You can be sure if there was a replay at stake it would have been a free.

It was unbelieveable, I was watching this closely throughout and he had Conlon at sixes and sevens. Conlon obviously still got on and cleared a fair bit of ball, but for a centre-back to be dealing with that kind of twisting and turning, on a day with the heat of yesterday, must have been hellish. Reidy didn’t let up for the 70 mins and the explosiveness of that movement didn’t wane either. Apart from that some of the ball he fed in was exquisite as well.

That ball in for the goal was perfection. One bounce perfectly into Gillane’s paw. He just popped it without looking too - unbelievable skill. There was a 10 minute period in 3rd quarter where the quality of ball in paired with how lethal Gillane was, it was Limerick at their imperious best.

On that note, Flanagan got a bit of stick over his performance but once again his movement to create space for Gillane was unreal again. It seems so easy but he is such an intelligent player

Flanagan is a unique player. His ability to make those selfless runs to create space for his team mates are very difficult to teach.

Waffle

It’s trained into the chap.

Don’t think so. There’s a process/system whether you like it or not. Its drilled into him. Gillane is the finisher and his job is to make space for him. Granted there’s the odd time where he’ll find himself in a better position but he"s the worker

Oh there’s system alright but he can identify space like very few players can. Never once does he get in the way and nearly always he times it to absolute perfection. He understands the role perfectly. I still think if we had him right in 2019 we’d have won the all Ireland.

If you watch back The 2018 games he was used a lot more to win balls and find players running from deep. A prime example being lynch goal v cork in the 2018 semi final.

You will go a long time trying to replace him.

ye are moving along well enough without Sean Finn and Cian Lynch! is anyone irreplaceable !?

My own view is that Nicky Quaid and Gillane are the two that Limerick would struggle most without

Hannon is the key link in the chain

What played would you compare to Flanagan past or present ? I just think he has a very unique set of qualities which improve Limerick so much.