Limerick GAA 2023-2024

A fit Peter Casey is worth 5/6 points directly/ indirectly.

I think you’re being harsh on Doon there tbh.

They started with 7 players who have been Limerick senior panellists under Kiely, they brought another one off the bench and were missing a 9th.

And of the remaining few, you have players who have captained Limerick at U-20 level and played 2/3 years at that grade as well as fellas touted as the most obvious fellas to be next in line for Limerick call-ups.

In terms of pedigree, they don’t have as many top, top stars (intercounty starters) as Na Piarsaigh but their depth is good.

Doon took two hammer-blow goals in the first half and still won. Deserving winners. The first win is the hardest.

NAP won the puckout battle I thought - wonder about the stats . Dow had a fine game.

@peddlerscross
Fuck Inagh kilnamona

Doon were favourites going into the game and the bookies normally don’t lie.

I haven’t watched the game yet but I gather we had problems containing English. And we scored feck all points.

So fair play to Doon and Brother Dormer. And all the other lads who worked hard for this.

One of the biggest misnomers about West Limerick is the “it’s mostly football country” myth. There are 23 clubs in the division - 10 of those are either solely or primarily hurling orientated. 2 more clubs concentrate equally on hurling & football.

https://x.com/craicoftheash/status/1850609913422070054?s=46&t=eZ5H4jRAS8CxCACHKd2FKw

Who was the 9th they were missing?

Donal Coughlan.

He didnt come on.

Yeah, he was the one who was missing. Would probably have been a starter if available.

Mike O Brien, why doesn’t he start?

You’ll have to ask Derek that :smiley:

Isn’t he not long back from a bad injury

Strange one. They’ll be all talk about drinking for the week but it is hard to beat momentum. They’ll give Ballygunner loads.

Doon might have more flair about them, but Nap are so consistently good at doing the basics - for example, against any other team Jack Ryan might have got away with not gathering a long ball in the first half. But Nap made him pay and seconds later Breen had it in the net. They are so good at punishing opposition mistakes. Nap are the ultimate functional team. Doon are obviously less consistent but more dashing - as can be seen in how they got to the final - they mixed the very good with the very ordinary and almost surrendered big leads on a couple of occasions.

That said, Doon were the better team today, their hunger really got them over the line.

Ballygunner will counteract the sweeper and use their own spare man a lot better than NaP did. Seanie involved there too, he’ll know those players inside out; they might even tag English with a man marker and they’ll definitely hold their shape better.

I’m sure Doon will give it a rattle but it’s a first ever county title, there’s a strain of madness there at the best of times, it’s a bank holiday weekend, it’s also mid-term for all the teachers on the panel (there’s a few and a few in school too)… against the best-organised team in the province who have had weeks to prepare.

I totally see your point but 4 lads well over 30 at the back, no serious match all year, i think they can be beaten.

Fuck the Munster club, disrepectful or not. The first ever county title in the history of your club. Thats everything every club ever dreams of.

Doon are experiencing this week what every club has ever dŕeamed of. Its everything everyone in that club has ever hoped for. Have the best week of your life with the people you’ve been there with for years. Turn up against Ballygunner and give it everything but dont sacrifice anything this week.

Enjoy the week as much as you can because it’s what everyone involved in hurling dreams for their own club. Anyone that says they’re wrong is delusional or isnt involved in a club.

Clown

Ronan Lynch cost me my internet prediction

Delighted for the neighbours over the road in Doon. Am sure it was a heavy night over there and will be for the week.

They’ve always produced a huge amount of talent with the Br.Dormer production line and supplemented by a couple from Oola & Ayle NS but this group have always seemed like a more likely bunch to stay at it into their late 20s/early 30s which is needed to win these tight games.

Adam English has been earmarked over there as the best of the whole lot and probably their most talented player ever and he has already backed it up in a red jersey. You’d imagine 2025 will be the year he explodes for limerick.

Mentally, it must have been very draining for their panel but with the exception of Dean Coleman who is in Oz, they’ve kept their core group together. Something, they may have struggled with previously.

On the game itself, I missed the two goals as I was transferring a little one from car to suitable pub but they were the better team by far in my opinion.
Dereks imprints we’re clear to see with the sweeper, the general deep ness of the team and their short passing/throwing. Doon are not the biggest of teams but have plenty of skill and mobility so it’s a style that suits them. To have subs like Mikey o brien coming in is necessary against the likes of NAP.

Lot of criticism for NAP here but it was always going to be a challenging campaign without Casey. Derek McGrath put it well that many of the Doon players were relatively fresh compared to WOD/Casey x2/Boylan, I think that mattered. Teej said it on the examiner podcast that they need to inherit a few more forwards and he was right.

The title is Doons and by god they will enjoy it.