Limerick GAA 2023 - League champions means nothing now 🐐

Hup the city division. @Aristotle might disagree with the spot being on the otherside of the parish

Do you think they gave us the wrong cup?
Looks the same to me.

That’s our jersey as determined by our founding father the late great Dublin stalwart Noel Drumgoole, there’s no ‘money’ new or otherwise it’s called hard work over the last 54 years which I’m proud to say I contributed to in a small way. When you come at my club expect something back.

22 Likes

Congrats to @habanerocat and @Bod95. Commiserations to @balbec. 2 best teams in the county going at it in county final, couldnt bate it with a shtick

I never heard that surname before is it Limerick

NaP have one of the nicest jerseys in the country. Takes something to make a jersey not too far off the rotten shade of Dublin work.

I’m only winding you up. Congrats on the win.

I’m looking forward to the Ballygunner match in 3 weeks. There’ll be skin and hair flying.

jaysus christ I haven’t seen a backtrack like this since the open top bus was reversed through Charleville after the semi final in '18. @Bod95 just kilt a man

No Iirc, Noel Drumgoole was a dub. Managed Limerick to the 1980 final. But my memory is scetchy so open to correction

I dunno what @peddlerscross is on about. 8k would be a savage attendance for Tipp county final. I agree with a lot he says, but feel sorry for how much the Rise of Limerick has mentally destroyed him.

In the last 11 years I’ve seen my club win 7 county titles 4 Munster club titles and an All Ireland title my old school winning Harty Cups and an All Ireland, my county winning 5 Munster titles 4 All Irelands, 2 League titles and a World Series what a time to be alive, I literally pinch myself every morning.

You’re leaving out one small detail.

There was 2 matches on in Pairc Ui Chaoimh yesterday. Same for the Cork Hurling Final two weeks ago.

I told ye the Kerry boys thought Fintan was useless

They could be going for 15 in a row in Limerick only they haven’t the stomach for it. 2 in a row is the most they have done and they have had the best team in Limerick the last 10 years

You’re giving it bick licks about the Cork county finala and attendances. Cork had two huge population centres playing, 2 traditional rivals facing each other in a final for the first time in years and in a county of half a millon people could only muster an attendance of 15,000. Pro rata, that’s a fairy shite attendance.

For context, the population of Limerick county is just shy of 200,000 and Tipperary is just over 160,000. Doesn’t make the Cork attendance all that impressive now, does it?

2 matches in Thurles both days too mate.

1.2 million people in Dublin and crowds are miniscule. 15,000 was impressive considering it was the worst day of the year.

In fairness, the crowds at Limerick club games have improved. They’d want to given the team they have.

They are still below most counties with the exception of Waterford whose dominance by Ballygunnar hasn’t helped.

The big variable in county finals is the participants. In Tipp, 2 northern teams means you get less general interest from the other 3 divisions.

In Limerick, NAP don’t command much of a following. If a Kildimo or NCW could break the ceiling it would draw a huge crowd.
Monaleen could rent a huge amount of yummy mummies for the day also.

What’s the combined population of Togher and Blackrock?

So the Tipp final and Cork final both had two matches and the blowhards are trying to have a pop off Limerick with a standalone attendance of 8059 :person_shrugging:t2: