Limerick GAA - All-Ireland senior hurling champions 2018

I doubt it’ll sell out - semi finals never do, really? Would be amazed if it did. A good few people up for the match the night before might tip along to it as neutrals I suppose.

18k was a piss poor crowd yesterday to be honest.

I think the opposition did not help. They just do not travel. If it was Tipperary at home or Cork there would have been 30,000 plus.

The quarter finals double headers for the most part used to hit around 35k.

Just shy of 29k over the weekend.

Cork has a population 3 times the size of Lk & 5 times the size of Clare .

70 plus easy

This was me for about twenty minutes after full time yesterday

I was hugging and dragging @Phil_Leotardo and his poor father all over the place for a minute or two –

twee moment of the day - there was a family next to us - father Wexford, mother Limerick and the kids all KK - they’ve been living in KK for 15 years… wasnt the mother crying at the full time whistle (@iron_mike will relate) and shur I had to give her a big hug.

Unreal.

Yes that was he. He couldn’t believe it. The other gentleman was from Adare. Had never met him before yesterday

What’s the story with tickets lads do they go up today?

I’ve got four tickets in the lower cusack stand just around the 45.

They’re not online yet anyway. Will surely go on sale today along with the Football tickets for this weekend

He’s a good lad. The Mulcahy’s are all sound.

Couldn’t be happier for that lad.

For a fella that looked almost done 18 months ago his revival is something else. Credit to himself and John kiely.

What a fucking day. When the goal went in I was thinking here we go again. But this Limerick team is different to previous versions. Never panic and within a few minutes we were back in front. I knew we had them then, we were not going to be beaten.

Quaid. A couple of stray puckouts but that’s the nature of the beast with the style we are trying to play. Generally found men in space every time and launched a few monsters down the field. A nice strategic injury when KK had got a bit of momentum too. Smart play. 8/10
Finn. They sent Reid into the FF line to try and exploit a weakness there. Finn bate him up a stick inside there and he was moved back out after about 15/20 mins. Then he seemed to be picking up Hogan for a while who had been flying out the park was sent in and he put him in his pocket as well. Absolutely unraleable inside there. The impact of his loss against Clare shouldn’t be underestimated. 2 or 3 very sloppy clearances the only blemish. 9/10
Casey. Thought he was under pressure initially, but when we came into the game elsewhere he started to completely dominate Fennelly. Kept goal chances to a minimum back there. 8/10
English. Excellent display, touch tight all day. Can seem to be making desperation tackles at times but seems to get away with it. 8/10
After a very ropey outing against Clare the fullback line were phenomenal yesterday. All three of the KK FF line were hooked. I’d say KK got about 1-3 off them in total including the subs, Hogan did most of his damage before going in on them.
Byrnes. Has reigned himself in to great effect, got one lovely score. Excellent in the air, but could perhaps be more involved in games. If the Dow isn’t on the field he should be taking the further out frees as Gillane hasn’t the range beyond about 70 yards. 7/10
Hannon. Hogan had him in trouble early doors, but once Reid went out he destroyed him. Awesome in the air and brilliant the last 10 minutes. A lovely point as well. 8/10
Morrissey. MOTM for me. Excellent in the air, and used possession very well. Lads are saying Leahy scored four off him after he came on, but I think the game was gone very scrappy then and fellas were popping up all over. Held his side of the field excellently and used the ball brilliantly. Couple of huge takes at the end with the game in the melting pot. 10/10
We must have one of the best HB lines in the country in the air. KK’s strategy of fucking the ball at their forwards and letting them win it was grand when they had the 6 best forwards in the country, but it’s a different story these days, played right into our hands.
Lynch. A fucking wizard. If the ball is on the ground and Lynch is nearby he somehow comes away with it. His vision for picking a pass is unreal, but he’s nearly gone too far the other way now and would like to see him be a bit more selfish at times. But what a fucking player 9/10
O’Donovan. Had a slow start, but really came into the game as it went on. 3 monster scores. Had probably given his all by the time he was hooked. 8/10
Maher got on a lot of ball in the first half and had us under pressure, think it was O’Donovan supposed to be picking him up? Anyway we got on top in the second half. Definitely our pairing going forward.
Hegarty. Nothing fancy about Hego, just pure size, speed and power. Shooting can be erratic at times but 3 points from play is good going for any half forward. Unlucky for a goal chance too. Once he builds up speed he’s hard to stop. Excellent in the air as well. 9/10
Hayes. An absolute machine. Would love to know how much ground he covers in a game. Back defending to catch ball right at the end as well. Hard to believe he’s still only a young fella. A real leader. 3 points as well. :clap: 9/10
Morrissey. Another phenomenal display again today. He’s really stepped it up this year. Limerick fans will still be talking about that point in 50 years. 10/10
Our half forward line is what has changed Limerick for the better this year. Three real ball winners in there now. A match for any half back line in the country when they are on form.
Flanagan. Was out in front and won a lot of ball. Does some great movement. But you need more than one point from your corner forward. Looks to pass too often, would like to see him taking on his man more as well. Confidence seems to have dipped as the year goes on. Hopefully he can get his mojo back. Left a goal behind him today. 7/10
Gillane. Did well at times, but doesn’t get out in front enough. He was being mauled inside by the KK back, but that’s standard at this level. Must have come out without his hurley 4 times in the first half alone. For me he could be doing more, but that’s probably harsh. You have to hit the fucking thing low when one on one with keeper. 7/10
Mulcahy. When I think of how we have wasted so many years of this mans hurling career fucking high ball in on top of him :sweat: Absolutely fucking lethal yesterday. Work rate was phenomenal and he absolutely skinned his man every chance he got. 10/10
FF line is a bit of a worry for me. That KK full back line were there to be cleaned but we didn’t really do it. Should have had goals (now Murphy was incredible), but we need to be more clinical. Slow to change it, but Casey put his hand up big time yesterday.
Casey. What a sub to have and what an impact he made. Hard to know whether off the bench is a better role for him at the moment, but I would be springing him sooner than we did. 8/10
Dowling. Great cameo from the Dow. Lovely score, setup one and made a great catch as well. Seems destined for a from the bench role this year. Great game changer to have in reserve. 8/10
O’Donoghue. Very involved when he came on, a couple of sloppy passes, but overall excellent work rate and came out with a few balls at a critical time. 7/10

Kiely was a bit slow with the subs I thought yesterday. You could see lads were tiring. All subs made a positive impact on introduction though, and overall he got yesterday spot on. 9/10

Fuck that “bonus territory” now attitude. We are well able for Cork. We don’t get chances like this that often. 07 & 13/14 we thought we’d be back again stronger only to fall apart afterwards. KK and Tipp are down at the minute but they’ll be back again. Strike while the iron is hot.

It’s amazing what good man management and an intelligent game plan will do for skillful players like Mul. Not aimlessly firing the ball in on top of him. When we do lump it in long it’s to the likes of Gillane & Flanagan who are physically strong enough to hold off their marker.

The way he stopped the sliotar, turned and scored his first point was brilliant.

Jaysus @Julio_Geordio.
Go away and lie down for a while. You have 2 weeks to the next game keep something in reserve

I’m nearly in tears reading that.

The Tickets for the Super 8s are online now. Assume the Hurling games will follow shortly

Always enjoy reading @Julio_Geordio ‘s comprehensive match reports after big championship victories. :clap::clap: