Limerick GAA - All-Ireland senior hurling champions 2018

Was Fitzgibbon not giving a bit back after hed gotten absolutely stretched with a late tackle? Or did the tackle happen after the goading

No. @maroonandwhite already gave a run down on the goading.

Christ. When I was working in Dublin, Iā€™d get home on a Friday evening. Shower and a shave. The mammy wouldnā€™t see me until the Sunday roast. Never a bother

Fixed

Thatā€™s modern parenting for you ā€¦@Matty_Hislop is tagging his kids with electronic trackers :rofl: - Imagine if the battery goes in one - he will have the state troopers out looking for his kid.

The poor woman probably saw your dirty laundry .

The key was to sneak home when you knew the folks were out or in bed and get changed and off againā€¦ Tho I do remember my mother dragging me out of a house when I was 17 - think it was a bank holiday Monday and I hadnt been seen since Fridayā€¦ Morto.

Thanks be to god. Some of them are awful simple, have you see this new fella from Tipp called @FatChops?

I was at a Junior B match last night, watched the full match & coverage when I got home, I still havenā€™t got a full nightā€™s sleep since Thursday. Iā€™m wrecked but jesus, it was class.

Quaid- I think heā€™s had a great year, people can be hypercritical but his puckouts were superb again and that save. That happened in stoppage time of an All-Ireland semi-final. What a man.

Finn- He is pure class. Mightnā€™t be overly flashy but he can completely nullify a forward. Is there a better corner-back in the country?

Casey- Was behind Horgan for the first two balls and I was worried but he was generally as safe as a house. Did his usual give a point away with a sloppy pass but in general very good.

English- I thought he was fantastic, probably his best game of the year and heā€™s had a good year. If I were to nitpick, I thought he should have closed the angle on Lehane a lot sooner for the goal. You couldnā€™t see it on TV but live, I felt he had to get across quicker. That is harsh though and it was a brilliant finish. He had a few superb interventions, one on Kingston on the touchline and he was quickest to react to Horgan hitting the upright.

Byrnes- Probably his worst game of Championship, but not poor. Still delivered plenty of good ball inside. Did throw a couple of shocking handpasses and hit a couple of bad wides. He didnā€™t deal with Kearney at all but I feel that was a management instruction for the wing-backs to sit.

Hannon- I thought he was good. Again, sloppy in possession a few times but he mopped up a lot of ball. And how many times did Cork run through the centre? Very few. The catch at the end when he literally couldnā€™t walk was heroic.

Morrissey- Again, his poorest game of the year and also couldnā€™t deal with Kearney, and was caught for the goal. But despite that, he delivered some good ball and it really is all about continuing to do the right thing even if it didnā€™t come off the time before.

DOD- This fella is immense. One of the best midfielders in the country, no doubt. Intelligent, all-action and a leader, he gave everything. Always in the right place to cover space, offering himself as a support player. Superb.

Lynch- Quiet by his own standards but still provided a few moments of genius. Youā€™d hardly want anyone else to receive that goal chance, I know he missed another but his most impressive aspect was his hooking, blocking & tackling, he worked so hard.

Hegarty- Kept us in it when we seemed to be lagging. He is a powerhouse, I love watching him run at defences. Then heā€™s got the fancy flicks and the outrageous scores too. The run & slipped handpass to Lynch for his second goal chance was class.

Hayes- I probably didnā€™t appreciate how good a game he had until I watched it back. His use of the ball is superb, he creates chances and his tackling is brilliant, he wins some amount of turnovers. And that score towards the end, real balls to take on the responsibility and just put it over. What a season heā€™s had.

Morrissey- Our brightest light up until now, he worked hard as ever but hit a few wides that youā€™d bank on him scoring. Set up one of Gillaneā€™s goal chances with a brilliant pass, and he did his job at dropping deep and picking up ball well all the same. Everyone is entitled to an off day Iā€™m sure heā€™ll be back flying for the final.

Gillane- He really is class. He had a point to prove against Cork and by God, did he deliver. He completely destroyed Spillane whoā€™s had a good year. Was it the perfect performance? No, he missed three goal chances and dropped his hurley a few other times but heā€™s slowly dangerous, he can create chances out of basically nothing. The one where he caught the ball over his head from a drilled Mulcahy pass & pivoted was just unreal. He must be one of the highest scorers from play in Championship.

Flanagan- He had a really good first half, his aerial ability combined with his work rate make him very formidable. The pass to Lynch was class, the work to set up Mulcahy when Cahalane was trying to let it run was really good too. His running is unreal. He didnā€™t have a good second half, he was fucked and Cahalane was tight. I thought it was interesting they moved him out to wing-forward when bringing Casey on rather than the straight swap. If he is going to run himself into the ground, we just need to time the substitution right.

Mulcahy- He was my man of the match, he is just class. His leadership, his scoretaking, he won a few frees. The one where he nipped in front of the Cork back to win the puckout and won the free was class. His ability to turn on a sixpence and his sidestep is such an asset.

Casey- No scores but serious hurling intelligence and decision making. Won a free or 2, found a couple of incisive passes at vital times, one to Dowling, one to Gillane to level it.

Dowling- Just brilliant. I think thatā€™s his position, centre-forward, directing affairs, finding pockets of space, driving onto ball, he just did everything brilliantly. Won the penalty and a free, set up a score for Gillane too; they just couldnā€™t handle him. And there was never any fear he was going to do anything except bury the penalty.

Pat Ryan- I just love his enthusiasm and his energy, he really is the ultimate impact sub. Imagine having to mark him after chasing Mulcahy around the place for an hour. Some lovely pieces of skill, some great running and what a cheeky finish for the goal. He is a goalscorer, and again, what an asset.

WOD- Came on late enough, in fairness DOD was one of the best players on the park. But Cork simply couldnā€™t deal with his athleticism in extra time. Again, heā€™s just a brilliant sub to have, the energy he can offer.

Hickey- I was slightly surprised he came on but he did well. I wouldnā€™t fancy him as a distributor in the half-back line but in the rough and tumble of Championship with plenty of physicality, he relishes that. Did well.

Nash- Should have been on earlier, Gillane was fucked but got his point. Again, what an option to have.

Reidy- Was that his Championship debut? Lovely score to clinch it. Itā€™s tough sitting on the bench all year but when turned to, he did his job. Delighted for him, heā€™s a sound skin.

David Reidy is one of the soundest skins on the panel and his been pulling up trees all season long in training games. He is a serious hurler when given the chance but is obviously behind the dow and the three starting half forwards now. It was indeed his championship debut for limerick he played a few games for kildare.

@Aristotle called it as far back as april about how to use the dow to full effect and that he was wasted/not suited to the 14 role.

I thought English got across fairly sharpish but havenā€™t seen it back. His best game this year.

We got 4 points from Peter Caseyā€¦ 2 passes for scores from play and two frees. Great option to bring on.

The inexperience in the ff line could cost us but the important part is the number of goal chances they are creating. If they can manage to put away a couple of them in the final it would be huge.

Thatā€™s a low blow mate, I canā€™t even get the fucking thing to work :rage:

Gillane has created goal chances for himself nobody else would have created. It is easy to say Peter Casey would finish them off but would he win the high ball like that and turn the defender inside out to create the chance? Iā€™m not so sure.

Nickie made Sports Illustrated :ronnyroar:

True. If we had Mulcahy feeding of a Gillane leap it could be profitable. Flanagan doesnā€™t seem to be a goal plundering ffā€¦ if he is then the final would be some game to announce it!

Creating the chances is the hard part.

When I saw Nickie making that interception/save I thought there was the makings of a great centre back there

https://soundcloud.com/radiosport/sunday-sport-commentary-limerick-win-ignites-dreams

I would have said that Mulcahy is generally a player who is happy to take his point. Heā€™ll go for goal if itā€™s definitely on but generally will tap it over.

Flanagan can create goal chances but we have him making most of his initial runs out the field to pull the full-back away. Is he a deadly finisher? Probably not.

Gillane is one who clearly wants to score goals, heā€™s a prolific goalscorer at lower levels- club & Fitzgibbon and is clearly going for goal for Limerick. Execution leaves a lot to be desired so far. Smashing it into the top corner like against Carlow might look great but itā€™s a lot more efficient to put it low along the ground. Iā€™m sure Kinnerk & Kiely will be saying it to him. If they could put a stop on Byrnes lashing the ball wide from a hundred metres surely they can get Gillane to shoot low.

Flanagan is just running lads ragged and getting free for the long ball and then has the presence of mind to find runners coming from deep. Just like for the lynch goal. Gillane is the fullforward for the vast majority of the time.