Limerick GAA - Box Office

It certainly is.

I’d say he’s a recently arrived Polish exchange student.

He’s one of the new hires in our Limerick GAA spambot department. Our mission is to keep Limerick GAA box office at all times.

Here’s what I’d pick for the cork game:

Quaid -no choice

English McCarthy Casey -English and Casey both have a bit to prove still, but they’re the front runners and this will be a good test for them against some in form forwards.

Hannon Hickey O’Mahony -if O’Mahony is fit. A day off and a bit of a think will do Byrnes no harm, he’s still first name on the team sheet for summer.

C. Lynch O’Donoghue -Lynch needs a run at midfield, especially since Browne is out, just edges out O’Donovan for me. WOD did enough to deserve another chance the last day. I’d like to see both O’Donovan and Dempsey come in as subs.

R Lynch Hayes Hegarty -We’re persisting with Hegarty. I’d like to see Hayes half forward as I’d prefer Dowling or Nash at full forward. Ronan Lynch has had little opportunity yet, needs a start.

Mulcahy Dowling Nash -Casey injured so Mulcahy is in. I’m probably on my own thinking full forward is a much better use of Dowling than wing, but anyway. Actually, Nash shouldn’t get a start yet give Tobin a run.

Ronan lynch hasn’t proved himself in training or in the runs he has got in the side so deserves a chance from the start. Great logic.

You still rate him after a few bad games in the fucking league? Jesus Christ lads this is an all time low.

I suppose you have the inside track on training? From who, the lad who hasn’t been there? Why was he brought on for 90 seconds the last day?

You earn your stripes. Ronan lynch has done nothing to suggest in training he deserves a chance. He’d a very average season last year and hasn’t stood out in any of his opportunities this year. Kiely is picking on training more than any limerick manager I can remember. It’s why Cahill, hayes, wod and Mike Casey have all gotten their chances.

Fennelly can barely run haha noted

A new low what society have I joined

Maybe you know more about training than me, but ya it’s a good basis to pick a team. God knows TJ didn’t pick on form anyway. I hate seeing lads brought on in injury time though, especially in a meaningless match. Either he’s good enough to give him a chance or don’t bring him on at all. Must have been a reason Kiely gave him a run. I said a long way back I expected mike Casey to start this year.

What are you on about you muppet.

The level of nastiness and rancor is really coming along nicely in this thread. Just in time for our season implosion at 4. pm on Sunday in Cark

Can see it being a mirror image of last year. Win a sticky quarter final away from home and then well beaten in the semi.

Cork are missing Lehane, Kingston and Kearney. Think we’ve a decent chance of turning them over personally.

You may be right. If Cork play like they did last year Hegarty could have a stormer and that in the long run will screw the rest of our year. If however we have to move him back to the half back line, introduce a couple of greyhounds at mid-field then we might salvage something from the league (even if we lose).

The Phatt Pike Median™ team J “W” Kiely & Co. have picked thus far between Munster League and National League is the following:

N Quaid
S Cahill, R McCarthy, M Casey
D Byrnes, D Hannon, S Hickey
J Fitzgibbon, J Ryan
G Hegarty, D Dempsey K Hayes
C Ryan, B Nash, G Mulcahy

The most comfortable man in that 15 by a distance is one Mr. Richard McCarthy, having started full-back in 8 of the 9 competition matches played. The notable absentee in defence is English, who is likely to dislodge the unfortunate Cahill (5 starts) at corner-back. Similarly, the half-back line has been fairly consistent, nonwithstanding recent concerns over D Byrnes’ escalating Mark Foley Syndrome, with Dan Morrissey and Gavin O’Mahoney the most likely deputies. In goals, Quaid is the front-runner, with Hennessy the clear second-choice amid a growing clamour from Limerick Fans on the INTERNET for a change between the posts.

Midfield up, it’s anyone’s guess. Captain fantastic James-Bob has started 7 games between midfield and half-forward, but outside of that none of long-term injury Paul Browne, Pat Simon, Darragh O’Donovan, nor Fitzgibbon the Biffo-Slayer have staked a strong claim. William “WOD” O’Donoghue is flavour of the month, but Cian Lynch was moved out to the middle of the park towards the end of the Galway game and astute observers of the game would be cian to see him start a game there.

Hegarty, Hayes, Mulcahy and David Dempsey have been the players Kiely has relied on in the forwards. Lots of rotation, no standout full-forward candidate, with Hayes, Nash and the 2 (two) Lynchs having started 2 (two) games each in the position. Limerick’s score-in-chief over the last decade, Shane Dowling has been played at wing-forward thus far - the common wisdom suggests you want your out-and-out scorers (Dowling, Casey, Mulcahy, David Dempsey) closest to goal and the battlers (Hayes, Nash, Hegarty, Malachy) further out, a balance I don’t feel we’ve achieved yet. They have looked good in patches when stick-passing the ball about, but predictably very ordinary when ball is being Byrnesed into them.

We can totally beat Cork; whereas I expected Galway to do us, I’d see Cork and ourselves as fairly evenly matched and I would disappointed given the names they are missing if we don’t get a result. I’d agree with a good chunk of that 15. For shits ‘n’ giggles:

B Hennessy
R English R McCarthy M Casey
S Hickey D Hannon G O’Mahoney
C Lynch W O’Donoghue
B Nash G Hegarty K Hayes
C Ryan S Dowling D Dempsey

That’s a top, top post.

Everyone else is having a go

N Quaid
R English R McCarthy M Casey
Byrnes G O’Mahoney/HannonG Hegarty