Limerick GAA - it's Box Office - Always Has Been, Always Will Be

Good question but I assume they read the tea leaves or were given some indication where they stood in the pecking order . .

Sad to see Jim Bob call it a day.

Not the most aesthetically pleasing hurler but a huge amount of drive and commitment always guaranteed from him. Another experienced head gone. We could be in for a rough year or two as the young lads find their feet at senior level. The team that’ll play Tipp next May will be dwarfed by them in terms of experience and sheer size.

Tough on him losing two intermediate club finals this year too. At least he got that Munster medal from 2013. Think he was MOTM the same day.

And he realised a lifelong ambition of millions by hitting Davy Fitz a dig.

Jimbob going wouldn’t come as a suprise, a lot of miles on the clock and there are a good few lads battling for spots in the middle of the park. I wouldn’t be surprised if Condon goes either. Would have felt GOM had a bit left to offer though.

Jimbob was at nottin hanging around there if he was going to do anything in his career it’s already done. Go back and give a bit back to the club for a few years

Jim Bob is no loss at this stage

No such thing.

Well in Gavins case he wasn’t getting a run last year and if you look where the strength is coming through it’s in the half back line etc. He was IMO harshly treated last year, but he hardly would expect it to improve this year with same management etc.

Agree

I reckon Gavin still had plenty to offer either as a starter or a sub. Not sure how unfair the treatment was, the half back line was well settled by the time he got back to fitness. He could have played his way in if he was there another season and he’d have been no bad option at half forward either. He was a leader on the team and had a lot to give. His statement was gracious.

Jim bob was a great servant and a warrior. He kept himself in serious condition. I couldn’t see him starting this year and he’s not an impact sub type player. No surprise to see him call it I think. I would be surprised in Condon is involved this year, I reckon there are a good few ahead of him for the full back líne and more for half back.

It would have been nice to see the lads stay on another year for experience etc. But hard to blame them not wanting to play a bit part role when they had been starters.

We lost to Kilkenny by three points and they were there for the taking. We were crying out for some experience that evening and Gavin wasn’t even used as a sub FFS. Jim Bob got a run from his clubmate though.

A trampish act from Ryan.

He was fortunate that Davy didn’t rub it in his nose after the game when Limerick capitulated that day.

Fair point. I said after the game he should have gotten Gavin on the field, needed a but of leadership and a cool head.

Seems like Pats will be without their captain on Sunday as he was put off in the Munster championship game last week

Muppet , if you cant be constructive don’t day anything.

These lads announcing their retirement is a bit ridiculous. Donal o Grady bowed out without any statement or anything like that. Proper order.

Am I wrong?

How do ye reckon Adare will get on today vs Nemo?

Handicap is 7 points

I was under impression that twas gonna be an awful day and gonna have a right cut at it but have held fire now.

Kilmallock down to 14 men in the junior replay trilogy.