If you want to be optimistic about it, we’re on or around where Cork were last year. On the pessimistic side, we have beaten the bulk of this Cork team at underage pretty regularly, so in theory we should be further down the road than them.
Riddle me that one
That wouldn’t be the same track record of failure in Cork pal
Cork were and still have the capability to be shit. To my mind what they have changed this year is gone from copying what everyone else has done to looking at their players and coming up with a plan that suits the players they have. Key to this is their puck out strategy where Lehane is their primary target. Nash is like a quarter back looking at his preferred receivers.
Their biggest area of concern is their defense and when a team manages to combat their puck outs then the real test of the team will come.
Cork are the bench mark for every teak fast big and work rate unreal
Fast - yes
Big - Not overly
Work Rate - Yes
Hard to beat tat
But ye will Joe
That’s the same Conor Murray who has won the grand total of one trophy - a Magners League - in his six or seven year career with Munster? Some of the Limerick players on the current squad have won a Munster senior medal and a club AI alone.
Murray has beaten New Zealand twice in friendlies in nine months, though. He could really galvanise them with insight like that alright.
Cork have a much better blend of youth and experience, bundles of pace and a pretty simple gameplan to try and utilise that speed in their half-forwards. They may be slightly riding their luck a bit so far in defence in that Tipp are a little one-paced up front and Waterford were misfiring but there is no doubt they have come on leaps and bounds in that area.
I would be a bit worried about Kiely’s ability to fix our problems up front. However there have been some bright moments (Hayes is a real find) and it must be remembered they are particularly young and light in the forwards. An injection of pace, size and experience, in say Downes, Hickey and/or Hannon, if we could spare him, would, be a boost.
Fuckin hell we’ve barely just figured out Hannon at 6 works well you must be joking to suggest we’d shove up in the forwards again??
Agreed - Hannon has to move back to the forwards - Let Colin Ryan/ Hayes slot in at 6.
Do you expect logical thought on this thread ?
NICKY TO 6
This is the hopeless optimism thread, I can dream…
If needs must, and resources allow, why not? There are probably around 10 half backs on the panel trying to fit into 3 positions.
Hannon will probably return to the half-back line next spring, but if we roll into summer and our solution to winning ball and getting scores up front is still sticking Hegarty under a puckout and depending on Nash to (finally) do something, I’d have an open mind to moving Hannon again.
Here’s the ball winner we need!!
Look at the contrast with the Galway players, Ive watched Galway twice in the GG this year and the contrast was stark between them and us.
We had 21/22 year old lads gasping for air halfway through the second half last Saturday night in Nowlan park when they should be bouncing off the ground after 8 months training.
Their conditioning isnt good enough…I blame O’Connor for that.
Yeah, Galway are a team of huge and well seasoned intercounty players and we have a team of young lads in their first season at senior level.
Agreed,
They’re far fitter too though. 21/22 year old Limerick players should be able for 75 minutes of championship hurling after training for 8 months.
O’Connor I’m sure is a good guy, but he isnt good enough if we want to move up a level next year.
This polish chap Lucasz seems to be good at this S&C lark . Tipp last year and Galway now .