Limerick GAA - it's Box Office - Always Has Been, Always Will Be

Just in the door after a few pinteens after the game.

A very strange game. The gulf in class became apparent fairly early on. Limerick decided the game was over 10 minutes before half time and didnā€™t overly exert themselves until Clare got within 5,at which point they decided to play a bit again and extend the lead out to 13 for a finish. Second Gear stuff.

Kyle Hayes had a fine game at 6, he cut off everything. Already mentioned above i think, but this lad is already the leader of this team at 19, much more so than some of the more vaunted lads. Superb catch travelling backwards reminiscent of the iconic Ken McGrath one v Cork few years back. He also put Jason McCarthy back into his box fairly quickly when McCarthy looked to stir things up a bit.

Thought Grimes, Joy and Fanning did OK too. Game seemed to bypass R Lynch a bit but he didnā€™t do anything wrong when on the ball or involved in the action. Finn, Morrissey, Casey and Barry Murphy similar performances, didnā€™t do anything wrong while never really fully getting into the game

McNamara is a class keeper, I love the disguise he puts on his puckouts, it keeps the opposition guessing until he actually strikes it, itā€™s only a small thing but it can buy the forward an extra second. Problem is this fella will end up in the US working due to his studies (talks of possibly working with NASA or some such) so I doubt weā€™ll get to hold onto him

Robbie Hanley is a great workhorse. He can hurl a bit too. I definitely think he can develop into a County Senior player, has the right attributes.

Colin Ryan is a class act. Heā€™s such a natural hurler. If we can nail down where his best spot is heā€™ll only get better and better. Going well in midfield and Iā€™d leave him there for the 21s

Gillane, the late bloomer of the group, is developing into a really lovely player. Gave an exhibition tonight. Should most certainly be in the mix with the Seniors next year.

Cian Lynch hurled well in patches but has now abandoned all inclinations to score unless itā€™s going on be a ā€˜highlight reelā€™ score. Still though, he must have set up 5 other scores directly. Some unreal catches too. He is what he is at this stage, I wouldnā€™t consider him a show pony because he does get stuck in and contributes by creating scores but Iā€™d just love to see him clock up 4 or 5 points regularly because he has more ability than he knows what to do with

Nashā€¦ this guy has a bit of a problemā€¦ he has allowed laziness seep into his play. He never used to be like that. A spell in the Half Forward line would do him the power of good, force him to work harder and involve himself in the play more

who will win tonight

Wrong thread there Joe. But Waterford will win.

Thought ALTC did alright when he came on last night. Paudie Ahern got a nice score too.

Boylan made a big impact. Good sign that thereā€™s a bit of depth

I just watched the first 20 minutes of the match again, Cian Lynch was absolutely top class during that time. Iā€™d say he had a hand in almost every score. Won a load of ball aswell.

Now pretty much everybody was brilliant in that time. Work rate of the forwards was super and Gillane obviously was the main man but Nash, Morrissey, Casey and Murphy were also doing really well. Movement off the ball, use of the ball when they did have it, running at their men, out in front and also turning backs over by hunting in packs. Just looked like a very good cohesive unit.

Probably didnā€™t realise it as much at the match but Malachy was top class in this period aswell. His use of the ball is fantastic (so was Lynchā€™s), practically every ball he hit went to a Limerick man. Hanley covered every blade of grass twice over in those 20 minutes, he prevented two certain scores with top class hooks.

The puck-outs were brilliant and the backs were all really good.

Only downsides during this period was the missed goal chances- Morrissey, Gillane & Casey. Sean Finn also got a really stupid yellow card for throwing the hurley. It must be one of the most pointless things to get a yellow card for.

I know it wasnā€™t all as good as that first 20, but that was some display in that time. If Lynch could play like that for 60 minutesā€¦

Ah buy ye were playing a poor awful team

True but it was still impressive. Work that hard and they have the skills to follow.

First 15 minutes from Limerick last night were outstanding.

To counteract that though, Clare were as poor at this age group as Iā€™ve seen them in a long time and we let them back into it.

Its great to have Cork at home though on the 26th in the finalā€¦it would be lovely to bate them.

Are the rumours true that Tagdh Kennelly has been at both limerick under 21 hurling games this year?

Why ?? Kyle Hayes and Malachy to the Swans :rugby_football::grimacing:?

First you brought us Buff now this?

Awful man.

My phone was nabbed by a jeolous adare man. No truth to it.

Watching the game back now from the other night.

First 20 mins were unreal.

Anyone head out to the 7s tournament out in Rathkeale? Couldnā€™t make it myself.

Newcastlewest beat Kildimo/Pallas in the final.

Heard Dan Joy had a bit of a torrid time at full back.

@balbec were missing a few like Graeme Mul.