A facile win today. Not near the amount of quality in the team as last year. Few players to come back in will make the team a much stronger proposition though, a Munster win definitely not beyond them. @Elvis_Brandenberg_Kr is spot on on Flanagan. Heās a weapon of a yoke to win ball and run at defences though, reckon half forward will be the line for him eventually.
Very interesting who would you play at 14?
John Carmody is the club manager too. Have no doubt his son starts!!
Not good enough for either team, but he starts!!
What was also evident yesterday was how well the lads on the senior panel looked yesterday. Flanagan, Murphy, O Laughlin, hayes have improved some amount in the past 18 months which is a great reflection on kielys set up. We must remember that the vast majority of those lads are in the middle of exams so itās understandable things were a bit disjointed at times. O Grady, McSweeney and Eoghan Mc are all heading abroad for the summer. Peter Casey wonāt be back till the middle of June at earliest.
West Limerick lads on here bigging up a few of their own that can run and catch a sliotar but struggle to strike the ball cleanly while running. I suppose thats what you get used to when thinking the West junior hurling championship is a great competition. Its facinating to watch (the discussion on here not the West JHC)
No one here thinks the West JHC is a good competition . They fucking know so.
I suppose it is in the same way you could get a good race between two - three legged(?) dogs. It might be competitive but stone fuckin useless
Seamus Flanagan will go bananas this Summer against the current Tipp,Clare and Cork FB lines,he is well worth a decent bet for Young hurler of the year at 9/1.
Take the the top 8 senior teams out of the equation and the gap between the rest down to junior isnāt that great at all . The game in the West has declined due to rural depopulation , Other sports and a lack of action from the County board .
Take the 10s with Boyles
Mullockers
Who are the top class commentary duo?
Barry is useless and Cadogan will also suit Flanagan, heāll be out in front of both of and win a rake of ball. McInerney I donāt know, he has the athleticism and hurling to be out in front of Flanagan. Flanagan at FF is not enough of a scoring threat for me, you want your full forward to be the player you expect to bury goal chances, or half chances. Flanagan is more of a provider for players around him, Iām not sure thatās enough for a full forward at this level. Obviously if heās cleaning out full backs and laying it off for others to convert the scores then thatās more than good enough, but not sure that will work every time.
In general, weāve been creating loads of chances but our score conversion rate is very poor. As other teams step it up for championship I donāt think weāre going to continue creating so many chances that we can afford to be hitting so many wides or leaving goal chances behind us.
Fellas going on about a lad not making use of himself while he scores 6 points from play. These Westies must be looking for lads to hurl shit out of cow sheds.
To be honest Flanagan is not clinical enough but he has enough raw attributes to be a good IC forward . He needs some decent coaching to bring up finishing levels . Whether that is in the current āticketā I am not sure .
Who would you play at 14?
I have never particularly noticed Flanaganās wrists are particularly slow. Now, Elvis could certainly be right, heās only played a handful of matches against top opposition.
But this fella scored 5 points from play against Galwayā¦ Maybe Galway were half-asleep but itās still impressive, I mean he looked deadly that day.
At minor level, I always thought he looked for the pass too much, a bit like Cian Lynch, and he has serious vision. But to be honest, that hasnāt been an issue this year for the seniors, heās generally backed himself.
Last night, he did pass too much and missed a couple of chances. He was playing quite deep for a good bit though.
I donāt know what think heās the finished product yet, but I havenāt seen a lack of clinical finishing really being an issue for him.
Tbh, I thought he was really good all-round last night, showed leadership aswell. Is he untouchable for the seniors? Definitely not, but heās in form and I think heāll have a good Championship.
I really like the look of him. Wouldnāt have picked him out before the year began but has made it to the first round of the championship a near certainty for one the full-forward line jerseys. Ideally youād want your primary goalscorer, a Gillane or a Dowling, closest to goal, but Flanagan is rangy, fast and has the requisite ābit of a cutā - plenty scope there to develop over the coming year or two. Reminds me a bit of Callanan to watch actually.