Limerick GAA, Still Getting Knocked Down

Is that the Ronan lynch that shat it when he was centre back for the minors two years ago and demanded to be played in the forwards?

I agree pal,if Lynch takes his chance he will take a jersey in the HB line.

Hickey is a talented player, and Iā€™m a huge fan of his but the question has to be asked does he deserve his spot. He was poor at corner-back last year and has been poor at half-back this year. Iā€™d have been a fan of moving him to wing-back tbh, just because of our lack of options there and he has physicality, aerial ability and a decent amount of hurling.

But he seems to be very sloppy recently and keeps falling over. I donā€™t knowā€¦ maybe dropping him would kick him onto better things? But we donā€™t really have options.

Gavin is a lovely hurler and a great servant but heā€™s never been a great defensive back. Heā€™s not that quick or strong and while his positional sense is good, heā€™s never been great at stopping someone running at him. I can see why heā€™s being tried elsewhere. If he picks up space at centre-forward, he can pick out passes and is a great striker of the ball, heā€™ll score if he gets the chance.

Iā€™d actually be a fan of him in the forwards tbh but is he one of our best 5 forwards? Probably not.

Is he one of our three best half-backs? Probably, but that says more about our options there than anything, I think. Iā€™m probably being harsh on Gavin and I hope he goes on to have a great year at wing-back, that would be the best thing to happen for Limerick but I do worry about that line.

No one on here said his miles off it, I personally think if he does make it this year itā€™ll be in the forwards as a sub.

I wouldnā€™t mind one bit being proved wrong though, but Iā€™d definitely have Gavin and D Byrnes ahead of him on that line. There is another position up for grabs imo but heā€™s got to get ahead of Hickey,Wayne Mac, Barry Oā€™Connell and Dan Morrissey whoā€™ve all played there so far this calender year.

Add Seanie Oā€™Brien into that group who for some reason hasnā€™t got any game time so far but is well able and has senior experience in that position.

What game did he ā€œshit itā€ in at centre back if you dont mind me asking??

Minor final against Kilkenny I think he means?

Ronan lynch is a very promising young hurler but heā€™d get absolutely savaged at this stage in an conventional intercounty half back line. Particularly ours given the weaknesses in it. Iā€™d have him in the mix for the half forward line simply because of his sensational free taking and side line cuts. Give him a chance at 6 for the 21s and see how he goes. You could set him back 5 years putting him in now. Heā€™s best form has been with ard scoil ris and nap in the Munster championship where his teams have been on paper, usually a far superior out fit to their opponents. His minor form at 6 has been average too which is probably a better indicator than club form.

If thats what he means it would be difficult for Lynch to ā€œshit itā€ in the half back line when he played as a forward that day. Where he himself wanted to play is irrelevant and was more down to weak management than anything else.

Fact is he is quite a good centre back/half back.

Yes, somebody did say he was way off it. Keep up.

He was half back/midfield all year and suddenly he was switched to corner forward. I wonder whyā€¦

Lynch wasnā€™t near the HB line last year on the 21 teamā€¦And thereā€™s a major jump from 21ā€™s to senior.

Cop on will you.

That is, pretty much, a spectacular amount of bollox.

Na P were ā€œfar superiorā€ to Thurles Sars on paper were they??? :joy::joy: And Kilmallock even?? ā€œFar Superiorā€ on paper. Fffs! :joy: What a load of wind!

His minor form at 6 was perfectly fine. To dismiss the Senior Club form makes no sense either.

You seem afraid to give any young fella their chance. It could ā€œset him back 5 yearsā€ :joy: You must have missed Clareā€™s All Ireland win, the resurgence of Waterford, etc. What the fuck are we waiting for??

Was that by choice of management or because he wasnt good enough???

Are you seriously telling me Lynch would not have made his place in the HB Line ahead of Oā€™Connell or Hegarty??

He was played in the forwards because we could afford to play him there. He is a far far superior player to both Oā€™Connell & Hegarty, in any position

Im fucking dumbfounded at some of these lads ffsā€¦we deserve nothing more in this county. Clueless.

Will you answer the Question. You said he ā€œshat itā€ at centre back at minor. Can you pinpoint the games please. Thanks.

Youā€™d have to ask Kiely that but we werenā€™t short of forward talent on paper at least last year imo.

As well as that, Byrnes, Oā€™Connell and Hegarty made all the difference in tight games against Clare in the MF and Galway in the SF last year.

They bullied those teams with their size and physicality and were unbelievable under the oppostions puckouts. None could be faulted.

Maybe Lynch would have been better, possibly he would have but the fact remains he wasnā€™t playing in that line at 21, so I donā€™t see how he could be ahead of Byrnes and Oā€™Connell at Senior.

Yes Nap were.

He was poor in the drawn munster final in 2014 and was moved to midfield for the rest of the campaign. He demanded to be played in the full forward line v kilkenny.
Clares half back line in 2013 were 19 year olds. They were very experienced. Austin Gleeson a far superior hurler to Ronan lynch in almost every aspect was given a year in the forwards by waterford. Even lynchs form at 6 for nap is patchy against outlart they left him as a free man and preceded to thump ball down on top off him for 20 minutes. He has the making of a good hurler donā€™t ruin him by putting him in early too early. One bad game and heā€™d limerick fans would be all over him.

You donā€™t want to ā€œruin himā€ by ā€œputting him in too earlyā€ but youā€™re happy to sit behind a printer and accuse of him demanding to be played in a different position and anonymously say he ā€œshat itā€ when he was 17 or so with nothing to back it up.

You are some fucking tosser.

Why was he moved from the half back line/midfield to corner forward after 3 years on the panel and had never once played there before an all ireland final?

Fuck off with yourself you wanker

The expected response. Either way it is completely irrelevant lynch is a very promising young hurler who needs developing, not being built into something he isnā€™t in a county renowned for ruining young lads careers. Lynch will be in the half back line for the 21s and will hopefully go well for them there too. Heā€™ll be almost certainly a sub for the seniors come championship unless an injury to dowling and is required to take frees. Arguably a better half forward than shane but it would be harsh to drop him from the team at the moment.