I thought the one thing we learned tonight is Byrnes needs serious direction at 6. heâs like a centre forward playing centre back. Heâs constantly ten - fifteen yards too far forward and is leaving Richie very exposed. He must have hit 4 wides from 80 yards again tonight which isnât great use of possession. Every time he breaks onto a ball you can here the crowd urging him forward too. Classic Limerick. Whack it long and hard.
Have the u-21âs much preparation put in for Wednesday night?
In fairness they put in a terrific effort against Cork last year. They were well in that game for long stages. OâDea was injured if I remember correctly and was a massive loss.
They had Hegarty and oâdonoghue in midfield last year. Would have won if they had a better set up at 1 & 3.
They have loads of senior experience this year.
Small bit from Cheddar on last nights game with a mention for Limerick for anyone who may possibly be interested, Or not.
No disrespect to Laois but given the score they put up, are things starting to come together or could you take anything from it?
You couldnât take anything from it. There was much more bite in the match versus Clare in the Munster league final.
The league - and possibly the whole year - revolves around next Sunday. If we somehow eek out a win youâd nearly classify the year as a success and have a good go the championship without too much pressure. Lose and itâs hard to see us raising a gallop in the summer.
English and Barry Nash have been the most impressive of the newcomers. Paul Browne has morphed into one of the most important players we have.
Wonât get a better chance to beat Clare on their own turf with their best player out injured.
Itâs kinda baffling how badly the wheels have came off. I was talking to one of the Clare lads after the ncw match and he said heâd never seen Limerick as bad, he must have played them twenty odd times at this stage and there was never much between them.
Yea agree there. It all boils down to next Sunday. I was just glad to get over Offaly to be honest
They dont look conditioned right. They dont look fit enough and lacking in the most basic of skills. Last night was barely believable it was so bad. The misses was begging me to go home because her toes were cold and i wouldnt blame her! Its hard to have a pop at the players or management im sure they are trying their all. This is a damning indictment of the Limerick county board total abandonment of football over the last 10 years. Im dont expect us to return to the days of putting it up to Cork and Kerry but jesus id expect us not to be getting destroyed by Clare and at least be competitive against tier counties. Imagine if we had to go to kerry in the Munster championship? The football championship is an embarrassment. The sooner someone grabs the bull by the horn and brings in a proper second tier competition the better. Give players from Limerick, leitrim et all something realistic to aim for.
A proper second tier competition and donât mind pricking around with eight teams in it. Sixteen from the bottom two divisions and teams would have something worthwhile and realistic to aim for, and youâd have enough involved that it would get the attention it deserves. I know lads that have burst their bollicks for years with Clare and at the end of it they wonder why the fuck they bothered.
Agreed promote the thing right. 4 groups of 4. Quarters, semis and the final on at 2 on all ireland sunday. What the fck have Limerick to aim for this year. There would be opposition to it at the beginning but eventually the merits would be seen. In 20 years time im sure someone like Gary Brennan would much rather look back on playing on all ireland sunday in croker as opposed to winning a few qualifiet matches in one year
It is happening already but soon most of the best players from counties in division three and four wonât bother making themselves available. The football championship will become even more of a closed shop. The elite becoming even more detached from the rest.
Let the top sixteen compete for the AI with the bottom sixteen competing in a separate competition. Two promoted and two relegated every year as some type of carrot.
Itâs so blindingly fucking obvious at this stage, counties of roughly equivalent size competing against each other, sure that would never work?
What a gent. Must have been extremely difficult to stay calm after witnessing that. . Backs up his players, no ranting and raving. Polite and reasoned
How the fuck did he get the job?
He was appointed to find a manager and couldnât so he took it himself
Dissapointed for Laois. I thought after a relatively successful season last year, yeâd kick on a bit
That was after 3 years of absolute flaking and commitment from the entire panel to try make up the distance from where they were. The shit they had to do was almost inhuman but all bought into it because of cheddar. It was a 3 year commitment from all and at the end John A, Joe Fitz, Brian Campion, Brian Stapleton, Conor Dunne (all starting backs), Tommy Fitz all retired, and none could be faulted for it after the service theyâd given in shit times (Teddy pisshead MacCarthy being just one asshole they got landed with) and then the 3 under Cheddar. They all took huge experience and needed replacing.
The Laois talent pool is shallow so itâs not like there were 25-30 year old club players waiting to walk onto the panel. Theyâre being replaced by chaps and these chaps are learning the hard way. They put up a great show against Clare last week (largely ignored when talking about this result oddly enough) but to do it again 6 days later was always going to be a struggle for such a young side. Itâs easy to dismiss it without knowing whats going on but Cheddar is doing great work, with what he has. The fruits, if there are to be any wont be seen for a decade imo, and that will depend on his work being carried on when he moves on this year. The players, young and old adore him, theyâd die for him as he would them. Weâd hoped these beatings were in the past but as the work goes on its fair to say one or two might slip in during the phases.
Of course this matters fuck all to most who read this thread but just addressing the post in question.
Laois are shit.
Know your place.
Coming from a Limerick football man, thatâs sage advice
Exactly. I know what Iâm talking about.