Looks like Ballysteenâs good start to the year has rattled a few lads
Easy rip the shirt off when itâs bursting at the seems already
That umpire could end up with more egg on his face before the evening is out. According to Pauric Lodge on Twitter, RTE have footage that shows Paul Browneâs goal to actually be wide.
Feck it, Iâll have to watch The Sunday Game nowâŚ
Man it was always a no win situation same for us
Did Brown get a goal that was actually wide?
Just saw it there. Wide asca fucking gate
It was wide. Thatâs an appalling decision, Westmeath mugged off there.
Where were the umpires from?
We mugged westmeath right off
Did I miss Limerick match on Sunday gaame?
You did. About 2 mins devoted to it
Paul Browne should be ashamed of himself to allow the green flag be waved as he watched it go a foot wide.
Fuck me thatâs a new low for Limerick hurling, and all to beat west fucking Meath.
Since when is it Paul Brownes job to play referee.
Hard to find positives after that.
Iâll start with the conditions - Iâd the umbrella up until the 60th minute, so thatâll give you an idea how wet it was out there.
Westmeath mishit a few line balls during a nervy start, resulting in nothing but divots flying. I thought the pitch was to blame but walking it afterwards Iâd suggest the surface wasnât the problem.
Few positives for Limerick. Downes was one. Dowling was the pick of the bunch, workrate seems to have improved this year. Hannon played typically loose when introduced. Tobin scored a peach of a point in the first half when we needed it (never thought Iâd be saying we needed a score) but was hauled off early for some reason. Browne was more industrious, not sure if he benefitted from the week or if the game simply suited him more. Linked well with jimbob on numerous occasions.
Gavin played loose again, allowed by dan morrissey coming on and quietening their danger man Murtagh.
Wayne brought much needed physicality on a day the ref left a lot go. Seanie had a decent outing in the corner, offers pace but we were still opened up far too often once they got in behind the half back line. (Their midfielder #8 was seriously quick)
Nickie varied puck outs to no avail, I reckon the half forwards won 2 cleanly.
Condon went off with a shoulder injury, hopefully not a collarbone.
Half forward and half back line sleepwalked through far too much of the game.
Ball came back out far too easily from the forwards.
Weâll know next weekend if the injection of youth is temporary or permanent.
Final word on the officials. Diabolical.
Thankfully they are showing the hurling first tonight on the sunday game so I can fuck off to bed.
Twas enough.
Not the point.
Common decency. Serious lack of it from Browne in that incident. Iâd say he is mortified and so he should be
How happy were you with the half back line?
Will we see morrissey there again?
Gavin and Paudie look jaded.
Im telling ye these lads are over trained. They are the exact same as tge Irish rugby team in 07. They are being fucking flogged and have lost interest.
To say Paul Browne should be ashamed of himself for not telling the ref to award the goal is one of the dumbest things I have ever read or heard.
Itâs the middle of a championship match, whatâs he supposed to do? âSorry ref, donât give that there. It was actually wide.â Ffs, he or any player would be slaughtered for doing that. If for argument sake he had pleaded with the ref not to give it weâd have to listen to talk like âwell you wouldnât see Kilkenny doing that, they are ruthless and Cody would never allow one of his players do that.â
Westmeath were given a ridiculous line ball at one stage today. 80 yards away I could see it was the wrong decision - were the Westmeath lads nearest meant to own up to that too? Aylward for Kilkenny took ten steps for Reidâs goal - should he inform the ref that it should be disallowed?
Christ thereâs enough things to moan about after that display but having a go at a lad for missing a chance and not owning up to it - going against 125 years of GAA tradition - is a new one.
Complete bollocks. Westmeath or no other team or player would do it at the other end if it was against us and Iâd have no issue with them for not being a goody two shoes.