Thanks pal, I find your support very validating. I think youāre correct on R Lynch, heāll come good but may not take to senior level as immediately as Cian. Expectations have been higher for longer and he has been shifted all about the place positionally with different things and even within games which canāt help his development. Wing forward would be a good bet to introduce him to senior. English, the full back, was good, might expect to see him corner back for the seniors next season. Pat Ryan was outstanding at midfield, good call by management to take him off at the end as he had worked himself to standstill. I had only seen him play in the forwards before but clearly his home is midfield. Wouldnāt have even been looking at him as one of the more likely senior prospects before last night. Two outstanding saves from the keeper.
I think itās fair to say weāll probably win a few u21 AIs with this group and they will go on to dominate at senior level for years to come.
Of the team last night, I thought English the most capable of the immediate step up.
Ryan was very good as well but needs a bit of work, nothing a good preseason & league wouldnāt take care of mind.
Glut of keepers at the minute but McCarthy put his hand up for consideration on last nights evidence.
Most interesting for me was Hegarty, raw as fuck and made some bad errors but a bit of moulding and coaching and he could be a fine addition in a year or two. Great hand on him.
Didnāt think Byrnes stood out as he should have and Ronan Lynch was poor as was Morrissey (Tipp fullback was brilliant tbf) so plenty to work on.
Few nice forwards but nothing to fix our ball winning problems.
Cian was good but he needs to be more dominant at this level if we are to do anything.
Played in bad conditions so hard to read too much into the striking etc. but they seemed reasonably well coached and had a good plan at the start, nice use of ball, running at the defence etc. The plan fell asunder as the game went on which is probably a reflection of how little time theyāve been together as a full panel, when the heat comes on you revert to form and aimless balls were the name of the game for a lot of the second half. Takes a good while to knock old habits out of lads.
Anyway great to make the final and win or lose the next day, Limerick hurling badly needed that.
Christ we had two of the stupidest fucking arseholes from Tipp behind us that day. Seeing as my uncle was stewarding the section I was in, I swear I nearly was going to go at them, knowing Iād be protected from harm, sneaky coward that I am.
Someone throw up that video of the Mayo lad going buck ape in Limerick last year for the laugh. Thereās a steward in the bottom corner of that video just watching on as if he was a spectator.
great performance by limerick & well desrved win. it wud have been a travesty if Tipp had got a draw so many of them were below par. limericks hurling was more direct while tipp even with an extra man were fiddle faddling around with the ball. at one stage i tought we wud get a hiding like kk got from wexford. weve got all were going to get from that team tho Breen & Maher are good ones. J Mcgrath will never be a senior hurler, ORiordan cud be if the the dual thing is settled. sport if funnyā¦Tipp people wud hav thought this team was the Munster banker & the minors least likelyā¦Well done to limerick, hope ye win the final