Limerick GAA - We get knocked down šŸ

sounds a bit like Hillsborough

Stop telling lies

[quote=ā€œAnto, post: 119224ā€]My father was at the Pallas match and it was Robert Oā€™Donnell of you guessed it Pallas that started the fight. He would be the son of the great James Oā€™Donnell ( You canā€™t beat Breeding). Some Claughaun lad went up to shake his hand and he punched him in the face.
The gateā€™s were locked as supporters were trying to get into to the field, your usual suspects, McMahonā€™s, Gammellā€™s, Cosgraveā€™s etc. There was no one seriously hurt which is a good thing and Pallas won the fight for anyone interested.
Those sceneā€™s bring me back to the good old days when I was playing. I remember playing Galbally in an U 16 Hurling match in Knocklong, when all hell broke loose. It was a free for all with supporters getting involved. The match was abandoned and it was played again in Hospital with only 3 officials from each side allowed into the field. I remember chasing Ballysteen onto a bus in Pallas. I think it was a minor football match and all hell broke loose again.
The best one was against Ballybrown in a under 16 football match down in Crecora. There was a few scuffles during the match, but nothing major, we were all walking off the field when that cunt Terrence Kenny hit our full forward with an umbrella, by god was he sorry. He got hammered, I remember a women and her son getting hit as well. The brawl went on for a good ten minutes, it was mayhem. We met them in the County final later on in the year in Caherconlish. Iā€™d say a crowd of around 2,000 turned up for it.
Those were great days.[/quote]
Pop into the Lance Armstrong thread like a good man.

I would be well proud too :rolleyes:

If you are a memeber of the Limerick county board could you please introduce yourself and let us know if you personally know any of us who post here.

-thanks

I see Oola beat Kierans in the premier 21ā€™s on Friday night, 3-8 to 2-10.

Thatā€™s a bizarre result. That same Oola team were beaten by Ballysteen in the minor B county final 3 years ago. Last year they gave a walkover in the U/21 county semi final. Now they are beating established teams in the 21ā€™s premier?? Whatā€™s the story there? Where are they getting the players?

Are you sure the Galbally game wasnt minor in 1995. Mass brawl and County Board ā€˜lostā€™ video of match. The man who recorded it is a cousin of mine and he claimed he never kept a copy.

Not lies Runt, that happened.

You could well be right, The Garda were looking for the video, but it suddenly disappeared.

[quote=ā€œAnto, post: 119233ā€]

You could well be right, The Garda were looking for the video, but it suddenly disappeared.[/quote]
When you get the chance can you pop into the Lance Armstrong thread. Good lad.

It was probably as well off it went missing. I never ever saw a row anything like it before or after. We were bate by a point and the referee only played 21 minutes in the second half. There was holy murder that night.

Twas Edmund Fraher a man with a lot of Galbally blood and John Hanrahan who got tangled and started the row that night. The next thing the whole lot just took off into a life of its own. The gate on the far side of Knocklong was open and all I remember was lads in biker leather jackers coming in and leathering all before them. From what I can gather at the time, they werent even Pallas supporters, but they came on to watch some cousin of theirs in the game and came into the field and got stuck in. I remember one of our lads Danny Noonan was only 15 and he was giving it socks to a couple of adults that came in to put manners on him, but he ended up putting manners on them. John Kiely the present Limerick selector was training us and he was pinned up against the wire by a few of them. One incident was going to law allright, and I suspect thats why the video vanished.

It would be great to watch it now, to look back on it. Would make a mighty Youtube video.

Did you throw erra a flake into anyone yourself SLR? :strokechin:

What are you insinuating here Runt?

EPO.

But seriously, just curious as to the reasoning for the turn around.

Better management team or coach?

The turnout for the Oola football team would be dependent on the availability of the Doon hurlers. Now that all the hurling is over I assume they had a full crew. Theyā€™d be fit enough from the hurling and with a few weeks of football training theyā€™d be fully up to speed.

No, Iā€™m not accepting that.
They gave a walkover in the county u/21 semi final last year in November when there would have been no hurling.

[quote=ā€œThe Runt, post: 119241ā€]

No, Iā€™m not accepting that.
They gave a walkover in the county u/21 semi final last year in November when there would have been no hurling.[/quote]

It is a well known fact that a decent hurler underage in Limerick can turn up for a football match and be better thanany ā€˜specialistā€™ football player.

Hurlers havenā€™t the brain to play football. Hurling is a game of just hitting the sliotar up the field as hard as you can and everyone cheering and grunting regardless if where it lands.

I see a couple of idiots on this thing again slating pallas.Those names from pallas that were mentioned had very little to do with the row.To be honest it was a hand bag fight and this thing about breaking down the gates was a load of shite.The ones at the gate would nt bate their way out of a paper bag.If ye could look at it correctly it was visible that the trouble was a result of a very bad referring display .A display that gave claughaun a free to level the game that was a perfectly good tackle.I suppose a few wake yokes looking on might thought it was a brawl.