Limerick GAA - We get knocked down 🐐

[quote=“Appendage”]
Certainly there’s no need to interfere with hurling.[/quote]

I wouldn’t say that but hurling and football are two completely different games and trying to apply the same/similar rules to the two games is a joke and hen it comes down to it both games will end up suffering…

Ah sure if they do press persist with these rules, we’ll get your lads to organise a nationwide strike.

[quote=“Appendage”]Are the zonal defence and lack of punishment of bad tackiling/fouling not the obvious issues with football? The tackle is clearly defined in the rule book but if a ref starts laying down the rules as they are even there is outrage.

Obvioulsy the Cork lads are generally above the rules and even if they get caught Frankeeeeee can find a loop hole.

Certainly there’s no need to interfere with hurling.[/quote]

The tackle is a problem, but its certainly not clearly defined in the rules, which i doubt you have ever read.
There is fuck all anyone can do about zonal defense, thats tactical and i think Kerry have already come up with one way of counter acting it.

On that note, heard on the grapevine that some of Corks more senior players have thrown the towel in, as in they are retiring.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]The tackle is a problem, but its certainly not clearly defined in the rules, which i doubt you have ever read.
QUOTE]

I did actually. To be fair though its not the most up to date version.

Doesn’t include kicking tees etc.

On the RTE news it looks like they’ll be having a bit of a spotlight on the new rules. Seems like they have one of the refs mic’d up, so might be interesting to watch.

good riddance and don’t let the door hit ye on the way out

Fair play to them for standing up for what they believe in. A great bunch of players who achieved way more as a collective than what one would expect from their natural talents.

The Cork Co Board should hang their heads in shame.

[quote=“Appendage”]Fair play to them for standing up for what they believe in. A great bunch of players who achieved way more as a collective than what one would expect from their natural talents.

The Cork Co Board should hang their heads in shame.[/quote]

and what exactly is it they believed in this year ? or last year ?

they were right back in 02 but they’d no business getting involved last year and they were absolute spoilt cunts the way they behaved this year

no-one has a divine right to a jersey

On now

Thought he showed up quite well. Did a good job reffing today from what I saw as well.

Was pretty staged to be honest, he seemed very aware of the spotlight. In fairness he seemed to use common sense and explained things to the players, something sadly lacking from the majority of power tripping referees.

Ya, he’d def be one of the better refs anyways.

[quote=“artfoley”]and what exactly is it they believed in this year ? or last year ?

they were right back in 02 but they’d no business getting involved last year and they were absolute spoilt cunts the way they behaved this year

no-one has a divine right to a jersey[/quote]

Not getting into it on the Limerick thread now art, but its not a black and white situation, believe me. I agree the players have delt with it badly, but ultimately the CCB are the ones who created all of this.

Big set back for the Limerick footballers with the news that Stephen Kelly will miss the Tipperary game and possibly the entire championship after having to get an operation on a thumb injury he received playing fooking rugby for Shannon at the weekend.

Kelly while headless at times is a great man to drive the Limerick team forward and was excellent in the 2nd half against Cork last year where he battered the half back line. He’s not easily replaceable.

The news people on here have been anxiously waiting for has been revealed with the naming of Limerick football team for Sunday. A few surprises in it and Mickey Ned seems to have gone for a big powerful forward line. I would be surprised if they lined out as below:

Limerick [SF v Tipperary]: S Kiely, S Gallagher, J McCarthy, M O’Riordan, P Browne, S Lavin, P Ranahan, J O’Donovan, J Galvin, S Lucey, Ian Ryan, S Buckley (Capt), C Joyce-Power, J Stokes, G Collins

Fancy your chances runty? I’m debating which way to go on this game on the ol facetheball.

Confident MBB. I reckon it will be close, but the mood I’m getting from the Limerick camp is very positive. Granted Tipp have had a very good year so far (at all levels) and Limericks has been pretty dismal, but I really think this Limerick team have the ability to go very close to a Munster title this year.

The league losses were all only by 1 or 2 points and Tipp beat them with a late goal. The team Limerick have gone for is very big and strong and I think we have nice mix of pace and power in the forwards. Our midfield must have one of the biggest combined heights in the country and our defence is usually rock solid.

I reckon Limerick by 2*

*This is all through green tinted glasses and Tipp have every right to be favourites for this but I just feel Limerick haven’t produced even near what they are capable of so far this year.

[quote=“The Runt”]Confident MBB. I reckon it will be close, but the mood I’m getting from the Limerick camp is very positive. Granted Tipp have had a very good year so far (at all levels) and Limericks has been pretty dismal, but I really think this Limerick team have the ability to go very close to a Munster title this year.

The league losses were all only by 1 or 2 points and Tipp beat them with a late goal. The team Limerick have gone for is very big and strong and I think we have nice mix of pace and power in the forwards. Our midfield must have one of the biggest combined heights in the country and our defence is usually rock solid.

I reckon Limerick by 2*

*This is all through green tinted glasses and Tipp have every right to be favourites for this but I just feel Limerick haven’t produced even near what they are capable of so far this year.[/QUOTE]

where’s the pace runty?

Actually I don’t know why I have pace in there. It definitely wasn’t the word i looking for. I suppose guile would be better word! Collins, Buckley and Ryan should be tricky enough to work off the other big men. Would love to have seen Kelly in their though gathering the loose ball and tearing at them.