Fair fucks to Limerick for beating Meath - a county I never liked. Seemed like a very weird game with Limerick leading 4-12 to 0-3 and then Meath scoring four goals in a row. Would definitely fancy Limerick against Kildare nowâŚ
It was a great sight to see Meath fans leaving the Gaelic grounds 10 minutes into the 2nd half. In fairness though, their fans werenât a bad bunch and while obviously pissed off at their sides dire performance, most were gracious enough to let us have our moment in the sun and were full of praise for the Limerick team.
Good on Limerick. great feicin result beating Meath out the gate. After getting a sweet draw, youâd have to be favorites to beat Kildare. As pikeman said getting to the quarterfinals should be a realistic goal. Best of luck to ye anyway
The intermediates are bringing a bit of pride back into the jersey after beating our dear neighbours in the munster final. 38 year old Ciaran Carey may finally get an all-ireland medal.
And so it all begins for another year.
Made the trip back to the lovely new pitch in Foynes this afternoon to watch Limerick play U.L. in the first round of the McGrath Cup. The match was played in perfect conditions, but Limerick, as to be expected, were much more rusty than UL. They went down on a scoreline of 1-8 to 1-6.
Limerick went into an early lead when Maurice Carrig goaled and a point followed quickly, but they wasted a number of chances after that and allowed UL back into the game. UL are only a few weeks away from the Sigerson so they were flying fit and kicked some great scores.
Gerry Collins and a couple of pointed frees from Andrew Lane and two good scores from Maurice Carrig kept Limerick in touch, but they could never get there noses in front, and UL pulled away in the final few minutes for what was a deserved win.
Also the new rules would seem to be a bit of a joke. Limerick had Shane Gallagher and then his replacement Conor Mullane sent to the line while UL also has a couple of players sent to the line for relatively minor indiscretions. I think these rules are going to be used in the National league as well, which I think will lead to all sorts of confusion and players being afraid to make a challenge. Only time will tell I suppose.
I see the hurlers lost to UL alsoâŚ
[quote=âThe Runtâ]And so it all begins for another year.
Made the trip back to the lovely new pitch in Foynes this afternoon to watch Limerick play U.L. in the first round of the McGrath Cup. The match was played in perfect conditions, but Limerick, as to be expected, were much more rusty than UL. They went down on a scoreline of 1-8 to 1-6.
Limerick went into an early lead when Maurice Carrig goaled and a point followed quickly, but they wasted a number of chances after that and allowed UL back into the game. UL are only a few weeks away from the Sigerson so they were flying fit and kicked some great scores.
Gerry Collins and a couple of pointed frees from Andrew Lane and two good scores from Maurice Carrig kept Limerick in touch, but they could never get there noses in front, and UL pulled away in the final few minutes for what was a deserved win.
Also the new rules would seem to be a bit of a joke. Limerick had Shane Gallagher and then his replacement Conor Mullane sent to the line while UL also has a couple of players sent to the line for relatively minor indiscretions. I think these rules are going to be used in the National league as well, which I think will lead to all sorts of confusion and players being afraid to make a challenge. Only time will tell I suppose.[/quote]
I donât know if there was any discussion on this at the time they were announced but those ânewâ rules re sending off for a yellow are ridiculous. There will be anarchy in the League.
The idiots that brought them in seem to forget that it was tried a few years ago (2005 I think) and was deemed a complete failure.
Players were getting sent off left right and centre for stupid things and games were becoming facical.
And why hurling and football must have the same rules also baffles a simpleton like me, surely they are different games?
The old rules are actually ok, if they were applied correctly i.e. 3 personal fouls and youâre off, things would be fine. Instead theyâre not and the GGA have resorted to cunning plan created by Baldrick. Clowns one and all.
The above shows that you really know fuck all about GAA. They didnât try this yellow card thing 3 years ago, they tried a sin bin, and the âidiotsâ as you call them made the mistake of listening to the managers too much at the time.
They have to try something as cynical play needs to stopped, hopefully without letting it get too much like basketball.
I saw it in action today and its the refâs who need to get it right more than anyone.
I believe they backed down on the sin bin due to pressure from the likes of Joe Kernan and Mickey Harte who said it was unfair on the style of football played by northern teamsâŚ
I donât see the point in these new rules, a waste of time to be honest, wouldnât the GAA be better off trying to get refs to apply the rules consistently and sorting out the disciplinary/appeals systemâŚ
I think it will work well if approached correctly. Eddie Burke of Cork went off today for a ridiculously bad decision from the ref, was barely a free. The refâs have to be 100% that it is warrented. I felt today the ref was dying to try it out. The 2nd yellow card was a perfect response to what would in soccer be a professional foul, a falling Alan Oâ Connor hand tripped Paul Kerrigan going through for goal, fair enough i think, it wouldnât be a straight red, but it was cynical.
The ref was Mangan from Kerry, and heâs brutal, i think the top referees will get it right, hopefully.
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]The above shows that you really know fuck all about GAA. They didnât try this yellow card thing 3 years ago, they tried a sin bin, and the âidiotsâ as you call them made the mistake of listening to the managers too much at the time.
They have to try something as cynical play needs to stopped, hopefully without letting it get too much like basketball.
I saw it in action today and its the refâs who need to get it right more than anyone.[/quote]
[quote=âcaoimhaoinâ]The above shows that you really know fuck all about GAA. They didnât try this yellow card thing 3 years ago, they tried a sin bin, and the âidiotsâ as you call them made the mistake of listening to the managers too much at the time.
I saw it in action today and its the refâs who need to get it right more than anyone.[/quote]
Thereâs not a hope of the current system working anyways. If the player in question was sin binned for 10mins or something then [SIZE=â2â][SIZE=â1â]maybe[/SIZE][/SIZE].
It ridiculous to think that a player can make a mis judged tackle and his game be over after 5 minutes. It gives the ref very little room to use his discretion. I agree with Appendage that the current set of rules are pretty good and itâs the enforcement of them that needed to be looked at, not the rules themselves.
If for some crazy reason they decide these rules are good and they want to keep them, what happened then? Does it just apply to senior intercounty games? The rules would be totally unworkable at club level. Clubs are having enough trouble getting 15 lads out on the pitch let alone having 5 subs to replace lads who have been booked.
[quote=âThe Pukeâ]
I donât see the point in these new rules, a waste of time to be honest, wouldnât the GAA be better off trying to get refs to apply the rules consistently and sorting out the disciplinary/appeals systemâŚ[/quote]
I think that is what appendage was trying to say and ye are both right, these new rule changes will end in disaster
Maybe I know fuck all, the sin bin was the same basic principle but it was a joke.
They are idiots. Why not actually apply the rules as the are?
Also I think the rules can only be changed once every 5 years, or is it 10 - not sure coz I know fuck all.
It makes no odds anyway lads as this yellow card rule will be scrapped come May when the league is overâŚ
[quote=âAppendageâ]Maybe I know fuck all, the sin bin was the same basic principle but it was a joke.
They are idiots. Why not actually apply the rules as the are?
Also I think the rules can only be changed once every 5 years, or is it 10 - not sure coz I know fuck all.[/quote]
Go way Appendage, you know fuck all!
Holy shit Iâm almost in total agreeement with the puke on a topic. Does that make him sound or me an idiot?
The general discipline hearings system is a farce of the highest order.
There appears to be fuck all honour amongst many of the GGA members though.
I really admired Mullane in 04 for 2 things
-
Lashing out at the Cork cunt that was harrassing him
-
Taking his punishment like a man.
That lad that hit the head butt in the Ulster Club football champo should have a bit more cop on and do his time.
Coming from a Clare man who supports limerick:pâŚ
Iâm not so sure Puke, a Senior panel member told me today that Cork had a meeting about it recently and that unless its a total and utter disaster that Croke Park want to do something drastic this year with football, rightly or wrongly. Both the outgoing and incoming Presidents are backing it all the way. Who knows, but iâd give it a chance at least first.
[quote=âAppendageâ]Holy shit Iâm almost in total agreeement with the puke on a topic. Does that make him sound or me an idiot?
The general discipline hearings system is a farce of the highest order.
There appears to be fuck all honour amongst many of the GGA members though.
I really admired Mullane in 04 for 2 things
-
Lashing out at the Cork cunt that was harrassing him
-
Taking his punishment like a man.
That lad that hit the head butt in the Ulster Club football champo should have a bit more cop on and do his time.[/quote]
Yes your an idiot and he is sound.
You are right about one thing though, not enough GAA people take their punishment, the amount of appeals is stupid.
Are the zonal defence and lack of punishment of bad tackiling/fouling not the obvious issues with football? The tackle is clearly defined in the rule book but if a ref starts laying down the rules as they are even there is outrage.
Obvioulsy the Cork lads are generally above the rules and even if they get caught Frankeeeeee can find a loop hole.
Certainly thereâs no need to interfere with hurling.