Who is this Leo lad? Awful.
Leo OāConnor, manager of the U21s in 2011. Very fond of the ould tictacs tonight.
0-19 - 1-12 about 10 mins left.
Mark Dolan is overage next year lad. :rolleyes:
0-23 to 1-15
Lovely stuff.
I couldnāt go cause it was raining.
0-23 to 2-15, squeaky bum time, as Leo himself would say.
Last minute close-in free saved. High drama.
Itās over. We did it.
Few extra tickets for July 13th secured.
Up Limerick
Cork are finished.
Congratulations to Limerick on their win and i hope they win the all ireland.I should also acknowledge Eamon Cregans role in this!We tried our best i have no issues with this years management team but it wasnāt enough.Hopefully weāll bring a fair few players through to the seniors but the Green men beaten us at u21 in 2011 and now they have beaten us in the minors.Someone tell our county board that itās not 1978 anymore.
Looks like Iāve beaten @dodgy-keeper back from the Gaelic Grounds!
A potential banana-skin avoided as Cork were eventually despatched by a below-par Limerick on a score of 0-23 to 2-15. Good win considering that a lot of big names underperformed. Cian Lynch and Barry Nash were struggling and Ronan Lynch was in serious bother all evening. Robbie Hanley steadied things when introduced at midfield and Tom Morrissey was majestic in attack. Seamus Flanagan was much improved from his outing against Tipp but full-back continues to be a problem with Paddy OāLoughin unconvincing.
There was a worrying injury to the Cork corner back (Shane OāBrien, I think) when he appeared to suffer some kind of collapse after a Morrissey point. Play was held up for nearly 9 minutes as he was removed on a stretcher. I hope heās ok.
The referee, by the way, was woeful I thought. Blew Morrissey back for a free when he was clean through on goal and missed a blatant (an injuring) frontal charge on Sean Finn. He looked like a bit less feeding wouldnāt do him any harm.
Anyway, job done. On to Cork on the double for the double double!
Just back from the Gaelic Grounds.
Delighted with that win.
Limerick 0-23 Cork 2-15
9 minutes injury time in the first half after the Cork corner back was stretchered off early on following a lengthy delay (hope the lad is alright). A minute later another Cork player was carried off. Obviously it broke the momentum and the first half was scrappy enough. Cork number 10 was causing problems at full forward and a goal had them four points up before Limerick finally found their stride, getting the last four scores of the half. Level at the break.
The game was won in the 10 minutes after half time. Fired over 5 quick points, swamped them. Cork scored a point from a monster free before they were awarded a penalty. Brilliant block on the line before Limerick went straight down the other end to tap over a point which galvanised the home support among the attendance of 4,284. It was a four point swing.
It was pretty much point for point until the end. Just as the two minutes of injury time was announced Cork grabbed a goal to cut the gap to two. From the next attack they broke through and won a free just outside the 21 and to the right of the posts (it turned out to be a good professional foul by Ronan Lynch). Limerick 'keeper Eoghan McNamara, impressive throughout, made a tremendous block and diverted it out for a 65. The 65 dropped in short, Limerick scrambled it clear and the ref blew for full time. Would have been absolutely sickening and gut wrenching to lose it after having a slight edge for most of the second half.
That was a very decent Cork team, would expect a few of that team to go on and do well at u-21 and senior. For our lads Tom Morrissey was sensational at full forward and was probably the difference between the sides. 0-05 from play. All the forwards chipped in, Colin Ryan also impressive. Ronan Lynch landed a few vital frees. Limerick subs also made a positive impression, Kilmallockās Robbie Hanley worked hard and scored a vital point. Ed Doyle offered physicality when introduced, delighted for the lad after he was hauled off early on against Tipp.
On we march to another minor final. Plenty to work on, still conceding far too many goal chances. Doubt that Waterford will spurn them. Great win all the same, third win over Cork at minor in four years. Weāve never won back-to-back Munster minor titles, just relieved to get through tonight. Would have been a proper mugging off if they had scored a match winning goal with the last puck of the game.
In an ironic twist of fate the Anthony Nash rule came back to bite Cork on the arse as they couldnāt steal a few yards from both the penalty and 21.
Seen Bob Ryan and Christy Cooney on the pitch after the match, faces like thunder. Greater ticket allocation for Sunday fortnight secured. Job done.
Get used to it.
If i was a betting man iād bet that the Cork ladās will end up with a few more senior all ireland medals than the Limerick ladās.As i was told before by a veteran player in the dressing room before i made my debut ye little upstarts won the boys stuff but can ye win the mens stuff and we did.
Cork are our bitch at minor level. And once we take ye in the senior we will confirm it at that level as well.
We shall see.
Limerick never feared Cork.
Especially those living near the border.