Limerick GAA - We get knocked down 🐐

[QUOTE=“Bean, post: 1107389, member: 301”]Any old gombeen would make your 21s ffs-

Limerick are back to being the whipping boys again- What a joke of a county, stuffed at home to one of the worst outfits in hurling history- What did Ger Lough RIP say about their arses again last year?.. must have been important if he said it from beyond the grave.[/QUOTE]

These Limerick hurlers have been in the past 2 Munster finals and the past 2 All Ireland hurling semi finals.

This really indicates how poor quality hurling is at the moment.

However, perhaps it is true that Limerick selectors are just using the league as a training exercise and to experiment with different players in different positions. If this is the case, as it is becoming increasingly likely it is the case, then the championship may go better than we currently think will be the case.

It is still important that we make a league quarter final or semi final.

[QUOTE=“ProjectX, post: 1107482, member: 1742”]then the championship may go better than we currently think will be the case.

.[/QUOTE]

Personally I’m of the opinion that we’ll win the thing…are you not?

I was until we lost at home to Offaly at the weekend :slight_smile:

Limerick may be one of those teams that get pulled down to the level of the opposition and rise to the level of the opposition.

Sometimes it is hard for lads to motivate themselves for League 1b games

Important they get to quarter finals and get a performance under their belts now though

[QUOTE=“Gary Birtles Lovechild, post: 1107030, member: 2585”]Despite what the reports will say, this game was not lost after the second minute dismissal of Shane Dowling. Nor was it lost in the 18 shots wide of the goal. No, it was lost on the sideline by TJ Ryan & co, who didn’t bother to make the required switches. Putting Hannon to 11 (moving our best remaining forward to the forwards - not rocket science) and swapping Dodge to 6 was the most obvious move to make once Dowling had been dismissed. When you’re a man down for 68 minutes, the priority is to win the game. First and foremost.

Playing with 14 men, one would assume that fatigue would set in, and that changes with 20 or so minutes remaining, would be a necessity. No, not if you’re TJ. He will play on until the 60th minute, when your side is already tiring and 3 points behind, before making a tactical substitution. The mind boggles.

And what of your half back, Conor Allis, who’s honest and game, but is also being given a tough time of it by Nolan, the Offaly number 8? Nope, no switch there either, TJ was seemingly happy to see him being roasted.

I’m sorry I had to witness this tonight. Do not blame this defeat on Shane Dowling’s red card. He might have been stupid on the night, but it was the total lack of brains on the sideline that lost it tonight for Limerick. Even with 14, we were more than good enough to see off a poor Offaly side, if only our management team had a clue.[/QUOTE]

how does a lad getting himself sent off in the first few minutes escape at least some blame for losing a game by a goal?
Thats nuts

There is little or no point discussing match ups in the clare limerick game.
Clare have it all over the place on paper in my view but that will be irrelevant come match day.
What is going to count for limerick is the collective will to win.
if limerick select Hannon Centre back there will only be one winner. he wont track runners
if it turns into an open flowing shoot out we wont lose that.
if it turns into a game filled with incident, collisions and a lot of long high clearances from under pressure defenders then we will be in trouble.

[QUOTE=“twiceasnice97, post: 1107566, member: 1061”]
if limerick select Hannon Centre back there will only be one winner. he wont track runners
if it turns into a game filled with incident, collisions and a lot of long high clearances from under pressure defenders then we will be in trouble.[/QUOTE]
:rolleyes: Ye are in trouble already. Write off this year and look forward to getting the u21 management in for 2016.

We drew away to Offaly last year and were hammered out the gate by Galway at home in the league but were ready to roll for championship.Look at the state of the results in 1a hidings every week so that does nothing to help either! We need to peak from late July to September and if that means we can’t get hard for the fat ugly bird on March but get to fuck a Queen come September then so be it.

we will find it hard to beat tipp in the semi final alright

[QUOTE=“twiceasnice97, post: 1107566, member: 1061”]There is little or no point discussing match ups in the clare limerick game.
Clare have it all over the place on paper in my view but that will be irrelevant come match day.
What is going to count for limerick is the collective will to win.
if it turns into a game filled with incident, collisions and a lot of long high clearances from under pressure defenders then we will be in trouble.[/QUOTE]

Regardless of how poor the Limerick hurlers may be, they will still easily account for Clare in the Munster championship opener.

Hannon at 6 is farcical. Wayne has to stay there at this stage- Aside from Dodge the only other person i’d think about slotting in there is Jim-Bob but he is vital in midfield-

I’d go with
-------- Quaid
Walsh-McCarthy-Hickey
O’Brien/O’Mahony- MacNamara-Condon
--------- Ryan/Browne
Breen/O’Mahony- Hannon- Downes
Tobin - Dowling- Mulcahy

We’ve had to really dig into our panel this league too. None of our starting 6 forwards from Championsip for the waterford game. Richie the only back from championship last year for second half v offaly. With everyone back fit we will be flying. At the rate Clare are losing players they’ll be lucky to be able to fill 15 jersies against us.

Good one Tan! :clap:

[QUOTE=“ChocolateMice, post: 1107588, member: 168”]Hannon at 6 is farcical. Wayne has to stay there at this stage- Aside from Dodge the only other person i’d think about slotting in there is Jim-Bob but he is vital in midfield-

I’d go with
-------- Quaid
Walsh-McCarthy-Hickey
O’Brien/O’Mahony- MacNamara-Condon
--------- Ryan/Browne
Breen/O’Mahony- Hannon- Downes
Tobin - Dowling- Mulcahy[/QUOTE]
I still reckon he’s a forward but I’m still interested to see how Hannon at 6 works out. If it does we could have something like:

Quaid
Hickey Richie Walsh
Wayne Hannon Condon
Jim Bob Browne
Breen Downes O’Mahony
Mulcahy Dowling Lynch

Some very strong subs to bring in and I really like the look of that front 6. Leave him there for the next two games anyway.

Its a complete waste of time picking hannon at 6. it will not work.
people have this image of him spraying the ball all over the field picking out forwards and scoring points from centre back.
the reality is that he would be far more likely to end up realising ten yards too late that his man is running in to space to receive a pass that is going to finish with a goal because he got drawn to the ball.
if hannon had hurled for a few years at 6 for his club or underage and dominated then you would give him a chance but thats not the case.

[QUOTE=“twiceasnice97, post: 1107601, member: 1061”]Its a complete waste of time picking hannon at 6. it will not work.
people have this image of him spraying the ball all over the field picking out forwards and scoring points from centre back.
the reality is that he would be far more likely to end up realising ten yards too late that his man is running in to space to receive a pass that is going to finish with a goal because he got drawn to the ball.
if hannon had hurled for a few years at 6 for his club or underage and dominated then you would give him a chance but thats not the case.[/QUOTE]

Listen, mate- This @glasagusban fella is the new breed of hurling fan- the hurling hipster-Bandying about positions for players trying to come across all intellectaul like and looking for kudos in the process- Oh look how clever I am- You know the sort.
But Hurling is a very simple game- i’ll even break it down for these Limerick apes -

No. 6 = Round hole.
Hannon = Square peg.

Square peg no fit in round hole. Therefore, Hannon should fuck back up the other end of the field where he belongs.

Teege has mugged ye all off good & proper if ye think Hannon will play Championship at CB. :smiley:

The Limerick lads are square pegs, mate. A Square peg doesn’t fit into common sense. You can’t be talking to them.

[QUOTE=“Bean, post: 1107610, member: 301”]Listen, mate- This @glasagusban fella is the new breed of hurling fan- the hurling hipster-Bandying about positions for players trying to come across all intellectaul like and looking for kudos in the process- Oh look how clever I am- You know the sort.
But Hurling is a very simple game- i’ll even break it down for these Limerick apes -

No. 6 = Round hole.
Hannon = Square peg.

Square peg no fit in round hole. Therefore, Hannon should fuck back up the other end of the field where he belongs.[/QUOTE]

A square peg can indeed fit in a round hole.

Lads will ye all relax ta fuck. It’s March.