Clare need to improve before the final, Limerick well how good are they no where near an All Ireland tats for sure, but that is the prob of @ChocolateMice@The_Most_Infamous@glasagusban,.
Clare need to improve on puckouts frees. Kelly is like a hurler without a clue any more, We are building a new team
He is a fine hurler but his emotions get the better of him in games I’ve seen. I’m not knocking emotion when it means putting yourself into tackle you know you’ll get hurt in or getting the crowd going like Mullane in his pomp did.
But Byrnes lets emotion make him solo into tackles, drive wides when he should be doing his job of winning ball & delivering it into the boys charged with scoring. His forwards.
P Maher gets a few scores from HB but he’s done the other stuff he’s supposed to do for years.
Spare me the leaders line with Hegarty & Byrnes for a few years until they’ve earned it.
Hannon got a free ride today. He was essentially on his own as Podge roamed around the middle.
Conlon if left on Hannon would have given us a better insight as to whether he’ll work there.
Personally, I think Hannon is a big loss as a forward.
No one talking about Limerick management tho ?? All this talk about Kinnerk being the man and Kiely being a saviour … We looked as cluless as we did under TJ and that’s being kind. The seethe is slowly starting to settle in here… I realise it’s a young team, will take time etc. but all I wanted was some indication that there was a pattern/design to our play - that we are developing a personality… all we got was pure aimless horseshit. I’m not attacking players, they give their all, but management have some big fucking calls to make…
Tbf you could excuse the rabbit in the headlights reactions of Kiely. But Kinnerick is around the block long enough to be able to react faster.
The subs did make impacts when introduced but it is questionable whether they were introduced too late & how the fuck they weren’t deemed good enough to start.
Jimbob, lads. Seriously like. He couldn’t sell himself as an IC hurler 6 years ago.
No sign of anything from Side Show Bob, Quaid, Dowling, Slippy or Oh Ah Mac.
I’ve nothing against Quaid by the way, a lot of lads have took umbrage at my comments previously but for Jaysus sake put a lad in goals who has an interest in being there as opposed to being on the IC team.
Clare were always going to play the ball around in the middle of the park. To try to stop them and force them to go long, at 8-12 we went with: Browne, Lynch (both fair enough), Jimbob, Dowling and Dempsey…
At least the subs were made quickly and showed a direction we will take but no matter what way you look at it we are still very blunt up front.
Read this thread for an understanding of the challenges faced by any Limerick management. A bi-polar CM talking hopeful shite for a week, until the realisation hits and then off again with the ifs and buts.