Limerick v Clare AI Semi-Final

Over night. I’ll be making the most of it regardless.

If ye haven’t bought the examiner it’s well worth getting, great interview with seanie mc and Gary kirby among other good analysis

That’s the job. Great to see teams like Limerick and Clare back jn the big games, at least there’ll be a cracking atmosphere before, during and after.

[SIZE=4]The days that will forever colour their hurling lives[/SIZE]
Saturday, August 17, 2013

Diarmuid O’Flynn: Was it the golden era?

By Diarmuid O’Flynn
Gary Kirby: Every era you’ll get people saying it was the golden era. All I can say is that for us, yes, for that team it definitely was, that was our pinnacle. It seemed to capture the imagination of the people too, the colour really came into it around then. I remember coming out on the field in the All-Ireland final of ’94, the colour! To see almost the whole place in green and white and you’re wondering — where did all these come from? All the flags, the banners. You were driving around Limerick and every house, every housing estate, seemed to be festooned with green and white. The following year you had the same thing in Clare. Everywhere you went you met saffron and blue banners and bunting and flags. The colour really came into it that time.

Seánie McMahon: Television was a factor also. Up to then you had only the All-Ireland final shown live, maybe a semi-final. In ’95 I remember they started showing more games, though they were deferred, but from ’96 on they were fully live and that just increased the whole buzz. Then you had the different teams starting to come through, new combinations, and that all added to it. New counties came, the bunting and the banners started to become popular. There wasn’t a house in Clare in ’95 I’d say that didn’t have a flag of some sort and that was even in houses that would never before have had anything to do with hurling.

DO’F: It was sport but it was also drama and romance, Limerick’s two wretched defeats, Clare, Wexford and Offaly all winning All-Irelands, that hasn’t been replicated since?

SMcM: In that sense yes, but it’s still hard to know if it was the golden era. Maybe in a few years’ time we’ll be saying it was the ’00s, or even these years now. In hindsight everything looks that bit better. But it was a great time, that can’t be argued, and for those of us in the middle of it, it was absolutely fantastic, I wouldn’t have swapped a minute of it.

GK: I remember meeting Anthony Daly around that time. I was just coming out from the cinema with my wife and he was going in with his and he said to me, ‘Wouldn’t it be great if we could keep this going, every second year win Munster and keep Cork and Tipperary out? We’re looking at them long enough!’ And it was true for him. The only pity from our point of view, Clare got their chances of winning the All-Ireland and took them. We didn’t and that’s always going to be the big difference between the two teams. We were as good as each other when we met, nothing between us, but they won those All-Irelands. We didn’t.

DO’F: Do you feel ye were robbed, in a sense?

GK: No, we weren’t. You have to take your opportunity when it comes and we didn’t. But we’ll remember those years for the rest of our lives, Clare and Limerick, players and supporters. Clare people especially, there was such a huge gap. Limerick too, for maybe a different reason, the heartbreak.

DO’F: But that was drama too, and you needed that. In Offaly and Wexford they’ll have a different perspective of those two years, a very positive perspective?

GK: Of course, yes. Go down through the history of All-Ireland finals and I guarantee you, those two will always be spoken of, ’94 especially. I know we were on the wrong side of those results but I know what you mean. You talk of drama, it won’t get much more dramatic than what happened to us in ’94! In Offaly, the way they came back from the dead that day when it looked like the game was over. You have to admire them. Take your own [Clare] All-Ireland in ’95. The last few minutes against Cork in Munster [Seán had a broken collar-bone, Clare had used all their subs, he went up to the attack and one-armed, won the sideline ball from which came the winning goal], then the All-Ireland final itself. Ye were in trouble, Taaffe is brought on, gets the goal and is whipped off again! ‘Where did he come from? Where did he go?’ That’s what people were asking. But he got the goal, made that difference. If the two teams met again the next day it wouldn’t necessarily have been the same result.

SMcM: Exactly, that game was so finely balanced all through. But even an entire season, there could be such a fine line between winning the championship and losing in the first round. People talk about the puck of a ball in the final and maybe how lucky a team was to win, but how many teams have barely survived in the earlier rounds, and go on to win an All-Ireland? Even the All-Ireland semi-final last Sunday, I felt Dublin had got on top and then came the sending-off of O’Dwyer and the whole thing changes.

DO’F: What was the most memorable match of all those years?

GK: For me, and because we lost the two All-Ireland finals, it has to be the Munster final of 1994. Limerick hadn’t won one since ’81. We had been destroyed in several matches in the late ’80s, beaten in the final of ’92. In ’93 we went up to Ennis then with great hopes. We thought that might be our year and we were beaten again. We started off in ’94 and we didn’t know what was ahead of us. I was picked as captain and I remember coming home that night and the mother says, ‘Of all the years to be captain!’ That’s how little was expected of us. She was almost sympathising with me! Even the first round in Munster, against Cork, we got a terrible start, eight points down after the first quarter but we pulled it back to beat them. After that it just took off. We went to Thurles beat Waterford, then a Munster final in Thurles against Clare, won that also and there was a huge pitch invasion. When I saw what happened in the Gaelic Grounds a few weeks ago again it reminded me of that. It was a brilliant feeling, captain of the team that had won the Munster title. That’s something you’ll always treasure. To play in an All-Ireland final is also a great honour, to lead the team around the pitch. When you lose you just want to forget it. You’ll always remember the wins.

SMcM: For me, too, it’s a Munster final, 1995. Growing up I never dreamed of playing in Croke Park, never dreamed of winning an All-Ireland. It never, ever crossed my mind. Clare couldn’t even win a Munster title so why would you be thinking of All-Irelands? By the time ’95 came I think it was 10 finals Clare had played in since 1932 and hadn’t won one. That was a terrible record. Then we were hammered in the final of ’93, hammered again in ’94. For me then it was the Munster final of ’95, that was the dream come true.

GK: That was the day that changed Clare hurling, that win.

SMcM: If we’d lost that day it would have been the third Munster final in a row, along with a league final. It would all have ended before it even started.

DO’F: That famous Ciarán Carey winning point in ’96, Gary did a number on you for that?

SMcM: He did. I’ll always remember that incident. Ciarán was charging up the middle, Gary peeled away, I was left in a quandary. Will I go, will I stay? If I went then Ciarán was just going to throw the ball over my head and it was a definite point. Gary didn’t miss those. If I stayed, Fergal Hegarty was chasing Ciarán and there was a chance he might get there. So I went…

DO’F: What was Gary like to play on?

SMcM: Bloody hard! He’s a big strong guy, competed very hard for every ball but he didn’t rely on physique, he relied on his hurling ability. What I found most difficult about him was how he’d lose you in a game. I used to love the centre-forward who’d just stand into you and bate away all day but Gary wasn’t like that. You’d be trying to keep one eye on the play, one eye on him. Take that eye off for a second and he was gone. Once he got into open space, ball in hand, it was a score, guaranteed.

DO’F: What was Seán like?

GK: He said it himself, up to a point. I didn’t go man-to-man with him because if I did I knew I was in trouble. He loved that kind of contest. He was a strong guy, very good in the air, good hand on him. I had to find space for myself, it was the only way to play him. The other thing about him, you had to be conscious of marking him as well because he was a scoring threat. People talk about Anthony Nash now but Seánie was scoring long-range points for fun in the ’90s. He was so good and was well able to get around the pitch.

SMcM: You got a few long-range frees yourself?

GK: Yes but with respect, as a forward that was expected of me. You were a centre-back and not too many defenders were doing that at the time. You were a serious scoring threat from long distance, just as Anthony Nash is now for Cork.

DO’F: Explain to us who have never experienced it, what’s it like to go out that tunnel on All-Ireland final day?

GK: It’s a fantastic occasion. I’ll never forget the reaction in ’94. The noise, colour, flags but once the ball is thrown in you just forget all about that. You’re totally engrossed in the game. You’re not thinking ‘It’s an All-Ireland final’. It’s just a game. You’re in that zone and nothing else matters. To me the All-Ireland final is all about the build-up. The excitement in the weeks and days beforehand as it all winds down to the big day, but once the ball is thrown in that’s it. You hear the noise when you come out and even at times during the game it might hit you but mostly you’re just in the game.

SMcM: I was at the ’94 final, my first year with Clare. I was around the 21-yard line on the Hogan Stand and ye came out the tunnel. The place erupted! I remember sitting there alongside my father. I was shaking and I turned to him and said ‘There’s no way I’ll ever be able to play in a game like this!’ It was just unbelievable.

DO’F: That’s the impression many of us get. How does anyone perform under that kind of pressure?

SMcM: It’s exactly as Gary says, you’re in the zone. You’re not even aware of it. If you did, sure you’d freeze, you wouldn’t burn a ball. It can affect some people, no doubt about that and if you let it you won’t even be able to walk, let alone hurl. I was hardly even able to get up off the seat the year before and that was just as a spectator!

DO’F: It’s said that the noise from Clare’s entrance in ’95 will never be matched?

GK: It’s funny you say that because when we went up in 2007 when Richie [Bennis, Gary’s uncle] was manager, the head steward said to me afterwards that in all the years he was involved, including when the Dublin footballers were going well, he never heard noise like he heard when Limerick took the field that day. It was just crazy. That’s how he put it. And I’ll be honest with you, I think it did get to a few of our fellas. It took them a while to actually settle into the game and by then it was too late. We tried to prepare them for what was coming but it’s impossible.

SMcM: It can get to people. What really struck me though in ’95 wasn’t the noise, it was the colour, though the noise was absolutely savage. It’s something you allow yourself enjoy for a couple of minutes, look around and take it in.

GK: That’s true too, you have to allow yourself those few minutes to enjoy it, to savour it, embrace it even, but then it’s over. Even taking the frees. There’s slagging that goes on but you’re so focused on what you have to do you don’t hear any of it.

DO’F: Ye’re both now involved with teams?

GK: I probably have too much involvement. I’m involved with Patrickswell U12 and U13 boys, U14 and U16 camogie. I’m coaching with the local national school as well, do the Freshers with UL and I’m with Bruff intermediates and Limerick U14 camogie. It’s easy for me to do it though. I have a daughter, Jane, involved in the camogie and I’d be at her games anyway. She asked me to get involved, I said I’d give a hand. Then I have two young lads, Patrick and John, they’re both with the U12s and I was going to be at their games as well. I love watching them all playing, to be honest. Jane is also playing ladies’ football with Patrickswell and with Limerick, also involved with the Munster U16 hockey team! I have a busy time with them all but I love it.

SMcM: I’m over the U16s with the club and my own three lads, Darragh, Eoin and Cathal, are at U6, U8 and U10 so I give a hand there whenever I can too, wherever there’s a gap. There’s great enjoyment in watching them. It was a huge part of our lives growing up. We loved it, got an awful lot back from it. Now it’s great to see them getting that enjoyment as well. Whether they’re good, bad or indifferent is irrelevant. It’s just the fact they’re playing and enjoying it, that in itself is what’s important. Maybe at inter-county level the fun is going out of it but you’d hate to think anything like that will ever happen down the age-groups. If they’re not enjoying it they’re not going to be doing it, simple as that. At inter-county level it’s gone to almost full-time, six or seven times a week, gone very demanding.

DO’F: And even with all that effort fellas are still castigated if they lose?

GK: You always got that, and it’s a pity. At underage it’s different. You have a young fella there. He’s struggling with something and you show him the right way of doing it, then you see him doing it in a match and he gets a great kick from it. You get a great kick from it. You might be losing by a cricket score but it doesn’t matter. He’s improving. That’s why you get involved. Richie Bennis and Barry Foley are involved with me with the U12s, along with John Gorman and Dick Spillan. We went to Thurles last Friday to a day out, three matches, and coming home in the car Richie says to me, ‘wasn’t it great to see such-and-such a young fella today, got in four blocks in the space of a minute’! If you can achieve that with a young fella, give him one of the basics like that, that’s the satisfaction of it.

DO’F: Are ye going to the game?

GK: I am. Myself, my wife and the kids in one car, my brother is going up with his family in their car. My sister with her family, the three cars in convoy and all looking forward to it. I never remember Limerick having two teams in an All-Ireland semi-final on the same day so we’ll be there early for the buzz, the atmosphere. It’s going to be a great day out. Hopefully we come out with a couple of wins, getting greedy at this stage! I was involved with the last two Limerick teams to reach an All-Ireland final at minor and senior, minor in ’84, then senior in ’94 and ’96 and a selector in ’07. Great to see this now as a supporter.

DO’F: Were you on the field after the Munster final win?

GK: I stood my kids in front of me at the final whistle and said to them, ‘right, we’ll meet afterwards up by those goalposts’ and off we all went, the four of us. It was fantastic.

SMcM: Something I love to see is all the youngsters on the pitch at half-time and after the game with their hurleys. When we won the All-Ireland U21 last year in Thurles I had two of my lads with me, with hurleys, and we stayed out on the pitch till 10 o’clock, till the lights went off!

DO’F: You’ll travel?

SMcM: We’re going on the Friday would you believe, the three lads and my wife, Mary, the whole lot of us. My father then is meeting us on Sunday. We’re making a long weekend of it. It’s going to be a great occasion. It’s a while since we’ve been in a semi-final and already there’s a buzz. A young team coming. We’re all looking forward to seeing how they get on in Croke Park. We know Limerick will bring a huge crowd, talk of over 30,000 tickets sold already. Hopefully Clare will bring a great crowd as well. I fully believe it will be a great occasion, and may the best team win.

Great memories. Both teams would love those boys in their prime tomorrow!

Some cork fella was in the jacks in the bar last night spouting on about seeing which one of the two walkovers they’d be beating in the final. I said we’d see how cork get on when they have to play 15 men. Fairly shut him up. Whoever wins they better beat those fuckers!

Leaving at 8.30 in the morn, none of my mates staying up so it’ll be an up and down trip sadly but sure fuck it I’ll stay up After the final.

[quote=“glasagusban, post: 818782, member: 1533”]Some cork fella was in the jacks in the bar last night spouting on about seeing which one of the two walkovers they’d be beating in the final. I said we’d see how cork get on when they have to play 15 men. Fairly shut him up. Whoever wins they better beat those fuckers!

Leaving at 8.30 in the morn, none of my mates staying up so it’ll be an up and down trip sadly but sure fuck it I’ll stay up After the final.[/quote]

Same as, had originally planned tonight in Roddy Bolands, Flannery’s and Coppers but work circumstances dictated otherwise.

Leaving early tomorrow, want a clear head for the stress and anxiety of what lies ahead.

People on about 40k Limerick fans making the trip. Fucking magic. Whatever happens I wouldn’t swap what has happened this summer since the Tipp game for anything.

Clare are a quality team with class hurlers but we’re pretty decent too. Please God we can do it. If not I’ll be gutted, would wish Clare the best but we’d still have ended the Munster famine which was beyond our wildest dreams after the league final.

Hon Limerick.

Neither of you Muldoons have convinced me so I backed the draw. Gun to the head Id probably say Limerick, scuse the pun, but I think it’ll be very close so my wager just might come in!!

See you on the Hill tomorrow, chaps.

My head says Clare, but my heart says Limerick, so Limerick it is. Hannon will be the man tomorrow. He’ll do a Begley.

I’m hosting a corporate box tomorrow. But I’m a natural and it won’t affect my enjoyment of the game. Clare by 5.

fuck off you cunt

When two tribes go to war…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTOQUnvI3CA

up and at them.boys, a famous day lies ahead for limerick

We’re on the one road…

hon limerick ta fuck! :smiley:

For every Clare car, there’s about ten Limerick cars on the motor way. 4 buses leaving Arthur’s quay every hour plus CIE transport is booked out.

You can’t beat big days like today.

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 818924, member: 1796”]For every Clare car, there’s about ten Limerick cars on the motor way. 4 buses leaving Arthur’s quay every hour plus CIE transport is booked out.

You can’t beat big days like today.[/quote]
Any Clare people thumbing?

Who is gonna pick up someone with two thumbs per hand?

Well struck mate, well struck.