Limerick v Clare AI Semi-Final

[quote=“dancarter, post: 819544, member: 122”]Least ye got to enjoy the Munster final.

Nerves pure and simple I think. Must watch the game again because my initial impression was that Clare played well and took great scores but game was v loose and Lmk had huge amount of ball. John Allen will take plenty stick but it was just horrible shooting display more than anything else killed any momentum. Richie Mc was ripe for what happened with that goal alright, madness letting his man get inside like that[/quote]

It was Collins that got inside his man for the goal. McCarthy had Honan covered, albeit he got his toe on the ball to force it over rhetorically line in the scramble that followed.

What did Ryan’s performance look on the TV? I thought he gave some ridiculous frees yesterday.

I thought McCarthy had Honan pretty well shackled yesterday and was one of the few to emerge from the game with any credit.

[SIZE=6]Davy so much more than fire and brimstone[/SIZE]
[SIZE=5]Banner boss is picture of undiluted passion – but he also has most logical mind in the game[/SIZE]

Colm Keys – 19 August 2013
[SIZE=5]On the Monday night after Clare’s [U]Munster[/U][/URL] semi-final defeat to Cork, [URL=‘http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Davy_Stockbrokers’][U]Davy[/U] Fitzgerald called a meeting. The venue said much about the intimacy of Fitzgerald’s leadership of a group that today stands a single footfall from immortality.[/SIZE]

He brought them to his house in Sixmilebridge where, over biscuits and soft drinks, they spent the evening dissecting a game that had left them communally bruised.
Cork had won by eight points and, in the sweeping way of this business, Clare’s precocity was now being written of as a flaw in their make-up.
This despite their spurning of maybe half a dozen goal chances and the loss of one of their primary ball winners in attack to an early concussion. For Fitzgerald, the evening was about a calm reassertion of group values.
They would, he said, keep doing the things they believed in, leaving the outside world to draw whatever conclusions took its fancy.
Not many would have imagined then that the hurling communities of Cork and Clare would be booked in for a [U]Croke Park[/U][/URL] reassembly two and half months later. But, with [URL=‘http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Davy_Stockbrokers’][U]Davy[/U], there has never been an orthodoxy to his dreams.
His personality is an open window. On the line, he is unburdened by self-awareness, endlessly flailing and jolting as if the ground beneath him tingles with a live electric current. The impression given is of a man struggling to contain the energies within, maybe of a grenade with a loose pin.
Caricature follows him like a shadow then. It also hopelessly misreads him.
PASSION
For Davy has, arguably, the most logical mind in hurling. He doesn’t buy into the ‘all on the day’ cliche of big games taking ungovernable paths that defy pre-planning. Analysis is Davy’s passion, thoroughness his bottom line.
Everything is worn so publicly, so animatedly, his game savvy tends to get overlooked. But with Clare harvesting sheath after sheath of golden youngsters right now, it is becoming increasingly clear that the organic development of them – from current joint U-21 bosses, Gerry O’Connor and Donal Moloney, right through to the management team that Fitzgerald has assembled for the seniors – is evolving in perfect harmony.
Clare hurled majestically at times, their tactical coherence too much for a Limerick team that seemed critically diminished by hype and big-game nerves.
For Clare, the experience of two All-Ireland U-21 victories in the last four years has brought clear psychological advantages. Success is ingrained in their thinking and, in young players like [U]Tony Kelly[/U] and Podge Collins particularly, they have spectacular young stags who simply refuse to be contained.
Cleverly, Fitzgerald deployed Kelly at midfield and [U]the move[/U] palpably blew some fuses in Limerick’s game plan.
But to win, a team needs ice as well as fire. And it was Colin Ryan’s nervelessness on frees that most stridently identified the differences in these neighbours.
While Ryan looked like he could have split the posts while doing the Croke Park skywalk, Declan Hannon suffered a wretched meltdown.
The tone of Limerick’s day was set with the spillage of five wides in the opening 10 minutes alone. That would be Clare’s total for the game in its entirety.
Brendan Bugler is, at 28, one of their old soldiers now. He knew the tenor of what we’d seen. “I suppose it’s a cliche, but we left it all out there on the field, we worked hard for this,” said the Whitegate man. “Clare hurling has been on a low for a few years but Davy has come in and what a man – he’s completely turned things around.”
For Fitzgerald himself, there would be no theatrics, no jitter-bugging dance at the conclusion.
He looked physically drained as he reached out towards [U]John Allen[/U][/URL], the two managers engaging with palpable warmth in contrast to their sideline skirmish in the [URL=‘http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/National_League’][U]National League[/U] Division 1B final last year.
After Fitzgerald had wheeled straight down the tunnel at the end of Clare’s quarter-final defeat of Galway on July 28, he told his players that he had no interest in pats on the back from strangers just as likely to “crucify” him in other circumstances.
“The only people that interest me are in this room,” he said.
Yesterday, that tightness of the group was written in everything Clare did. He beckoned the substitutes down out of the Hogan Stand to stand alongside management for the national anthem. And when a decision to wave a [U]James Ryan[/U] effort wide was reversed after consultation with the referee (Hawk-Eye being on leave for the day), the heat coming off Davy could have started a gorse fire.
Yet, Clare would never trail in this game. They led from the third minute to the end.
It was then an all-the-way front-running gallop into only their seventh senior All-Ireland final in history and, for a man who led Waterford in '08 to their first final since '63, there is the sense of a CV now, finally, beginning to find appropriate recognition.
Of course, there are plenty who don’t warm to Fitzgerald, even within Clare itself and he is endlessly aware of their scepticism.
“I’m so proud of these young lads,” he told us. "They are an example to everyone playing the game, because they work so hard, they never say die. Have we taken a lot of stick over the last year and a half? We all have, but they kept coming back and it’s so nice when you know that when you ask them to do something, they’ll do it.
"Look, it was a big day for us today, we were written off by a lot of people. Like, I’ve been involved in three losing semi-finals and won the other one as a manager, it is tough and you have to learn lessons.
"Even myself as a manager, you’re learning all the time. The thing I love about these guys is they’re mad for a challenge, which is important. We’d all have been getting stick as management and players during the year, but the one thing I knew is that they’ll stay doing what you ask them to do; that’s a good sign of any team.
“Will I keep 36 guys happy? I’ll wait to see any manager that can keep 36 guys happy, but I can tell you this very categorically – 99pc of those lads, even when we were losing games, were happy. I love these boys to bits.”
He mentioned his “savage” back-room team, listing them all by name and vowing that the great raft of his players that face an All-Ireland U-21 semi-final against Galway next Saturday will “not be asked to come near” his squad in the interim. But something giant and distracting is sure to course each and every one now.
WHIRLWIND
Davy Fitzgerald was such an emblematic figure in the All-Ireland-winning teams of '95 and '97, he will know the whirlwind coming Clare’s way now.
“I know what comes with an All-Ireland,” he smiled. "I could see it over the last week. It took us a while to get going down in Clare as regards getting the flags and the bunting out, but it definitely took off over the last week. And it kind of reminded me of the mid-'90s you know? We’re in tough times.
"Has this given Clare people a lift? It has and I think that’s fantastic.
“But my job with the team is September 8. We have a few PR jobs to do here and there and we will do them. At the same time, there’s only one job (that matters) and that’s preparing the team and they’ve got to remember that. It’s all about 3.30 on September 8 and all of the sideshows don’t matter.”
If there was ever a man born for to surf this wave, you sense Clare have him.

Credit to Saoirse Bulfin on the sideline as well, he covered more ground yesterday than a lot of the Limerick forwards

It hurts to have lost both semis and the manner of the defeats makes it worse. Very down this morning.

at the game I thought we won the puckouts pretty well but blew the scoring chances. 4 frees of which 3 should go over plus the only clear shot on goal of the whole match (good save) were the difference at 25 minutes. it is easyto blame tactics but the players lost this one which is really a bigger problem. we will just have to rise again.

[quote=“TreatyStones, post: 819583, member: 1786”]What did Ryan’s performance look on the TV? I thought he gave some ridiculous frees yesterday.

I thought McCarthy had Honan pretty well shackled yesterday and was one of the few to emerge from the game with any credit.[/quote]

Ryan is a bollox.

I am no fan of johnny ryan but i thought he was fairly consistent throughtout, seemed to favour the tackler rather than the ball carrier

Really? I thought it was the complete opposite and on the numerous occassions the man with the ball got very soft frees. He gave a free against Richie McCarthy on the wing in the first half that defied logic.

How the fuck did Niall Moran stay on the pitch? Surely that is his most glaring error.

Striking with the hurl twice - and he ends up with a yellow.

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 819592, member: 24”]How the fuck did Niall Moran stay on the pitch? Surely that is his most glaring error.

Striking with the hurl twice - and he ends up with a yellow.[/quote]

A horrible windy hurler. Should have seen the line alright

I’m trying to think who he did similar against in recent years?

Only giving back what he received last year.

Dan Limerick weren’t in the same stratosphere as Clare yesterday, the frees were frustrating but I really don’t think the mindset was there anyway with Limerick.

Congrats to the Clare lads, we never showed up at all. As sickening a defeat as I’ve ever had to sit through, we never got going at all.

The Horror!

No doubting Clare were by far the better team and fully deserved their win but did we have to make it so easy for them?

You can talk all you like about 5-week layoffs, hype etc, and, admittedly, none of this helped but the bottom line is that Clare were sharper, hungrier and, ultimately, far more organised than Limerick yesterday.

I suppose the most annoying thing for me is that Clare did exactly what we expected them to do and we stood back and let them. We had long enough to prepare for the sweeper and withdrawn forwards and what did we do? Hit ball after ball into Patrick Donnellan and allowed Tony Kelly run amok in midfield!

The only way to break down a sweeper is to carry the ball through the defence and look for a lay-off. When we did this we made some profit as Clare tended to foul when ran at. With Hannon misfiring, any chance of early parity was thrown away. Paul Browne was our best player and Paudie O’Brien did well when switched to his best position of midfield. I was amazed with the introduction of Tom Ryan at wing forward. It was surely a day for the likes of Cathal King who can carry the ball through the middle.

Fuck it, Clare won it and good luck to them in the final. A few other small points:

1. Gutted for the minors. Not their best display but they were rode by a computer. There’ll have to be some comeback on this.

2. Not usually a fan but, in fairness, Johnny Ryan handled the game well. Was made easier for him by two teams who weren’t acting the bollix.

3. Davy is playing with fire with his sideline antics and could be in bother if the Croke Park wankers decide to get officious.

Davy Fitzgerald is a national treasure and should be regarded as such.

Congrats to Clare. To echo other posters here from Limerick, we can have absolutely no complaints and I hope Clare go on to win it now.

I feared all week that Limerick would get found out like that yesterday. In reality, we mullocked our way through the 2 games in Munster against a very out of sorts Tipp team and a 14 man Cork team. These tactics back-fired yesterday completely and John Allen must take some responsibility for that, as should many of the players for some shocking decision making.

We stayed to the bitter end until every player from both sides had left the pitch. It was painful to watch but Clare deserved to be as ecstatic as they were. Fuck it, I would have been too if my county had played as well as them.

On that point, a whole host of Clare supporters displayed a rather weird tendency to roar out the word “yahoo” to nobody in particular as they exited Croke Park yesterday. Those boggers were over the moon, and rightly so. Yahoo!

It’s Yeee-heeee-hooooo. As immortalised in the greatest GAA song of all time