To be the best you have to beat the best… Realistically however I think we would be happy enough if we finished within 5/6 as this has potential to be a mauling. With our forwards we have a chance, But It’s the other end I’m worried about. No doubt the wonderful John Allen is deep in the bunker devising his master plan as I type… We are gonna need it!
You’d have to fear for Richie at FB.
He was very luck a couple of times on Sunday. He got some great blocks in and generally did ok but he could easily have got the line the time he was turned on the inside with about 10mins to go. It was a cynical foul by a man well beaten and he had been booked already.
They are on the ropes lads. I don’t care what anyone says, their confidence is shook and now is the chance to shake it further.
They’ll burst out of the blocks quickly and try finish the game in the first 20 minutes, if ye can keep them at bay for this period then ye can beat them.
Everyone will have us wrote off here, just go out and go to war on them and like you say, if there’s 20/25 gone on the clock and we are still with them who the fuck knows.
Only one man can save us now though you feel… Step forward Donie Ryan
[quote name=‘Kinvara’s Passion’ timestamp=‘1342427793’ post=‘646320’]They are on the ropes lads. I don’t care what anyone says, their confidence is shook and now is the chance to shake it further.
They’ll burst out of the blocks quickly and try finish the game in the first 20 minutes, if ye can keep them at bay for this period then ye can beat them.[/quote]
That’s the key alright. They will look for early goals to finish us off early. If we can stick with them then it could be a cracking game. We will need goals to win this but thats one aspect of our game that has improved enormously this year.
the key will be not having your half forward line destroyed in the air.
think of how much ball donnellan and bugler caught. kilkenny are much stronger in the air than our half back line
another worry for limrick would be the ease with which galvin dominated midfield in the first half at a time when sean collins hardly played at all. a pair of michael rice and michael fennelly getting the same latitude?
richie mccarthy did very well but honan was out first one hundred percent of the time but didnt do any damage, if power or larkin get on that much ball ?
hopefull the full forward line will repeat the dose and it will be a contest all through
maybe limerick will break their faces but realistically a defeat where you are not annihilated will be progress in my mind
The direct appraoch and distribution from the likes of Breen played a big part the other night but more often than not it was over hit or left hanging in the air. We cant be at that with Kilkenny. I’d leave Ryan where he is, he was slighly below par the other night but it also took Paudie O’Brien nearly the first half to get up to speed. We will need Ryans physicallity in the middle.
Is there any word on Condon yet ? Watching the game back last night he tried to stay on and did so for the free but had to leave, i’m hoping thats more a case of the injury not beeing too bad than heart!
I’m looking forward to the Limerick fella’s talking tactics and strategy for the next couple of weeks in their attempt to put this “finished” KK team to the sword
Ya Tommy, I suppose at the end of the day I suppose it’s a team game. Kilkenny have a great squad and I suppose Brian Cody will keeping everyone on their toes. I suppose they’ll just go out there and not take anything for granted ya know.
Ya Tommy, I suppose at the end of the day I suppose it’s a team game. Kilkenny have a great squad and I suppose Brian Cody will keeping everyone on their toes. I suppose they’ll just go out there and not take anything for granted ya know.[/quote]
Ah no, I’d say we’ll just go out and blow ye away. An awful lot of disappointed KK people around today. We were hoping to draw Cork in order to get the team motivation back up, but now we’re faced with ye shower of no hopers who won’t be able to keep it pucked out to us.
The direct appraoch and distribution from the likes of Breen played a big part the other night but more often than not it was over hit or left hanging in the air. [/quote]
breen really only got on the ball when he came out to midfield and further and bugler let him go in order to keep our shape. when it was fifty fifty between them bugler was totally on top.
did any of the four lads who hurled in the half forward line actually catch any high ball?