Ferris is playing great stuff for Ulster at the moment and if he gets his place for Ireland in the 6 natiosn then he will make the squadā¦TBH I would rate all the lads I have named in the backrow/subs of my 22 higher than him at thi moment in timeā¦I reckon the Irish back row will be Leamy, Wallace and Ferris and all three are in with a great shout of making the test teamā¦
As for flannery at hooker, it is between him and best, whichever is first choice for the 6 nations will probably tour and be the test hooker th other could be left behindā¦Decent hookers are few and far between with the home nationsā¦
South Africaās forwards coach Gary Gold is expecting a tough tour against the British and Irish Lions in 2009, and has tipped Irelandās Paul OāConnell to captain the side.
The two sides will play three Tests on South African soil in June and July.
And while the Lions endured a torrid time against New Zealand on their last tour - they were beaten 3-0 by the All Blacks in 2005 - Peter De Villiersā assistant knows it will not be easy.
āThe Lions will have enough talent for us to take them very seriously,ā Gold told newspaper Die Burger.
āI would agree most of the Lions players would come from within Ireland and Walesā ranks. There are also individuals in the England and Scotland teams that can bolster the squad.
'Paul OāConnell may be the captain. He will definitely make Irelandās side and forms a formidable lock pairing with Donncha OāCallaghan.
'The locks will be good in the air and we are set to play with straight-arm penalties, so I expect a greater emphasis on line-outs than in the Super 14.
'They also have a lot of options at half-back. I have a high regard for Dwayne Peel (Wales), but expect Mike Blair (Scotland) to start. Ronan OāGara will probably be used at fly-half due to his experience.
āI also rate James Hook (Wales) very highly.ā
Gold though is optimistic South Africa can match the Lions in most areas, but has warned fans not to expect a walkover.
He added: 'The Lions will have a lot of depth among their loose forwards, but we also have an embarrassment of riches in that area.
āBut they will be able to field a formidable side. They can pick some good combinations and whatever 22 they come up with will be a strong one. There will be no significant weaknesses.ā
Id have Hayes in there HB, also youd struggle to accomodate Powell and Heaslip in the same back row.
Oh and I wouldnt pick Sackey of shit, Halfpenny maybe, Max evans is a big shout considering he cant get picked for Scotland, but he is a good player in fairness
I think I shall keep my powder dry in terms of naming a team til after the 6 nations, didnāt see the Wales Scotland match so I canāt commentā¦Reckon that 19 or 20 of the test 22 should be made up of Welsh/Irish players
[quote=ādancarterā]Id have Hayes in there HB, also youd struggle to accomodate Powell and Heaslip in the same back row.
Oh and I wouldnt pick Sackey of shit, Halfpenny maybe, Max evans is a big shout considering he cant get picked for Scotland, but he is a good player in fairness[/quote]
Yeah, Powell Heaslip is a cose call, but Ryan Jones will probably make the 6 spot his own over the next few weeks unless Ferris can really step up. Looked bollixed coming off on Saturday so he may nimprove with more games at that level. Sat was a massive step up for him.
Sackey had a great WC and is hanging on because of it. Halfpenny, Bowe, Fitz are all probably going to pass him out before the end of the 6 nations. I expect max evens to play from Scotland from here on in, and I think he is cracking player and an outsider for the squad.
Reckon the full back spot will come down to Byrne -v- Kearney on the 21st of March.
he he, stick to your guns anywas fair play. He will need to get his place back with Scotland first. Sure wel see, if we all agreed there would be be no craic
[quote=āHangBlaaā]Yeah, Powell Heaslip is a cose call, but Ryan Jones will probably make the 6 spot his own over the next few weeks unless Ferris can really step up. Looked bollixed coming off on Saturday so he may nimprove with more games at that level. Sat was a massive step up for him.
Sackey had a great WC and is hanging on because of it. Halfpenny, Bowe, Fitz are all probably going to pass him out before the end of the 6 nations. I expect max evens to play from Scotland from here on in, and I think he is cracking player and an outsider for the squad.
Reckon the full back spot will come down to Byrne -v- Kearney on the 21st of March.[/quote]
The other Evans fella wasnt even the scotland squad, they have both looked very lively any time iv seen them.
Ya only two specialist full backs will be carried so it will be between the two lads no doubt. Cant help feeling the Welsh connection will give Byrne the edge, hes quality anyways so cant complain too much
Thats it exactly, but like I just stated on the 6 nations thread that there is little between the wingers and I can see Geech bringing the likes of a Paterson, who would also give him an option at Fly half or Full back for the mid week team and also another kicking option, either Paterson or Lewsey will get in for versatility but would be nothing more than mid week players
Why bring Patterson as a utility back when James Hook and Danny Cipriani can both play 10, 12, 15 (,Geraghty can also play 10, 12, 15 at a push). all 3 far bette than the baul Chris.