Liveline thread

Iā€™d say Gman is on Liveline talking about the trip to Mauritius.

Crazyhorse is on Liveline now dodging bullets but throwing stones at Cowen!

I have four grandchilderdedden Joe, an Iā€™m nor even 60 yet.
One of the grandchilderdedden is called Poppy Bella.

Iā€™m assuming this yoke and her family live in a fucking warren.

Poppy Bella, yeah, for fuckā€™s sake, Joe said itā€™s a lovely name :smiley:
I had to stop listening

I wonder if they are on that show my big fat gypsy wedding. :smiley: One of the gypsyā€™s on last night was called Martin Tom.

The old biddies are out today. Tommy Tiernan getting slated for his performance at the IFTAs. :slight_smile:

Tommy Tiernan must still be a cunt. To think he swore in front of the president.

A load of Fianna Failers on today, crying about the loss. One guy even suggested that Enda should give FF a seat at the cabinet table as a token gesture. :smiley: I thought I heard it all till I heard that.

Plenty on talking up Enda too. There was one oul lad on who sounded exactly like Jon Kenny in Dā€™Unbelieveables form. I thought he was taking the piss at first. Very entertaining. Another fella came on to say sound Enda was because he once shook hands with a wino. :rolleyes:

Iā€™m going to make it a medium term goal to find employment that allows me listen to Liveline more regularly. Missed those crackpots today.

Just listen to it back on the website! I used to work operating a printer for an engineering company and would sit listening to the radio/cds all day. Back in the good old days. Liveline was marvellous for bridging the gap between lunch and the middle of the afternoon. A brilliantly entertaining show.

Ah I donā€™t know Thrawneen, the last couple of weeks have been pretty crap, with truckers ringing up about Wendy the chippie, people crying about immigration and Joe just being a twat and I havenā€™t even mentioned Funny Fridays with the most boring fuckers every to grace the earth. :smiley: In saying all that if you listen to the first 10 / 15 minutes of the show you can tell if its going to be a good one or a bad one. :smiley:

I avoid funny fridays. I didnā€™t mind the Wendy the chippie stuff because it was such an astonishing story and her father had a superb accent. Some days itā€™s boring, of course. Though, the stuff about the councils charging extortionate rates was very interesting. Itā€™s the days when thereā€™s a big news story or public event fuck-up that it comes into its own. You need something to get Liam in Castlebar whipped up into a frenzy.

Right own up, who is robbing the oil out of the tanks of the good folks in the country?

Iā€™ll give you a clue, itā€™s hairy, smelly and rhymes with whacker

How do they get away with it?? Iā€™d have thought that approaching houses in the middle of the night would cause too much noise, from the Hiace engine and with dogs barking etc. and then thereā€™s the headlights. If someone came to our gaff like that Iā€™d be pretty certain someone would wake up and a P. Nally situation would result.

It is a rather simple process that involves:

A couple of gallon drums

A self tapping screw

A drill/battery operated screwdriver

& a funnel

Little or no noise and they would also do a good number of these during the day

Happens during the day mostly. They usually have the situation well sussed out.
Keep an eye on oil deliveries locally, take note if thereā€™s anyone in the house during the day, then come back at a convenient time and drain the tank.
And with oil tanks usually situated around the back of properties they usually canā€™t be seen from the road, so once they know there is no one in the house they can work away at their leisure.

I believe they usually work on an information exchange system with travellers from other areas. So they gather information locally, but itā€™s outsiders that actually commit the crime and are less likely to be recognised.

I was working with a lad one day and we were driving passed his house on the way to a site when he noticed the lads inside with the drums out. He pulled his jeep across the driveway and rang his oul lad who came down the road in a tractor with a shotgun over his shoulder. It was the funniest thing Iā€™ve ever seen watching the three lads trying to talk their way out of it. They hadnā€™t gotten around to draining his tank yet but his oul lad was roaring that heā€™d shoot them and bury them in the bog if he saw them around again!

The most notable fact arising out of todays show was that AIB are now using a Northern Ireland based Debt Collection agency to do their dirty work.

Now the victim in this instance owed 70K and sounded like he was trying to play ball but maybe there is a second side to the story.