Liveline thread

Father Iggy O’Donovan recalls how the people came out in a blizzard in the winter in the “hungry 30s” and voted to levels far in excess of 80%.

“People knew a vote for Micheal is a vote for Simon and a vote for Simon is a vote for Micheal. Can you imagine people saying in the 80s that a vote for Charlie is a vote for Garrett and a vote for Garrett is a vote for Charlie?”

Says Joe. Duffy.

This is quality reporting today on RTE 1, Kieran in Prague, talking to lads from the likes of Bagnelstown with a few pints in them.
Your licence money been put to good use.

He’s here in the pub beside us now. I’d say he’s finished the work part of the day

Work me bollix

RTE on a mission to get Toy Show viewership. No way it’d the same if game was live on TV3/virgin

Toy Show? They’re going for the all time here

Hopefully the Public Accounts Committe will ask Backhurst how much they spend on covering the match

Putting Des “Chuckles” Cahill up Ina nice hotel and feeding/watering him for a few days ain’t cheap

RTÉ2 audience reached 1.6 million peak for Ireland game

Cllr. Joanna Tuffy is on to say that yesterday’s show on young people and the housing market was unbalanced and she wanted to draw attention to all of the positive things that are going on for young people in housing. I’ve tuned out now but I’m sure this will go well for Cllr. Tuffy.

Two Dubs on back and forth about d’houzin crisis. Kieran just letting them at it.

Pat came on there and likened Mick the teacher as a voice twin of Bottler. He also called Kieran Eamonn.

Maybe if more young people went into trades instead of going off being college dropouts or emigrating to Australia we wouldn’t have a housing crisis?

Chris here from Meath or Cavan is well able for all comers though he has a short fuse

Took me 2 hours and 30 minutes to go to Ennis and home again :weary:

Christopher’s Facebook page is littered with links from Gavin Pepper, Malachy Steenson, Damo & Ivor, Angela Ray, Gript, anti-IPAS shlte.

Knock me down with a feather, I’d never have guessed.

have to admit I did not catch notificiation of this protest and was first aware this morning when I spotted 2 low IQ members of the force parked on the centre of a footpath on a bridge over a motorway, figured they were running a speed check but then looked over my left shoulder and noticed the traffic at a standstill, seriously! the Gardai could have stationed themselves at the entrance to the motorway and advised lemmings of the chaos ahead of them if they proceeded down the ramp.

I got stuck in one of these slow moving convoys coming back between Macroom and Cork but Apple Maps negotiated a path around and ahead of it.
I was at a funeral in West Cork this morning where many of the intending attendees didn’t make it in time despite leaving Dublin in the early hours. Most of them were caught in a snarl at Urlingford.
The traffic was being held to a dead stop on the Midleton by pass eastbound as I was going west.

John Cooke has a very patronising tone when he’s speaking to that young student

In fairness the student is an awful thicko.

5 year contracts with fuel as a major component- bonkers