Didn’t Steve Heighway manage Liverpool Youths to 2 in a row Youth Cups. Got the sack before winning the second cup final, as Rafa wanted his cronies to take over the team.
I am open to correction on this, but Rafa felt that for all the success of the Youth Teams they weren’t producing players capable of coming into the first team squad.
Granted that hasn’t exwctly changed since mind you.
Heighway was sacked but Gary Ablett was involved last seaon or the season before when Rafa gave him the boot and repced them with his mates.
The cynic in me would say that it was a sinister ploy to create larger barriers for him getting the sack as they would have to remove all the Spanish lads as well.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Heighway was sacked but Gary Ablett was involved last seaon or the season before when Rafa gave him the boot and repced them with his mates.
The cynic in me would say that it was a sinister ploy to create larger barriers for him getting the sack as they would have to remove all the Spanish lads as well.[/QUOTE]
Ronnie Whelan said that on the radio this morning. That it wouldn’t just be a case of getting rid of Benitez, it would be a case of them having the replace almost the entire backroom/academy set up.
Whelan really has it in for Rafa. I have heard him say that before but I also think he is a bit pissed off that his mate Ablett got the boot.
It gets worse:
Liverpool’s hopes of salvaging their season have suffered a serious setback with key trio Steven Gerrard, Fernando Torres and Yossi Benayoun all being sidelined.
The club confirmed this afternoon the three players, all injured in last night’s humiliating FA Cup loss to Reading, will be out for varying lengths of time up to six weeks.
Star striker Torres is the worst affected, ruled out until the end of February with a torn knee cartilage that will require surgery.
Inspirational captain Gerrard is out for a fortnight with a torn hamstring while Benayoun has fractured a rib and will not play again for around four weeks.
Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/treble-injury-blow-for-liverpool-441929.html#ixzz0cbIheCx5
Karma finally getting 'round to biting that wretched football club in the arse.
As good a player as he was I’d take Whelan’s opinions with a grain of salt. The rubbish that he comes out with on co-commentary or analysing a match has to be heard to be believed. Plus, as you say, he has a serious vendetta against Benitez, which would certainly appear to stem from some personal issue.
Well that’s fourth place gone anyway.
I would imagine Ronnie Whelan is just making sure he earns a decent living by launching this vendetta against Rafa - The harder he goes the more coverage he will get. He would be one of the spoofer/bluffer types you’d often hear Roy Keane on about.
Oh no. You mean I’m gonna have to listen to his bizarre accent more and more? Thank fook I’m leaving the country in less than two weeks!
I love when they ask him about Lucas and he puts on the pained face when giving his opinion. You know the look that conveys - “What the fuck am I doing here having to even talk about this lesser individual” I don’t know if you’re into the stick stick Woody but he is just like that other uber cunt Pete Finnerty.
Never heard of him but I know the type. I forgot to mention the state of Whelan’s hair. Does he cut it himself?
I would hazard a guess but I would say that Lucas has almost played every game this year. I hate to constantly pick on him but he is a terribly limited player at this level. Adds absoluetly nothing to the team - and never has. Even when Liverpool were in relatively good form he looked hopelessly out of his depth.
Next Liverpool manager … From Paddy Power
11/4 Dalglish
7/2 Mourinho
9/2 Hiddink
8/1 ONeill
8/1 Klinsmann
18/1 Laudrup
20/1 Rijkaard
22/1 Trappatoni
25/1 Van Basten
25/1 Schuster
28/1 Lippi
28/1 Nicol
33/1 Eriksson
33/1 Houllier
33/1 Van Gaal
33/1 Jol
33/1 Deschamps
33/1 Hughes
33/1 Pellegrini
33/1 Ramos
33/1 Magath
40/1 McClaren
40/1 Hitzfeld
40/1 Souness
50/1 Moyes
125/1 Hansen
250/1 Staunton
Hiddink would be my personal preference… but Cant see why many of those listed would be interested given the clubs current financial situation and board room bollix acting.
Dalglish would be a disaster.
Mourinho / Hiddink would be my preference
Capello isn’t even on the list!
Daglish would only be involved in a temporary role I would say.
Just watching Sky Sports News and they have the ‘morning after, outside the stadium, interviews with ex-players’. Would these cunts ever fook off? You’d think they’d have their money made instead of picking at the bones of last night’s mess.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Capello isn’t even on the list!
Daglish would only be involved in a temporary role I would say.[/QUOTE]
To be fair farmer, there’s no way Capello will walk away from a very well-paid, ultimately fairly cushy number at this stage of his career to go back to the pressures of day-to-day club management, presumably on less pay, with a club so burdened by debt that he wouldn’t be able to build his own team, and may have to sell the best players currently at the club.
Or because the club hadnt produced too many since Gerrard? Warnock comes to mind but thats it. Youth Cups are meh, not sure how many Arsenal have won but even if lads dont make it there they are still producing EPL level players - Sidwell, Boa Morte, Bentley etc. Villa too have produced a good number of player who if they dont make it at Villa will make it elsewhere - Cahill, Ridgewell, Davis etc. Cant think of the famed Liverpool academy producing too many in last 5 or 6 years.
Realistically if Rafa leaves, Liverpool will be hunting in the bargain basement for managers. Why would Mourinho swap Inter Milan for Liverpool thats just insane.
Jol, Deschamps, Blanc would be decent alteratives.