[quote=“mickee321”]Capello is not stupid, the liverpool job is a poison chalice ( worse than the england job IMHO).
There needs to be a whole culture change at Anfield, the supporturs are living on past glories and based on this they think that they can name the manager they want, this arrogance is one of the reasons why they are what they are now.
Ive been to Liverpool only once thankfully and a more miserable, self pitying shower of gobshites you’d be hard pressed to meet. People in that city have a serious chip on their shoulder about most things in life but have a horrible arrogant and condesending attitude when it comes to football matters. Its similar to Limerick and rugby in many ways
The sooner these cunts realsie Shankly is dead and start to move on the better for them as a club.
Capello??
id be looking more along the lines of Roddy Collins if i were you.
BTW
fair fucks to Shane Long, former CCFC player and general allright sort[/QUOTE]
perhaps, but also i believe what i said is 100% valid to the current situation.
what i would call poor and maybe downright delusional is an irish based “fan” of a mediocre , mid table english premier league team demanding that the manger of the england football team take over at the side he “supports”…
[quote=“mickee321”]Capello is not stupid, the liverpool job is a poison chalice ( worse than the england job IMHO).
There needs to be a whole culture change at Anfield, the supporturs are living on past glories and based on this they think that they can name the manager they want, this arrogance is one of the reasons why they are what they are now.
Ive been to Liverpool only once thankfully and a more miserable, self pitying shower of gobshites you’d be hard pressed to meet. People in that city have a serious chip on their shoulder about most things in life but have a horrible arrogant and condesending attitude when it comes to football matters. Its similar to Limerick and rugby in many ways
The sooner these cunts realsie Shankly is dead and start to move on the better for them as a club.
Capello??
id be looking more along the lines of Roddy Collins if i were you.
BTW
fair fucks to Shane Long, former CCFC player and general allright sort[/QUOTE]
Good points Mickee. Been there once myself. Was European Capital of Culture at the time - way into the city both sides of the road were boarded up for about 2 miles. Area around Anfield is as bad as anything in the Western world. they seem to think they have a god given right to be winning titles and that every year without the league title is a disaster. Delusional imo.
Would want to be a brave or stupid manager to come in. The 2 scousers in the team are expendable, cutting them could turn those ‘great fans’ on them quickly. Someone weak would bow to pressure and move Stevie G back into his ‘best position in the centre of midfield because he is the best midfielder in Europe’ (jamie redknapp etc tm). Gerrard has increasing injury problems and could be worth flogging after the World Cup imo. Carragher is totally finished and needs replacing asap. Reina and Johnson are alright. Benayoun is a decent player, Torres is class when fit but would probably leave when Benitez does. Mascherano will also bring in some money. Aside from that Liverpool have nothing plus no money or no decent young player produced since prob Gerrard. Personally I think there is a good chance of Liverpool really falling
[quote=“KIB man”]Good points Mickee. Been there once myself. Was European Capital of Culture at the time - way into the city both sides of the road were boarded up for about 2 miles. Area around Anfield is as bad as anything in the Western world. they seem to think they have a god given right to be winning titles and that every year without the league title is a disaster. Delusional imo.
Would want to be a brave or stupid manager to come in. The 2 scousers in the team are expendable, cutting them could turn those ‘great fans’ on them quickly. Someone weak would bow to pressure and move Stevie G back into his ‘best position in the centre of midfield because he is the best midfielder in Europe’ (jamie redknapp etc tm). Gerrard has increasing injury problems and could be worth flogging after the World Cup imo. Carragher is totally finished and needs replacing asap. Reina and Johnson are alright. Benayoun is a decent player, Torres is class when fit but would probably leave when Benitez does. Mascherano will also bring in some money. Aside from that Liverpool have nothing plus no money or no decent young player produced since prob Gerrard. Personally I think there is a good chance of Liverpool really falling[/QUOTE]
I would say that Liverpool fans are deluded if they think they can get Capello, especially if they are out of the top four, whatever about his salery etc he would want a fairly sizable transfer kitty to rebuild which Liverpool just don’t have to give to him
[quote=“mickee321”]perhaps, but also i believe what i said is 100% valid to the current situation.
what i would call poor and maybe downright delusional is an irish based “fan” of a mediocre , mid table english premier league team demanding that the manger of the england football team take over at the side he “supports”…
that is all[/QUOTE]
It is not valid at all. Since when have Liverpool been a mid table team?
Liverpool, just last season , went very close to winning the league. They have also finished in the top 4 for about the last six years in a row. They have also competed in the latter stages of the Champions League for most of those years, winning it once and finishing runner up another time?
And you say that Liverpool fans are deluding themselves in thinking that they should aspire to more than where they currently are.
[quote=“KIB man”]Good points Mickee. Been there once myself. Was European Capital of Culture at the time - way into the city both sides of the road were boarded up for about 2 miles. Area around Anfield is as bad as anything in the Western world. they seem to think they have a god given right to be winning titles and that every year without the league title is a disaster. Delusional imo.
Would want to be a brave or stupid manager to come in. The 2 scousers in the team are expendable, cutting them could turn those ‘great fans’ on them quickly. Someone weak would bow to pressure and move Stevie G back into his ‘best position in the centre of midfield because he is the best midfielder in Europe’ (jamie redknapp etc tm). Gerrard has increasing injury problems and could be worth flogging after the World Cup imo. Carragher is totally finished and needs replacing asap. Reina and Johnson are alright. Benayoun is a decent player, Torres is class when fit but would probably leave when Benitez does. Mascherano will also bring in some money. Aside from that Liverpool have nothing plus no money or no decent young player produced since prob Gerrard. Personally I think there is a good chance of Liverpool really falling[/QUOTE]
I can only speak from my point of view as a fan but I would call this season a disater given the level Liverpool have been operating at in previous years and particularly last year. Before the start of last season, I set progres as being challenging for the title.
You are actually making a lot of stuff up above. Nobody with half a brain calls for Gerrard to play in centre midfield anymore, it is generally regarded that his best position is off Torres.
Carragher is probably the best performing defender at the club at the moment - he certainly is not a right back and the central defence of Agger (and particularly Skrtel) suffer badly when he is not there.
There is no evidence that Torres would leave if Benitez left.
Reina is a lot better than ‘alright’.
You also mention quite a lot of pluses there - something which defintely goes against your original argument that a brave or stupid manager taking the job.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]It is not valid at all. Since when have Liverpool been a mid table team?
Liverpool, just last season , went very close to winning the league. They have also finished in the top 4 for about the last six years in a row. They have also competed in the latter stages of the Champions League for most of those years, winning it once and finishing runner up another time?
And you say that Liverpool fans are deluding themselves in thinking that they should aspire to more than where they currently are.
Absolutely ridiculous and 0% valid my friend.[/QUOTE]
Exactly. Liverpool are a http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-score006.gif club. It’s reached a stage now where their fans are on various Intewrnet Fora pointing out that coming runners up and going close to winning things is an achievement and pointing out that they’ve been in the top 4 for years - thanks you very much and mind you’re manners.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I can only speak from my point of view as a fan but I would call this season a disater given the level Liverpool have been operating at in previous years and particularly last year. Before the start of last season, I set progres as being challenging for the title.
You are actually making a lot of stuff up above. Nobody with half a brain calls for Gerrard to play in centre midfield anymore, it is generally regarded that his best position is off Torres.
Carragher is probably the best performing defender at the club at the moment - he certainly is not a right back and the central defence of Agger (and particularly Skrtel) suffer badly when he is not there.
There is no evidence that Torres would leave if Benitez left.
Reina is a lot better than ‘alright’.
You also mention quite a lot of pluses there - something which defintely goes against your original argument that a brave or stupid manager taking the job.[/QUOTE]
Says a lot if the above is true which I doubt. Any game I have seen Carragher play this year he was been poor. Last night he was awful. Agger needs to bulk up a bit but is a better player than him.
Why would Torres stay at a club going nowhere and paying 50% income tax at the same time. Liverpool could do with the money from selling him too.
There aint many pluses for any prospective manager taking over - huge debt, senior players declining, Europeans not wanting to play in UK due to tax laws, youth system not working, boardroom turmoil etc The team has 5 or 6 good enough players to challenge so will be a mjor rebuilding job aswell.
[quote=“KIB man”]Says a lot if the above is true which I doubt. Any game I have seen Carragher play this year he was been poor. Last night he was awful. Agger needs to bulk up a bit but is a better player than him.
Why would Torres stay at a club going nowhere and paying 50% income tax at the same time. Liverpool could do with the money from selling him too.
There aint many pluses for any prospective manager taking over - huge debt, senior players declining, Europeans not wanting to play in UK due to tax laws, youth system not working, boardroom turmoil etc The team has 5 or 6 good enough players to challenge so will be a mjor rebuilding job aswell.[/QUOTE]
There is a major point there on the youth system and I agree with it. Since Houillier took over, and even more so with Benitez the Academy has pretty much produced nobody. A club cannot be expected to continue at a top level under such major limitation. I mentioned it before but Benitez’s purchase of Kryiagos in the summer was as much of a two fingers to the Academy as could be given.
There is a young striker called Nathan Ecclestone coming through apparently who is meant to be a star but I’ll believe it when I see it.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]There is a major point there on the youth system and I agree with it. Since Houillier took over, and even more so with Benitez the Academy has pretty much produced nobody. A club cannot be expected to continue at a top level under such major limitation. I mentioned it before but Benitez’s purchase of Kryiagos in the summer was as much of a two fingers to the Academy as could be given.
There is a young striker called Nathan Ecclestone coming through apparently who is meant to be a star but I’ll believe it when I see it.[/QUOTE]
He came on in a game a couple of months back but didn’t make much of an impact. Pacheco is supposed to be handy also
This tactic of clubs going around Europe and buying the best 16/17 year olds doesn’t seem to be paying dividends does it? And obviously it as at the expense of home grown young lads as well.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Not sure if it was Gerrard or Carragher but they were the last two.
David Thompson didn’t amount to much, or Neil Mellor.[/QUOTE]
Gerrard made his debut in 98 as a sub for Heggem (!). Carragher made his debut in 96 as did Owen. 3 decent players to come through, but to think there hasn’t been one of note in 13 years is a shocking indictment.
Think Liverpool are in a pretty bad way. Only glanced at it last night but they looked pretty poor and though FA Cup is a mickey mouse competition managers of English clubs do love to talk it up as being important so to get such a poor crowd must be disheartening too. In a stadium as small as Anfield to have that many empty seats strikes me as either fans wanting Benitez to go or else maybe they aren’t such a big club afterall.